We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I understand why the reviews are so mixed …” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmount

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Fairmount
Ranked #167 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I understand why the reviews are so mixed …”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

The reviews from this and other sites are all over the map, and now I understand why:

We arrived in San Antonio after 1 a.m. Lost (There is a North and South Alamo—something our GPS didn't quite understand), we called the hotel to get directions. "What is your name? Do you have a reservation? When did you make it? What is your name? (He asked multiple times.) Despite the clerk saying he didn’t know the area (we stopped police officers for directions), we arrived—only to have the clerk meet us outside the hotel with our room key—which he tried to thrust into my hand as I was still trying to get luggage out of the trunk. (Uh, how about asking for some ID?)

Some "senior" friends arrived much earlier. Anxious to see the sites around town, they asked where the Riverwalk was (a major attraction, literally across the street through a park), but the desk clerk shrugged his shoulders.

Yet, the weekend day staff was quite helpful and courteous. And strangely, two piles of local maps—including the Riverwalk—were available on the counter.

The hotel furnishings are a bit run down—beyond "shabby chic" (The rug in my room was well-worn with the edges a filthy black. Ick.), but the rooms are spacious—especially the suites—and “could be” charming.

BOTTOM LINE: Would I stay there again? Probably not. For not much more money there are hotels with better amenities. Perhaps The Fairmount was once the "Jewel of San Antonio," but now it needs a good cleaning—and some staff training.

Room Tip: If you're allergic to pets, ask that you have a "pet-free" room. The hotel accepts pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    38
    23
    15
    31
See reviews for
24
50
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This place is In a good spot, but very creepy I wouldn't recommend and I would never go back. They keep your card on file like most places do, and then charge 21$ a night for valet parking, which isn't an option.. It's mandatory and they only do valet parking. Disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittfeeney2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

In over 20 years of booking rooms, we last stayed at the Fairmount on September 13 - 16, 2012. We truly enjoy the quiet, the ambience, the antique furniture and plush furnishings. Staff are very helpful and very accommodating. Yes, it is a bit frayed and worn, but warmer and more inviting than the mega boxes. Will definitely stay again and hope that renovations to update are in the works.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here and was amazed at the size of the suite for the great bargain price. Also the restaraunt has fantastic food and drinks and excellent service. Located right next to LaVillita and a short walk to the Riverwalk or the Tower of the Americas. The suites are very large and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell E, General Manager at The Fairmount, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again!!Thank You Russell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weslaco, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Booked hotel for event, it was cancelled due to weather. We arrive and room not ready. We walk into room is smaller and no balcony as booked but only one available. Room is really stuffy a/c not working. Advise front desk clerk sounds lost on what to do but calls maintenance. we sight see for three hours to give chance for repairs. We return and have to wait a bit more. Finally get to settle in room. No frig, after paying $295 before tax, need to pay extra $25 if we want little frig. We were traveling with two kids so we paid. Horrible lighting used flaslight most of the evening. Room was still stuffy slept with door kept open with trash can. Hotel does not offer breakfast does have attached restaurant but already felt we overpaid for room didn't want to gamble anymore. Hotel was pretty, kind of outdated but pretty. Other than having a dog who lives in lobby who serves as mascot nothing special. Informed front desk of my unpleasant stay and was given a reluctant apology. Asked for manager clerk handed me business card. (Found out later she was a mgr, think assistant) Called number provided for 1 week straight, always got voicemail left messages. Never contacted me. I would not recommend this overpriced hotel. With our busy schedule, hard to get away and was very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell E, General Manager at The Fairmount, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
I would like to personally thank you for staying at our hotel .Its sounds like it wasn't pleasant and I apolagize for your stay.I really would like to here the troubles with your stay so I can address the issues you encountered.If you would be so kind as to give me a call at the hotel.(210)224-8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is a beautiful building great location, but desperately needs upkeep. We had a suite (350 a night) and upon checking in our bathroom was still dirty, the room was a pet room (which we had no pets) the carpets were very heavily stained and soiled. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The manager came in to change sheets and bring towels (all staff was very nice and tried their best). For some reason they do not keep housekeeping on staff all day (and it shows).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

They upgraded us to Veranda Suite, after our designated room and every other room we looked at was infested with huge crickets. All the furniture was old, like going to grandma's house, ill fitting doors sunken cushions etc. Had to run water to dissipate rust. Nice robes, ok service, bed lumpy. Luke the mascot was charming.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noclmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#61 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#43 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#27 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount

Property: The Fairmount
Address: 401 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmount 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, European-style hotel built in 1906 and located on San Antonio's River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmount Hotel San Antonio
Fairmount San Antonio
Fairmount Hotel San Antonio
The Fairmount San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing