We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else. Not family friendly or safe.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center
Ranked #234 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Dallas
1 review
“Go somewhere else. Not family friendly or safe.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

The hotel is old and falling apart. The room features, such as refrigerator-ac-tv-floors are all in need of repair. Cars will be broken into or stolen. Bad apartments next door. Too many locals staying and preying on travelers. There is absolutely no security and it is really needed. The hotel is located in bad location. Use Google maps and look at it for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill9245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    12
    10
    16
See reviews for
17
13
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

First and foremost, this is NOT a 4 star hotel and probably not even a 3 star HOTEL. Not because it is rundown, dirty or filled with rude staff, simply because it is NOT a normal hotel but an extended stay facility. And as such, some of the amenities you might enjoy at a regular hotel are absent...but only some. The most important item is no one is going to come and clean your room daily. You get it once a week.

To my wife and I that was fine. Actually it was better than fine. We enjoyed being left alone. Yes, we didn't get fresh towels everyday, but we didn't want fresh towels everyday. We are not tree huggers but we do try to do our part. So we had no problem using our towels for a few days, just like if we were home. If you need clean towels you have two options...wash them with your clothes in the FREE washers and dryers, or simply exchange them at the front desk. Too easy.

That's right, free washers and dryers. Not a lot, 4 each so you might think they would always remain full, but for our stay they did not. We only washed twice in our 9 days and did not need to wait. We were on the 2nd floor (I think there are 4 floors) and the washers were on the 1st floor. Not sure of there was another laundry room on another floor.

Other conveniences that were worth noting: Free coffee, free USA Today newspaper, gas BBQ grill and pavilion for your use and a pool. You might say of course free coffee. But at some extended stays that is not true. Since no one comes through your room daily there is no way to replenish. But here they have a coffee machine in what the call the Candlewood Cupboard with complimentary coffee. There are also many items for sale, food, drinks, toiletries. Overpriced but available.

The BBQ area was neat although we didn't use it.

There was a large grocery store (HEB) 3 minutes drive and plenty of eating places nearby as well. With a small stove and microwave we were able to eat well and on the cheap. The cookware and utensils were of good quality/condition.

To sum up this was a clean, comfortable, and quiet extended stay hotel that for us was well priced. We had no complaints and would have no problem staying again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyrkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

At first I was kinda scared of going to stay at this hotel because of all the negative reviews I read, but hey like the saying goes "Dont believe everything you hear." First I must compliment the staffing they were very friendly and helpful to me, and oh my god Ms Angela was like a walking map to us, not only was she there to give us good advice on some of the attractions, but she also helped us out by printing us maps and whatever else we needed we bothered her the most but I must say what really pleased me about her she was quick. courteous, and she always had a smile. HATS OFF TO YOU!!!!!!!!! I didnt have a problem with anything throughout my whole stay everything was AWESOME. I also liked the hotel because it was very close to all king of resturants and stores (walking distance). If ever I do go back to san antonio this hotel is the first one on my list, not only because of the clean rooms, and the good environment. I will go back because the whole seven days I recieved service with a smile...That made my trip fun.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

I recently stay at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. And all the other hotels i could of choosed in san antonio; I had to pick this crapy hotel. First, the staff at the front desk was rude when it came to my reservation; they had poor customer service skills. Then the manager or operations manager was very rude too. If she's keeps having an attitude like that she will be unemployed real soon like the rest of the country. Then second the beds were very unconfortable, I slept in better beds at Motel 6! Finally my Air Conditioning unit was not working good, I tried to ask the Front Desk staff if they could have mantenance to come up to my room to fix it, but they acted like they were dumbfounded like they didn't know what was going on. "So I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst emeny!" there are better hotels in san antonio besides this one, when you see it along the 10 fwy, just pass it by; I rather stay at Motel 6 than that piece of crap hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abrant22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

I will start with the complaints. It was hard to find. but that makes it nice because it isn't right on the interstate and that makes it pretty quiet but a bigger sign would have been nice. the sign was hidden behind a big tree. The staff and guests did smoke right outside the main entrance. I would suggest a smoking area away from any entrances. The room was really clean but it took a lot to get an extra blanket. That said, the kitchen had everything you needed to cook or to just warm something up. It had restaurants near by. It had easy access to the interstate which made getting around San Antonio nice. the grounds were nice. The Candlewood pantry is really nice when you forget something like snacks/drinks or just don't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa396ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Pros:
-The room was clean and smelled good.
-The ac was cold.
-They have a video library where you can check out movies for free.
-The rooms have DVD/VCR players, stove, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, fridge, plates, and silverware.
-The hotel is really close to all sorts of food- from McDonalds to Pappasitos, but if you want a snack they have the Candlewood Cupboard with snacks, frozen meals and sodas.
-The staff was pleasant.
-The guests weren't scary.
-The bed was comfy.
-They allow you to do your laundry for FREE.
-They give you a certificate for a free soda, and the microwave had popcorn.
Cons:
-The soaps in the bathroom were cheap-o as was the interior of the room, with the exception of the bed and bedding.
-I think if you stay for an extended time they don't clean your room everyday. To me that wouldn't be a big deal. I don't change my sheets and towels everyday when I'm at home.
-The hallway had some stains on the carpet. I am a clean-freak so I noticed.

All in all, was a great value and would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Location/Having a full-size fridge in my room
  • Disliked — The soap in the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2007

Just got back, and we stayed for 3 Nights, We did not get clean towels or maid service the whole stay, Front desk were no where to be found to ask....We washed the towels so that we would have clean ones.If you want a Hotel where you are pretty much on your own this is the one for you!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jewellee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Medical Center, TX
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW...
#157 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center

Property: Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center
Address: 9350 IH 10 West, San Antonio, TX 78230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Antonio Come and see how we celebrate spring with Fiesta, Fiesta, Fiesta! , a citywide cultural celebration. Aside from being home to the Alamo and the San Antonio Riverwalk, we are also home to the San Antonio Spurs, the Majestic and IMAX Theater, Sea World, Fiesta Texas as well as many institutions of higher education including UTSA and Trinity University. From the moment you enter the Candlewood Suites hotel you will feel right at home. Whether your visit brings you to us for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is ready to serve you. Our rooms are cozy and convenient because we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. It's the ultimate suite for every traveler. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two phone lines and surf the net with our free high speed internet access. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and book library or work off some stress in our fitness center or our outdoor pool. Our Candlewood Cupboard offers meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices and our complimentary washers and dryers will keep you looking your best. The Candlewood Suites hotel is located on the Northwest side of town near USAA, Lackland Air Force Base, and the Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
Candlewood San Antonio
San Antonio Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing