We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alamo IMAX-fantastic!”
Review of Alamo IMAX Theatre

Alamo IMAX Theatre
Ranked #10 of 73 Fun & Games in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the legendary Alamo: The Price of FreedomThe crystal clear images and wraparound sound of IMAX thrills in a way no ordinary theatre can. Six stories high & 83 feet wide, the screen pulls you in!Experience the legend of the Alamo at IMAX prior to visiting the Alamo shrine- see Alamo: The Price of Freedom on the giant screen.The theatre complex also boasts an IMAX 3D screen playing the latest hits.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The Alamo IMAX-fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

The Alamo IMAX is a must watch. Before visiting the Alamo, I watched this IMAX and it was great. It's really interesting and inspirational and gives you a great appreciation and lots of historical context of the events surrounding the Alamo. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AMJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    89
    42
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jewett, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Saw the new Star Trek movie. I have to say, even with a large group of high school kids there, it was a very pleasurable experience

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nuttyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOVER
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great movie”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

You have to watch the Alamo movie before you go to the Alamo, it was awesome, and im not into history1 My whole family loved it and when we went to the Alamo we could connect with what we had watched!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful family experience!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a fantastic introduction to the Alamo. The quality of the film and stereo sound is exceptional, with interesting Alamo artifacts in the lobby and gift store too. The kids really loved this movie, as did my husband and I. This movie made the Alamo so much more interesting and meaningful to the kids, as they had a better understanding of what really happened. I highly recommend this attraction!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We went to see Star Trek: Into Darkness on a recent Sunday afternoon. For the first 10 minutes of the film, the dialog was completely drowned out by the music track. Then both dialog and the music track went dead, and then it was possible to make out most of the dialog if one listened carefully. Maybe this was rare event, but this will be the only time we go to this IMAX. Had we been offered some kind of compensation as we were leaving I probably would have written a different review.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astro78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alamo IMAX Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Alamo IMAX Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing