We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #152 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel experience!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was great. I had such a pleasant stay and found the hotel extremely modern and you can tell they had newly renovated the place. I had the best sleep ever since the beds were extremely comfortable, and the room was spotless. Everyone thats works at this hotel is really friendly and have great customer service. I recommend this hotel to all travellers as it has something for everyone especially the beautiful outdoor pool!! Overall my stay was incredible and I will definitely stay here when visiting San Antonio again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shankar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that your stay with us. Our NextGen rooms feature Rest Suite beds by Serta for a great nights sleep along with modern features such as flat screen TV's, hard wood floors, vessel sinks and additional outlets for all of your gadgets. Our goal is for each guest to leave the hotel delighted with their stay, from the room to the service. I am glad we were able to accomplish that and I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again next time you are in the San Antonio area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    203
    130
    90
    79
See reviews for
222
170
56
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Love the stay there, so comfortable and felt safe, Beds were wonderful, the room was pleasant. Service was excellent. Staff very nice and respectful. I would stay there again the room was pretty much my price range.......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our new NextGen rooms with Serta bedding as well as the compliments to our staff. I will be sure to share your review with them. We are happy that we have become your hotel of choice in San Antonio and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room look newly remodeled however when we pulled the sheets back to go to bed there were several hairs and stains on the sheets and in the blankets. We called the front desk and they brought us new sheets. All night long we could hear doors slamming and guests in the hallways. While making coffee in the morning we noticed one of the packets of sugar and creamer had obviously been used by a previous guest. The hot and cold water controls in the shower were switched. This hotel would be nice as long as you get a room that has been cleaned

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had the experience that you did and will address your comments with the entire housekeeping team at our next morning meeting. Please let me assure you that the experience that you had was not typical. I would like to ask you go reach out to me with the details of your stay so that I can look further into your issue to prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your business and look forward to better service you next time you are in the San Antonio area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The bed was wonderful, just like home. The room was pleasant, microwave and mini fridge. Grab and Go breakfast was good, could have more fruit, but good overall. Service was excellent. Everyone very friendly and helpful, pleasant place to stay, the cats liked it too. For me, it was important to have a place for my furballs to be with me. The lobby was spacious and very pretty. It was not a bad walk, about 5 blocks to the Riverwalk, and that is always incredibly beautiful. If you get a chance, do stay until the evening when the horse drawn carriages are lit up. We saw Cinderella's pumpkin coach drive by. Dinner cruises on the river as well. Just a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhubarbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review about your experience with our brand here in the beautiful Alamo City. I am so happy to hear that you, your family and “fur-balls” felt at home and that our team was friendly and helpful. I am also very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our city and found it to be a beautiful place to visit. I thank you again and look forward to serving you and your family the next time you are in the city.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went there Oct 1 and stayed till Oct 6. The hotel was very clean and appeared to have just gone through remodeling. The rooms were spacious, clean and the staff were very friendly and eager to assist us. We chose this hotel because of the price and location to the Riverwalk. It was about 3 blocks from the Riverwalk, you could walk down and get to the Riverwalk my going into the mall through Macy's or you could walk up to the Alamo and get the Riverwalk across from the Alamo. So do a little research and you can save yourself some steps by knowing where the Riverwalk entrance locations are found. The breakfast was a continental style nothing fancy.

We would stay at this hotel again. The price is very reasonable for the area so if you can walk 3 blocks you can save yourself some money.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking 3 blocks to get to the Riverwalk you can save quite a bet of money by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestreview713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel here in San Antonio. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and our team was helpful and welcoming. Your tips will be very useful to our future guests. Our team enjoys sharing favorite restaurants and attractions our wonderful city has to offer. Thank you again and we hope to serve you again should your travels return you to our area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms were nice. Hotel was a little further from the river than advertised. Small breakfast area and not much choice. Staff was very pleasant. Only one problem. After we left the hotel parking area we noticed little brown bugs in our car. I'm still trying to get them out of my car. We parked on the first floor of the parking garage. We were there for two days and did not move our car. We noticed them on our way home. This was Saturday and we still had them on Sunday as we were going to church. Over all not a bad place to stay. This was my first stay at a Red Roof Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your experience with our hotel here in the beautiful Alamo City. I am very glad you enjoyed your vacation and our staff was welcoming and made you feel comfortable. I do apologize that you found bugs in your car after your stay and I already have brought this to the attention of our national pest control company. I would also like you to know that we are in the process of making enhancements to our breakfast offerings to better serve our guests and provide more variety. I am happy that you had a good impression with our brand and we all look forward to serving you again should you and your family return to this area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

In town for the night, and discovered San Antonio more than I would expect in one night. The hotel is nice and clean inside out. The breakfast in the morning could last a little longer(6a.m-9a.m). The front desk clerk Roger was very nice and helpful with great suggestions and even helped me map out directions to other destinations. We also received a room over looking the city wich was a big A+++

Room Tip: Ask for a city view if they have it available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm so glad to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and Roger to be extremely helpful. I have already shared your kind words with him and he was excited to hear that he made a positive impression on you. Roger, along with the rest of our front desk team, are always happy to share recommendations on things to do and places to see. Our top priority is to ensure that you have a great time while in our city.

I am also happy that you enjoyed your city view room. We have a great location downtown, 4 blocks from the Alamo and Riverwalk with some great views and the convenience of being able to walk to San Antonio's most popular attractions.

We appreciate you choosing Red Roof and look forward to seeing you again when you return to the Alamo City.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#122 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing