We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #145 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great Rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great place! Hotel and rooms very very clean. You can tell this an older hotel, but has been updated very nicely. Staff was very friendly and courteous . Only a short walk to Alamo and Riverwalk. No need to take the car into downtown. Only stayed overnight, but would spend more time here. Can't get a better rate so close to Riverwalk. Would definitely recommend. They allowed an early check.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 727anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. I am delighted that our staff was able to welcome you with an early check-in! Our Downtown San Antonio location is within a 10 minute walk of both the famous Alamo and Riverwalk. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
I0248@redroof.com 210.229.9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    203
    130
    88
    78
See reviews for
222
169
56
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

First off, I would like to warn everyone of the pictures they have posted on their website. Yes, the room does have potential to look like said picture if they took their time to clean the rooms. Check-in was quick and accommodating as I was checking in 3 hours before their "check-in time." As I walked into the room there was a distinct stench of what I believe is either mold, mildew, or both. I wanted to do a quick run through of the room starting with the restroom. The sink is located outside the room which is convienent for those sharing the room with others, but our sink was equipped with old toothpaste marks that I'm hoping (which sounds awful to even think) from the last previous guests of the room. I make my way to the bathroom. The toilet was filled with god knows what substance so I flushed it, but it still had remains of whatever it was. There was hair on the walls and floor of the shower (which I also hope was from the last previous guests). I looked up to see yellow stains on the ceilings. Now for the room (I had a double bed room) The sheets had stains. On the ceiling of the bed next to the window there were two black markings. NO IDEA WHAT THEY WERE, but let me tell you how terrified I was sleeping at night not knowing if whatever they were would fall on my face. Next, the noise complaints. The walls are so thin that you can hear whispers from your neighbors, but the most annoying are the people in the hallways. I mean you get what you pay for, so if you need to be cheap by all means stay here plus there is free wifi, but I recommend bringing sandals to wear as you walk in your room, it is that disgusting. Obviously, from everything I have horrifically mentioned about this hotel, I will never come back to this or stay at a Red Roof Inn establishment.

Room Tip: splurge and go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaddyM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. I am truly sorry to see that your room condition was not to your standards, nor ours. At Red Roof Plus+, it is our goal to ensure your satisfaction. While I understand how disappointing this experience was for you; if your travels bring you back to Downtown San Antonio, please contact me. I would be honored to welcome you back, in hopes that your next stay is flawless.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
I0248@redroof.com 210.229.9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Provo, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel has a good location just a couple of blocks from the riverwalk. The check in was reasonable. The room was bigger than I expected and seemed clean. No noise or anything so all in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedcityRollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Downtown San Antonio location. San Antonio’s famous Riverwalk has many shopping and dining options for travelers to enjoy; and the Riverwalk is within 10 minutes walking distance of our property. When you are next in the area, we would be honored to welcome you back!
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210-229-9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Second trip, second time staying at this hotel, both times hotel was dirty, the second time was worst, my room had trash from the previous guest. The bathroom was filthy no towels, and hair in the bathtub. Bed sheets smelled like dirty feet. It was the worst I would not want to go back, just because it's a convenient location doesn't mean they should not care. My coffee pot still had used filter in it and a look of rust inside, once I saw that I longer wanted coffee just disgusted.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. I am truly sorry for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your second stay with us. We are actively working with our team to ensure Red Roof Plus+ standards are met and enforced at our Downtown Riverwalk location. If there is any possibility we could welcome you back a third time, please contact me at the email or phone number listed below.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210-229-9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Management was absolutely terrible. I mean TERRIBLE. This hotel completely ruined mine and my husband's 3rd anniversary trip and my first time to SA. Plus, the bed felt like I was sleeping on a box spring and the AC vibrates every time it kicked on. I HATED my stay here. Vacation ended early because of them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazieMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on your recent stay. At Red Roof Plus+, it is our goal to provide you with excellent service; certainly on a special occasion such as your anniversary. I am truly sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am available at the email and phone number below. Please contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
I0248@redroof.com 210.229.9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Firstly the staff is rude. We arrived in our room & the floors were covered in hair! They hadn't been swept, mopped, or vaccuumed. We called the front desk & they did come sweep & mop. Leaving all the debris they swept up on the table by the coffee pot!! When I drew back the bed sheets the first bed was full of long black hair in the sheets! The second bed had blood on the comforter & a used napkin in it!!! (Sick!) They ended up upgrading our room. Not any better... The floor also had not been swept, mopped, or vacuumed! The comforters on both beds were stained had & still food on them. (not cleaned) The mini fridge with the 'complimentary snacks' only had the previous guest 1/2 gallon of used milk in it. When I showered, I got a wash cloth that was covered in make up and hair, obviously used previously. The mirror in the room was covered in well I'm not even sure what... This place is disgusting! I will never waste $ here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Red Roof Plus. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; or ours.

As your feedback is extremely important, when your time permits, would you please contact me at the email or phone number below? It is my sincere hope that I can connect with you so that I may obtain additional information to ensure I can resolve this matter for you.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to connect with you soon.

Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room key will deactivate every day. When I asked for a new key, receptionist will give me attitude.
2. Shower water will not drain fast. I had to wait like 20 minutes to drain.
3. Worst attitude ever from receptionists

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_horacio_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on your recent stay. At Red Roof Plus+, it is our goal to provide you with excellent service. I am truly sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time at our Downtown San Antonio location. I am available at the email and phone number below. Please contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
I0248@redroof.com 210.229.9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#127 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
East Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing