We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate from Start to Finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #147 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Wintersville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Rate from Start to Finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

From the immediate greeting when I entered the motel, to my check out the service and staff were first rate. I had made the reservations based on location, close to the things I wanted to do while in San Antonio, I couldn't have made a better selection. Everything was within walking distance for me which was great. The staff was fantastic, I was greeted each time I left, and returned with a smile, even if the front desk staff was with someone else they acknowledge me by looking up. Great customer service. My room was clean and very comfortable. Very up to date furnishings. My entire visit to San Antonio was great, and my stay here added greatly to that experience. I would most definitely stay again, and recommend very highly.

Room Tip: Room facing the city have ax excellent view of the downtown skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsue_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Our goal is to have all of our guests have the best experience with Red Roof Inn. I am happy to hear that the staff provided superior service during your stay. The location here is great. We are walking distance to the Riverwalk and downtown. We also have rooms that faces the city to provide a nice view at night. The staff will be thrilled to hear how their hard work gave our guest a positive experience. Thank you for staying with us and see you again soon.

Sung Park
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    202
    129
    87
    78
See reviews for
222
167
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Check in will absolutely not begin until 3 pm no matter what. When you are allowed to check in the staff is so inefficient the line will stretch out the door. They cannot properly set up keys to work. Non working door locks indicate a lack of maintenance. The maintence man did kindly ask if we really needed him to fix the latch so that it might work. The rooms stink, literally, and the hallway carpet looks like it has never been cleaned. This is my first experience with Red Roof and I hope to not make the same mistake again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txaggie1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
First impression is very important from the moment your drive onto our property and the moment you leave the lobby. I will share your feedback with our staff and think of ways to better improve the quality of our services. Once again, we are sorry for the experience that you had but we will make some improvements to prevent this type of experience from occurring in the future so that our guests will have a pleasant stay.

Sung Park
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Magnolia, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very poor experience. Room was not even cleaned when we went in...carpet was dirty, no shampoo, no toilet paper - had to go to desk and ask for these items. Counters were not very clean. Soda machine short-changed me. Had to request that our room be cleaned. Left at 7:30AM and returned at 5:30 and maid was JUST finishing cleaning our room- using a BROOM to sweep the dirty carpet - told us that her sweeper wasn't working! I will give the desk clerks credit in that they were very nice. Breakfast was OK.

I would probably not stay here again. Unfortunately, first impressions are lasting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
I just want to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. It is our goal that all of our guests has a wonderful experience during and after their stay. We are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our services and we will definitely continue to do so. We are only located within minutes of the Riverwalk and have been renovated with new floors, beds, TV's, etc... We inspect rooms on a daily basis and we are sorry that we fell short of your expectation on that day but I will share your comments with the staff so that we can make sure that all of our rooms have the necessary supplies for our guests. Once again, thank you for sharing and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Sung Park
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I went to San Antonio just to get away with my boyfriend, and it was great! We stayed two days, and we had an amazing time. Our room was cleaned everyday, nothing of mine was stolen, and the staff was extremely friendly! I will definitely recommend, and stay again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_fasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a friendly, knowledgeable staff and a updated, clean room to all of our guests. I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner and I wanted to get away for the weekend, we started searching for hotels on or by the Riverwalk. We searched and found a couple that were available and also pet friendly since we travel with our dog. This hotel was the only one that had no charges for pets, everyone else started at $50 and it went higher. When we arrived the front desk clerk was very friendly and sweet, she even gave our dog a treat which she loved of course. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, this hotel seems to be run and managed very well and it shows that they thrive for excellent customer service, I will definitely be back to this location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your partner and your furry friend. We are one of the most pet friendly brands out there and we are so happy your found us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Antonio!

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we arrived, we checked in a dirty bedroom. Bed spreads full of stains, floor not cleaned. More over, the internet didn't work, the safe was closed and there was no bucket for ice. We warned the desk and they gave us another room ... Wich was worse! The floor was full of hairs, the toilet full of urine stains(!) the bedspreads sers stained too. The ice machine, nor the vending machines were not working either. We paid 90$ for this! Incredibly disgusting!

Room Tip: Avoid 510 and 511 (and all rooms that 'Angela' cleans)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We appreciate you sharing your concerns regarding your stay with us. As you can imagine, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room. Please be assured that this is not a typical experience for our guests and I will be following up with the housekeeping team to ensure that this issue is not repeated. I would appreciate if you could reach out to me so that we can discuss your issue further. We appreciate your business and hope you can give us a chance to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The outside was nice, the hallway area was a bit more ghetto. The room itself was decent with its wood floors and the bed was nice and comfy. The staff was ok and the area wasn't bad or far from the riverwalk itself. If you are on a budget its def not a bad stay .. I would stay here again if you aren't too picky ... We actually had a nice view of the silhouette of the hotel skyline from our room ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank var3liita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. It is our goal to provide a clean, comfortable hotel with friendly service to each guest. While reading your review, I saw that you mentioned that the hallway was not up to standards. I will be sure to address your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure that this is corrected for the future. Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn. We look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you to the Alamo city.


Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
East Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#128 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing