We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much more than average here...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
Ranked #251 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not much more than average here...”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful - room was clean and adequately furnished with the standards - this is an "old style" hotel (1 story, external entrance, park at your door) that my wife and I almost drove right by in order to stay at the much "nicer from the outside" Holiday Inn right next door - however, we were relieved after our stay that we didn't let our first impression of the facility turn us away from it - the property is well-maintained - landscaping is well-groomed - breakfast was the standard "continental" (danishes, cereal, waffle iron) - pool was small, but clean - internet connection (not wireless) from port in room was fantastic speed - hotel is an easy 5 minute drive from the San Antonio Missions ballpark

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CentILMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    15
    8
    15
See reviews for
31
3
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I didn't read reviews before we came and don't want to search them out while we're still here. Just want to give people a warning to look elsewhere. We are here for my daughter's boyfriends graduation from BMT at Lackland AFB. The location is good to get to the base, and the price is low. Those are the 2 good things I can say about the hotel. The rooms have no curb appeal from outside, and that doesn't really bother me that much. The worst thing was getting in late at night and wanting to take a shower before bed. There was a rubber bath mat draped over the side of the tub and the underside had mold and hairs on it. We decide to buy a bottle of Clorox clean up because that would be cheaper than going to another hotel. They have wired internet in the room, and will give you a connection cable at the front desk. The clock in our room didn't work, but were glad that the refrigerator did. The lights in the room don't illuminate it very well. There are very limited electric outlets. There was a hairdryer, iron, coffee maker and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaakelly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

not at all like reviews it was old on outside but fine on the inside very nice people too!!

  • Liked — close to base
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dgjp8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2008

i have had many stays in this place it always have been gud i stayed on business but once or twice it was just to chill out and i would take my wife here it's not a bad place to go it's pertty clean

  • Liked — no best likes i guess but it was gud.
  • Disliked — no least likes it was all ok ium sure.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slowmoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, tx
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Of the four rooms we had over the course of four days, we had two rooms that constantly had problems. Not only did the rooms have problems we had several other problems in the following areas.
Bedding- In both rooms we put our dirty sheets in the tubs and they were put back on the beds. Not only, were they put back on the beds they were also wet. One of the rooms also had only one sheet on their bed.
Meals- When we came down for our complementary breakfast they found it to have very little variety of food to eat and all the beverages were watered down. Some of us were forced to purchase breakfast as the breakfast at the hotel was not replenished when the food was eaten.
Customer service- We had to aggressively request the manager to change the sheets in two rooms. While he was changing the sheets in the second room he kept nagging about having to change the sheets in the room before. The manager was very rude and un-cooperative when asked to change the sheets. He also expected us to change the sheets ourselves.
Bathrooms- In one of our bathrooms there was mold growing in the dap of the tub. Also the refrigerator was dirty when we went to put food in it.
Check-out- On the last day, we couldn’t find the manager/cashier to checkout. We went to the office, we called the office, not only us, there were multiple customers who where looking for him. We yelled, rang the bell, and when we finally knocked on the privacy door, the manager finally came out. This whole fiasco took about 45 minutes. When he finally came out we asked for the manager’s card and the card he gave us was an old manager’s card who no longer worked there.
Complaints to choice hotels- Not only did we complain to the manager we complained to The Choice Hotels Corporation and all we received was a 10% discount for all four of our rooms for one night only.
Overall we really didn’t have a good time at this hotel like we wanted. When we looked up this hotel online we saw several good reviews, but if we were to give this hotel a review some of us would give it no stars when some of us would have given it negative stars.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — most everything
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troop1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We stayed because we wanted to be close to the AFB for my husband's graduation. The hotel is not nearly as bad as all these reviews! The hotel is cheap and the service is WONDERFUL!! They were so helpful!! When we needed towels, directions, recomendations for places to eat, they were right there. The breakfast in the morning is free and has muffins, cereal, and a waffle maker in the shape if Texas (I thought it was neat). The pool was clean and felt great after a long day of runing around base. They have a laundry room which is closes late at night but, the man at the desk was nice enough to let us in and help us out. They have a computer for you to use and coffee in the lobby which is available 24/7. Also, it is close to San Antonio and literally like 4 minutes away from Lackland AFB. I think all these negative reviews are way to exagerated and if you are worried about the color of paint? or stupid things like that, then stay at the Holiday inn. This is a great little hotel and the price cannot be beat! I highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AWilson1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2007

This hotel is not nearly as bad as the reviews I read.
It is old and badly in need of modernizing but the rooms are large and clean.The bathrooms are the biggist issue.The beds were confortable. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We had a couple of issues when we first checked in but they were corrected within the first hour after we arrived. We had three rooms, two close to the front and one in the back of the property. The ground around the hotel is clean and seemed perfectly safe to me.The breakfast area is a little bit cramped. For the price I think this hotel is a good deal.

  • Liked — The beds were confortable and the rooms smelled fresh
  • Disliked — The bathrooms are very old
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#190 of 355 in San Antonio
103 reviews
Far West Side
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland AFB
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland ...
#192 of 355 in San Antonio
61 reviews
Far West Side
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
#95 of 355 in San Antonio
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB

Property: Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
Address: 6500 Enrique M. Barrera Pkwy, San Antonio, TX 78227-3796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn Lackland AFB Welcome to the Rodeway Inn Lackland. We are conveniently located 1/2 mile from Lackland AFB (BMT Reception Center ) and the Training Annex for government and military guest. To add to the convenience only 6 miles from Sea World & 7 miles from world famous River Walk Downtown. Our newly renovated rooms lets you call us your home away from home. Some of the many features we have include: • Complimentary HOT Continental Breakfast with 24 hour coffee and tea and/or a "Grab & Go" • Free wired & wireless high-speed internet access in all rooms • Guest Laundry facilities • Outdoor Pool with sundeck and plenty of lounge chairs • In-room microwave and refrigerator • Business Center with access to copy and fax All guest rooms are designed for maximum comfort and convenience!! We here at Rodeway Inn Lackland strive to constantly make sure we are doing everything possible to ensure a fantastic lodging experience for our Guests, so that they feel (as they should) that they are the reason we are here . Rodeway Inn is please to treat you to the best stay for your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn At Lackland Afb Hotel San Antonio
Rodeway Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn At Lackland AFB San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing