We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #129 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Definitely, worth staying at.
The hotel is comfortable and clean, great beds and the rooms are spacious enough for a week long stay
The staff are helpful and welcoming, thank you to Kal and co.
The hotel is, if you are up to it, a 30 minute walk into the centre of town or a $10 cab ride, don't both driving in, parking charges are high minimum of $18 for 4 hour stay.

Do take the riverboat tour, it's a great way to orient yourself and spot the places you want to go to later.

Room Tip: Not much by way of a view, it is close to the interstate which makes getting around very easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobeadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at this property for 4 nights on business in room 103 a 2 double bedded room. This is a newer property that still looks fresh and clean. While overall it is a very good property, it has issues that should be noted.

PRO’s

• Mini Kitchen with full size fridge, micro, stove top to cook light meals
• 32” flat screen is commonplace now
• Decent work desk/kitchen table for work on laptop; unfortunately only has 2 outlets for electronics
• Spartan, but comfortable beds, with hard, lumpy pillows
• Nice tile bathroom is large with adequate space for toiletries
• Solid surface counters throughout give upscale look
• FREE laundry area to wash clothes was nice, but one of three washers were out of order and a second smelled stale and musty. I removed the fabric softener dispenser and mold was growing inside. I used the one remaining front loading washer for clothes.

CON’s

• Rough neighborhood. Although I didn’t have any issues, I wouldn’t go out for a midnight stroll
• Pets are permitted.
• Aside from internal dogs, there is more doggie noises coming from the doggie kennel/boarding house across the street.
• TRAINS come through at night and early in the morning. Although they mute their whistle to a certain extent, it's loud enough to wake light sleepers
• Stopper in sink broken
• TOWELS are very rough. It’s an odd complaint and I’ve never mentioned it before in any of my other 175+ reviews but this was annoying. It felt like a big bath mat.
• Internet requires long log in process that is slow and disconnects each morning.

Summary

Overall, I would give this property a 88/100 with a 90/100 for value. I would consider staying here again in the future, but light sleepers may need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay away from side of property closest to dog boarding and trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A delightful young woman at reception greeted me the moment I entered the door of Candlewood Suites. She made a big deal of my IHG card – I won a prize for being an IHG member. The room was perfect! Quiet, spacious, completely clean. No paint chips or marks. Everything worked perfectly. The bed was made perfectly with linen that looked and smelled new. The bathroom looked like every inch of it, from floor to ceiling, had been scrubbed. At night, the bedroom had no sounds from anywhere else in the hotel. The neighborhood felt safe. About a mile to the Market Square, about two miles to the Riverwalk and downtown activities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djfluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This place by was by far the most awesome place! The room came with a small, fully equipped kitchen, including dishwasher. Super comfy beds, great TV, desk, and even a recliner! The bathroom was huge and had plenty of towels. For just over $100 it was amazing. It had a pool and hot tub. It was an $8 ride to the River Walk. I recommend out to everyone

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Clean, well run. All staff are graciously and immediately attending to all your needs.
The only problem I have is I must put A 200 word minimum into this dialogue.
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsibreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Area & Travel: The area around the hotel is a little run-down, but it's downtown so unless you get a luxury hotel, it's your typical hotel. However, it is very close to everything downtown. We used a taxi for the 4 of us and spent $10+ each time (which included the tip). So it was really cheap.

Arrival/Check-In: We arrived around 2pm and check-in is at 3pm. I walked in and was immediately greeted by a the front desk rep Luz. She was very welcoming and provided excellent customer service. I wish more front desk reps would be like her. During check-in I stated to her that our friends should be arriving within an hour or so and that we would prefer rooms across from one another. She said that she already both of our rooms reserved since we notated in the reservation "special requests" that we wanted rooms on the same floor etc etc.. Having done this before, I was really surprised that they had actually reserved the rooms ahead of time, ensuring that our request was met. Kudos! Other than that, check-in was super easy.

Pantry: There is a "pantry" room downstairs in the lobby. You need your room key card to access this. You pick out what you want (kinda like a convenience store) and you pay for it at the front desk. However, just like any other place, plan on paying a hefty price for something minimal. An 8oz Red Bull will cost you $4 when you can buy one at a gas station for $2. So if you can, try to pre-purchase any food & drink to prevent buying from the hotel. On the other hand, if there is a last-minute craving or you forgot something, I think it's great that the hotel provides its guests with this convenience. That way you don't have to leave the hotel.

Room #209: When you enter in the room, you're immediately in the kitchen. I was very surprised to see all the amenities that the room had. Full-sized fridge, microwave, stove top w/pots, dishwasher, tupperware, etc.. Granted that all we used was the fridge & microwave. They even give you a bag of microwave popcorn (it's inside the microwave). The bed is supposed to be a queen, although it felt like a double. The (3) pillows provided are feathered, so if you want a more supportive pillow, I suggest you bring your own if possible. Our room also came with a recliner. The only downside I can really think of was the view from the room. It's very minor, but if you look out the window you get a direct view of the pool. But the view behind the pool are abandoned buildings. You can see it in the picture I attached. OH! Also, on the window, you have the outside design curtains that do not move, then you have the semi-see through curtains. If you want the black-out curtains, you need to look behind the see-through curtain. They are all the way on the ends. Before getting dressed I looked for the solid curtain, but couldn't find it. It wasn't until my friend told me to REALLY dig for them, was when I did find them.

Check Out: This was super easy as most hotels. We left the keys in the room and called the front desk. DONE!

Charges/Fees: There are no parking fees, which was great! If you bring a pet, there is a $75 NON-refundable fee. My friends paid this. Also, they let you know that if you get caught with a pet that you did not notify them of OR if you smoke in the room, there is an automatic $250 charge. So make sure to read the top of the check-in form! :)

All and all, I had a great stay at this hotel. No complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SinCityJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel does not locate within a walking distance to the riverwalk. But, it just takes 3 - 4 minutes of driving. In addition, this hotel locates right next to the highway and is easy to find. Some hotels near the riverwalk charges daily parking ($ 15?), but the parking is free in this hotel. Each room is equipped with a nice kitchenette - perfect for traveling with children. Room is spacious.
The view from the room is not great. You can still see the San Antonio downtown, but the electrical power tower is right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukgeun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Alamo Suites
#86 of 358 in San Antonio
511 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 1024 S Laredo St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £74 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites San Anotonio Downtown is the newest extended stay, all suites hotel in the River Walk area. The 96 suite hotel is conveniently located just off of I-35 at the S. Alamo Street exit. Featuring the finest in hospitality and accommodations,, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from the River walk and near restaurants, shopping and many attractions. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy multi-channel premium TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat panel Television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24 hours a day. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the San Antonio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing