We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Camino Real Motel

Camino Real Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camino Real Motel
Ranked #264 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Motel isn't worth the amount charged to stay here. I had made a reservation online and the guy had no clue what I was talking about when I told him. He charged me $58 dollars for 3 nights to equal the quote that I was given for 4 nights. The next day the kids came and role me they charged the wrong price and bugged me about the $31 tax charge. Basic cable doesn't amount to anything and at least 3 of the channels are in Spanish. Two towels and one wash cloth and the towels are so thin I'm surprised that I got dry. The bathroom door has to stay closed otherwise it blocks the sink. The handle on the toilet has to be held down until everything flushes. It's a small motel and not in a great area. I was there for 3 days and it had maybe 2 or 3 other card the whole time. Good part is that pizza hit was next door and Walmart was right down the road. I definitely wouldn't stay here again nor would I suggest it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrmoell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

I booked Camino Real Motel through Booking.com given the good score and good location for a road trip with my girlfriend. We are a couple quite used to travel and to accept different "cleaning" standards across the globe, though Camino Real has its concept of cleaning.

Bed linen and face cloth were dirty, and covered with strange spot (feces?). Room cleaning inexistent.

When first entering the room, we noticed that pillow cases had some "strange" brown spots. It actually looked like pigeons feces. We immediately went back to the receptionist who apologised and advised he would have changed the linen. After 10-15 minutes we again went back to the room, had a quick look at the pillow cases which were now clean. Though, uncovering the bed we found dust. Given the late hour in the night, we quickly cleaned the bed linen on our own and went to bed. Morning after, we went for a shower, though daylight showed that all face cloth were unmistakably dirty! So we checked out, and told the owner about this all. He was not able to speak English (or pretended not to), and had his child act as a translator. They provided no apologies for what happened.

In the end, this place is unhealthy, dirty, and personnel unwilling to really solve issues.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

the rooms were clean, they have flat screen and the staff was friendly and very helpful. its in a good neighborhood. they are located in front of san jose mission and they have pizza hut next to the motel. i will definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I wouldn't even stay for a dollar in this motel. It's not worth it. They have nothin to offer and the rooms are not only small but also filthy. Nothing was as described. No swimming pool, no internet, no fitness center, no complimentary breakfast. Stained sheets, burnt blanket, dirty pillow cases, stinking room........

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Harlandale
No photo provided
Paradise Motel
#191 of 358 in San Antonio
4 reviews
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio So...
#206 of 358 in San Antonio
58 reviews
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San...
#181 of 358 in San Antonio
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Brooks City Base
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio...
#122 of 358 in San Antonio
59 reviews
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio ...
#182 of 358 in San Antonio
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Motel

Address: 623 E Bonner Ave, San Antonio, TX 78214-2516
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Harlandale
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £49 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camino Real Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camino Real Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Motel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing