We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was gud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
Ranked #268 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 8 July 2008

i have had many stays in this place it always have been gud i stayed on business but once or twice it was just to chill out and i would take my wife here it's not a bad place to go it's pertty clean

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank slowmoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2008

Of the four rooms we had over the course of four days, we had two rooms that constantly had problems. Not only did the rooms have problems we had several other problems in the following areas.
Bedding- In both rooms we put our dirty sheets in the tubs and they were put back on the beds. Not only, were they put back on the beds they were also wet. One of the rooms also had only one sheet on their bed.
Meals- When we came down for our complementary breakfast they found it to have very little variety of food to eat and all the beverages were watered down. Some of us were forced to purchase breakfast as the breakfast at the hotel was not replenished when the food was eaten.
Customer service- We had to aggressively request the manager to change the sheets in two rooms. While he was changing the sheets in the second room he kept nagging about having to change the sheets in the room before. The manager was very rude and un-cooperative when asked to change the sheets. He also expected us to change the sheets ourselves.
Bathrooms- In one of our bathrooms there was mold growing in the dap of the tub. Also the refrigerator was dirty when we went to put food in it.
Check-out- On the last day, we couldn’t find the manager/cashier to checkout. We went to the office, we called the office, not only us, there were multiple customers who where looking for him. We yelled, rang the bell, and when we finally knocked on the privacy door, the manager finally came out. This whole fiasco took about 45 minutes. When he finally came out we asked for the manager’s card and the card he gave us was an old manager’s card who no longer worked there.
Complaints to choice hotels- Not only did we complain to the manager we complained to The Choice Hotels Corporation and all we received was a 10% discount for all four of our rooms for one night only.
Overall we really didn’t have a good time at this hotel like we wanted. When we looked up this hotel online we saw several good reviews, but if we were to give this hotel a review some of us would give it no stars when some of us would have given it negative stars.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troop1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We stayed because we wanted to be close to the AFB for my husband's graduation. The hotel is not nearly as bad as all these reviews! The hotel is cheap and the service is WONDERFUL!! They were so helpful!! When we needed towels, directions, recomendations for places to eat, they were right there. The breakfast in the morning is free and has muffins, cereal, and a waffle maker in the shape if Texas (I thought it was neat). The pool was clean and felt great after a long day of runing around base. They have a laundry room which is closes late at night but, the man at the desk was nice enough to let us in and help us out. They have a computer for you to use and coffee in the lobby which is available 24/7. Also, it is close to San Antonio and literally like 4 minutes away from Lackland AFB. I think all these negative reviews are way to exagerated and if you are worried about the color of paint? or stupid things like that, then stay at the Holiday inn. This is a great little hotel and the price cannot be beat! I highly recommend it!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank AWilson1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

This hotel is not nearly as bad as the reviews I read.
It is old and badly in need of modernizing but the rooms are large and clean.The bathrooms are the biggist issue.The beds were confortable. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We had a couple of issues when we first checked in but they were corrected within the first hour after we arrived. We had three rooms, two close to the front and one in the back of the property. The ground around the hotel is clean and seemed perfectly safe to me.The breakfast area is a little bit cramped. For the price I think this hotel is a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2006

This hotel was just awful it was very dirty and the staff charged me more when I got there than what I was originally quoted. It is close to Lackland if that is why you are going. I really don't reccommend it. The pool is so small that in the Texas heat it warms up so much that it's like bath water. The staff wasn't very friendly at all.

  • Stayed: May 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Shreveport, La.
1
Reviewed 25 February 2006

fEB. 25, 2006

Sir:
I use no profanity or threats. I do not care
weather you print this or not. I just want to let you
know that the Roadway Inn, 6500 Old Highway 90 West in
San Antonio Texas is the worst place I have stayed in
in my sixty years of traveling.
The sheets and blankets had large Cigg. burn holes in them. The fixtures in the bathroom were fall-
ing out, the toilets had not been cleaned, there was
a huge wet spot on the floor that could of only come
from broken pipes underneath.
My son and his wife and grand son had to ask for
another room because the smell in the first one. They
were promised a micro wave and a refrigator, which
they were not given.
This motel is on a list recommended for Air Force
families. I have no special (PULL) but any one within
my voice will know about this place. Especially the
families of young men who are graduating basic train-
ing. We were registered there on Feb. 16th., and 17th.

Thank You
Mrs. Dolores Burton
Shreveport, La.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2006

This place is filthy! I reserved two rooms for 3 nights at this motel for our family to attend my son's Airforce graduation. We arrived 11:00 pm, very tired from a long day of travel. The sheets were dirty and so we called the desk. They brought clean, but terribly stained sheets and we had to change the beds ourselves. One room smelled strongly of urine and the other one just smelled bad. The bathroom was terribly dirty. Carpets dirty, and everything was dusty. We wanted to change motels, but our schedule was so busy, we didn't have the time. We complained about the dirty rooms, but they didn't care and never cleaned the rooms for us while we were there. The breakfast was barely continental. We had to go to the front desk to get an iron - it was old and dirty and didn't work. Went and got another one and it worked but gunk came out and stained my clothes. We spent a lot of money on this trip and the conditions of this place made it bad, but we enjoyed the San Antonio area - the River Walk and Alamo are wonderful but I would definitely NOT recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#213 of 358 in San Antonio
105 reviews
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lackland AFB (San Antonio), TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Far West Side
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland AFB
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland ...
#220 of 358 in San Antonio
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB

Address: 6500 Enrique M Barrera Pkwy, San Antonio, TX 78227-3716
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £38 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn Lackland AFB Welcome to the Rodeway Inn Lackland. We are conveniently located 1/2 mile from Lackland AFB (BMT Reception Center ) and the Training Annex for government and military guest. To add to the convenience only 6 miles from Sea World & 7 miles from world famous River Walk Downtown. Our newly renovated rooms lets you call us your home away from home. Some of the many features we have include: • Complimentary HOT Continental Breakfast with 24 hour coffee and tea and/or a "Grab & Go" • Free wired & wireless high-speed internet access in all rooms • Guest Laundry facilities • Outdoor Pool with sundeck and plenty of lounge chairs • In-room microwave and refrigerator • Business Center with access to copy and fax All guest rooms are designed for maximum comfort and convenience!! We here at Rodeway Inn Lackland strive to constantly make sure we are doing everything possible to ensure a fantastic lodging experience for our Guests, so that they feel (as they should) that they are the reason we are here . Rodeway Inn is please to treat you to the best stay for your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn At Lackland Afb Hotel San Antonio
Rodeway Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn At Lackland AFB San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing