We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, could have some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #161 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My solo stay here was for the NBA Finals and a chance to see the city of San Antonio. The hotel was great. Staff were professional and the rooms are quality for the often good price you will pay. The Downtown and the famous Riverwalk are only a short walk away, but if you have a car there are plenty of options for parking too, which was convenient. The day I arrived the wifi was taking a little long to work and sometimes wasn't the best throughout my few days. The lifts were really slow too, but it was obvious the hotel was undergoing some renovations. I wouldn't be surprised if the lifts were next in line.
I will stay here again if the price doesn't get bumped up. Good location, good staff and great beds with a view of San Antonio.

Room Tip: City view definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your review. We are delighted to see you came during the NBA Finals and spent your time with us! The staff will be honored to read your kind compliments. We certainly apologize for our elevator wait times; we have corrected this issue. We hope to welcome you back to our location when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Well really good service but my only complaint is the only have one toaster and you can only toast 2 bagel at one time and there is a huge line waiting for toaste, nothing else everything good and nice customer service. 2 stay at a Red Roof

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your review. Thank you so much for your kind compliments on the service levels. At Red Roof Plus, our goal is to delight our guests! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Someone in our party of 4 booked this for one night at the last minute do to plan changes. Room Ok. Like the floor, not carpet. But double beds only.
Parking 10.00... For 4 people we had 2 towels and 2 hand towels, no washcloths!! When I asked for more I was told all they had were towels I could come and get them at desk, but when I did, there were 3 people behind desk! Tiny disposable pack of Kleenex, no box. No extra toilet paper or anything else! Said they charge to use the in room safe but you can ask to have it removed at checkout! I overall was NOT happy. I would gladly pay more for a nicer stay! Only good part was very nice young man at check in. Also they have uniformed security guard on premises. That is good and scary at the same time... If I'm not mistaken, a lady was complaining of something missing or moved in her room while they were out. Never again for me!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilasbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your review. We truly apologize we missed the mark on service levels during your stay. The At Red Roof Plus, we do provide a safe with a limited warranty for our guests to use during their stay. For you privacy, we do not ask upon arrival if you intend to use the safe. We hope you enjoyed your time in the great city of San Antonio! It is my hope that your next visit with Red Roof is flawless.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

It's not exactly on the Riverwalk but it is walking distance (about 2 blocks away). It is also close The Alamo. The room was more spacious than what I was expecting for the price and it was clean and quite. They have free parking and complimentary breakfast but the breakfast is really a fruit and a bagel kind of thing. The employees were nice and they have flexible check-in and check-out times.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing your review! The employees will be delighted to see your kind compliments. At our San Antonio Riverwalk location, we are just a two block from the Alamo. We offer our Grab and Go Breakfast from 6am – 9am every day and parking is only $10 per night. We hope that you come back and see us soon! Be sure to ask about our Redi Card Membership Program to earn points towards your next stay!

Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 7days and we was treated great by a very friendly staff. Zack was the first person that greeted us when we arrived. He gave us tips on good places to eat and visit. The room was very nice, clean and anything we needed the staff would due. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for making Red Roof Plus your home away from home for seven nights! At Red Roof Plus, our goal is to provide our guests with a WOW! experience and based on your kind compliments, Zach and the staff will be honored to see they have done so. When your travels bring you back to San Antonio’s Riverwalk area, please contact me for your next reservation so we can ensure another flawless Red Roof Plus experience for you.

Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager Inn 248
P 210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were pleased that this dog-friendly hotel Did Not smell of dogs! Friendly staff, comfortable bed and WiFi worked well. Our room overlooked Interstate 37 but there was no noticeable noise.
It's a short, easy walking distance to the Riverwalk. Walking under the overpass during the day was a bit scary, lots of people loitering around and laying on the ground. We understand that it is well lit at night, but we didn't want to walk it after dark. We would use them again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatL475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing your review! At Red Roof Plus, we certainly love being pet-friendly, at no additional charges to our guests. Our staff will be thrilled to see your kind compliments on their service! We hope that you experienced our newly renovated Premium Rooms which include a Snack Box for your enjoyment, larger work space, and 39” inch flat screen TV. We would be honored to welcome you back to our Riverwalk location when you are next in the area. Please feel free to contact me when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
P 210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Traveled from Dallas to San Antonio for the last weekend of Fiesta; as everything was booked, we pretty much chose what we could -- we stayed for two nights.

I haven't stayed in many places, so it is hard to compare -- but price wise, you can say it is affordable, and probably the most reasonable for the location you are in.

Arrival/Parking:
Check in was smooth, there was a small line, but we arrived around 6:00 p.m., so we probably missed the rush. Nothing was mentioned about the cost of parking, so I asked her, and she added an additional $7.00 each night we stayed, totaling $14.00 but it was in a parking garage, that you had to have a room key to access -- I assume, if I didn't ask, this would have been charged upon checkout. Others suggested to park next door in an un-associated lot, for $2.50 -- BUT WARNING, as we walked passed this, there were at least two parked cars with broken windows, so I assume, they probably got broken into, as I did not see anyone monitoring this lot.

Room:
Upon arrival, it was clean, and average in size. The beds were comfy, plenty of covers, and pillows. Our room view, simply sucked. We were on level 6, and faced the back of the hotel, overlooking slums of old worn down buildings. We kept our curtains closed, and just chose to not look out. I think, if you can have a preference, ask to at least face towards the highway, as that will be better view.

On day two, of our stay, we noticed air condition releasing a "smokey" substance, leaking and it was not cooling, we immediately called the front desk, and spoke to April, who urged us maintenance would be on the way. He arrived within minutes and took out the filter and said he would return. We waited about 30 minutes, but had somewhere to go, so we let the desk know, we would be leaving. We returned later that night, unsure what he actually did, but it wasn't smoking anymore, and it was leaking minimal, but was cooling somewhat better..... We chose to deal with it, as we were leaving the next morning.

Also, while we were out, Room service had came, and basically, made our beds and took our old towels. They did not leave us any fresh towels, nor empty any trash cans, so when it was shower-time, we called the desk to ask for fresh towels, and they (not April, another lady) said that noone could bring them, but we could go get them -- at this time, we were on a very small time frame, and expressed this to her, and she would bring them to us. Needless to say, they were never brought.

Water pressure was great! Plenty of hot water. Elevators feel like a dungeon, super hot! I didn't use the blowdryer, the iron worked well, and etc.

Wi-fi is tolerable, not the best, nor the worst, but with tons of people on the same network, you can't expect it to be great.

We woke up Sunday, to the ac unit smoking/leaking again, so I just made sure to mention it at checkout.

Checkout:
Smooth transaction, but make sure you ask for the safe refund if you do not use it, other wise, with tax, its about 3.00 extra -- and they will not refund you at time, unless you ask.

Location Wise:
Very convenient to the Riverwalk, and within minutes to the shopping mall. All walking distance. If you need to go further up to Market square, we took a trolly, for 1.20 each way. Air conditioned, and saved our feet!

Overall, it was an okay stay. I will be returning to San Antonio, but I think I will pay a little more money, and get a better room elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us at Red Roof Plus and leaving your detailed feedback. We are honored you chose to stay with us over Fiesta in Downtown San Antonio! We do feel that our location and value are one of the Riverwalk’s best hotel options. I’m truly sorry we did not meet your expectations; or ours with respect to the servicing of your room. I sincerely apologize that this issue happened to you. It is my hope that you will give us here at Red Roof Plus another opportunity to provide a flawless experience when you next travel to San Antonio.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
P 210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Alamo Suites
#87 of 357 in San Antonio
528 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £55 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing