We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #37 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Kilgore, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice Hyatt nothing out of the ordinary....very clean and the staff was helpful. The breakfast seating was bad and the elevator was slow and always full. But overall I was very happy with my stay and the parking was good and free!

Room Tip: I like the high floors but because of the elevator always being in use and full I would recomond a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    357
    143
    42
    27
See reviews for
352
301
31
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel was in a good location in San Antonio. Free parking where most other hotels had a parking fee.Room had a good view of the river. good breakfast. Bathroom area could be larger however. The fridge in the room was great since we were travelling with items that needed to be refrigerated. The bed was very comfortable. If we get the chance to visit San Antonio again we feel that we will stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the river are a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Pros:

- Good location on a quiet stretch of the Riverwalk, but only a few minutes walk from the most touristy parts
- Free parking!! A big bonus as we realised quickly that parking in San Antonio does not come cheap. Reception will give you a paper ticket to display on your dashboard
- 2 x double beds and 1 x sofa bed was ideal for our party of 3 single friends
- Clean, good sized rooms with fridge
- Good range of food for breakfast, with dishes constantly replenished
- WiFi worked well
- No noise issues with neighbouring rooms
- Safe area, felt fine walking around in the daytime by myself
- Many accessible power sockets available

Cons:
- Our room suffered from plumbing issues twice during our stay. It was both impressive (but also ominous) that within just a few minutes of us having phoned reception, someone was at our door to unblock the toilet kitted out with gloves and a plastic bag.
- As mentioned in many reviews, the bathroom is small (bath and toilet in one room, sink outside). It was annoying not having everything in one room (especially for us ladies), but it's bearable
- It was sometimes a little difficult finding a table for breakfast, though there was a big conference room behind the bar which acted as an overflow room

Would be 4 stars, but took off a star for the plumbing issues.

Please take a moment to rate if you found this review useful :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here while traveling to San Antonio for a family vacation. The location is great!! Its not in the heart of the River walk, but its only a couple blocks from the entrance to the River walk. I felt that the Hyatt Place was located in a very nice and safe part of town. There were some areas of San Antonio, while walking I didn't feel very safe. The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed! We were a family of 6 so we needed a lot of extra towels, soap, blankets etc. There is a fridge in the room but no microwave, but there is a microwave in the kitchen downstairs. The rooms are large and very roomy! The bathroom is a little small, but the size of the room makes up for its lacking. The breakfast buffet was one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever eaten. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. If we ever visit San Antonio again we will most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greatstateofla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and quiet. I can't ask much more than that. There was a separate sitting area with a couch and a bar area with a sink and a mirror over by the refrigerator. There are outlets there so you have two places to get ready in the morning.
The location was good because it was a short walk to all the popular places on the riverwalk and we loved walking there so much more than driving.
Breakfast was good.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TakeAPicture-PaintIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel was clean, fairly reasonable and within easy walking distance to Riverwalk; must say I prefer different breakfast menu but their's was fine; the staff here are incredible --- work hard to please guests. The same staff handle check in and check out; answer phones; help with breakfast service; clean up lobby; answer questions, etc. and all with a can do attitude and gracious demeanor. Rooms are fine --- good size (though toilet area is VERY tiny) and if you can get for under $130 per night a fair deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed on weekend when local university was having graduation at the Alamodome, and many local school proms. Was a lengthy line to wait for checkin, and an even longer wait to get a bite to eat there. Room was good size, clean, and beds were clean and soft. The door into the toilet and shower rubbed on the edge of the toilet. Otherwise, room was good. Good complementary breakfast, but hotel was soo full, it was a circus at breakfast, and had to wait for a while for a table to open. Staff was working hard, like the day before at checkin, but simply not enough of them.
You could walk out the back door and be on an isolated section of the river walk. 10 minutes later you are in the main sections of the riverwalk.
While the hotel was OK, I'd shop around to see if there is a better deal elsewhere before booking again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing