We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars - Charming - Great Location”
Review of The Fairmount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmount
Ranked #199 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Personally, I rate this hotel a 3 star hotel not a 4. The Fairmount hotel is historic and pleasantly cozy, yet it left a lot to be desired. For starters, the hotel is need of renovations to freshen up its appeal. The room we booked was a Junior Suite. The room was a bit dingy and was not as clean as I would have preferred. There were also 2 bulbs out in the room. On the upside though, the room was bigger than I expected with a good view and I liked how there was a small separate living room area aside from the bedroom. In addition, the linens were of good quality, the bed was comfortable and very nice robes were available for use. The friendliness of the staff was decent. Though, in my opinion, there was really only 1 staff member (Derek) who provided hotel quality service and made my spouse and I feel welcomed. Overall, I think this hotel is really all about location. If you are looking for a historic hotel that is quiet, homely and is close to Hemisphere park or La Villita then this hotel may be a good fit for you. However, if you are wanting to be in the heart of downtown and are looking for a larger, more upscale hotel then I would consider booking at the St. Anthony hotel which is Wyndham hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel could be a really good One, a bouquet hotel, BUT the room are old and need to be refreshed, sometimes repaired..
Amenities are of very good level: bathrobe, good linen, good bath products, mouthwash, no plastic glass or cup but real glass and pottery. Two LCD tv.
BUT thecurtains were broken and they couldn't be' closed, the light in the first room couldn't be switch on from the door.. we should have gone under the table to do it ( in the concierge opinion)..
The second concierge was kind (different from the first) and giving us his apologizes told us not to pay the valet ( 21 dollars)
Great position.
I'm sure they will get better..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexascab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

History and nostalgia are worth something, but not much.

It's old, old, old. A/C didn't work in our room so had to move.

I wouldn't call it "dirty," it just feels that way because it is old and they haven't really updated anything.

I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Do not stay at this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed one night for almost $300 and it was not worth $29. The room was covered in carpet stains, the wallpaper was taped together with scotch tape, the room was unclean, the bathroom door would not shut. Also the car was returned to us completely covered in bird feces. The hotel employee did not do anything to compensate for such a horrible experience. I have emailed the owner and will let you know if I hear back. I took pictures with my phone and sent them to the owner's email, but no reply yet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

...but needs some work. This is a small, boutique hotel, so don't expect a big, fancy chain. We had a great room - the nautical theme room - but a lot of the hotel is beginning to show some wear and tear. It has an interesting history, having been picked up and moved several blocks to its current location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is great - right across the street from the convention center and an easy walk to downtown.

Room Tip: Look at the photos of the rooms on the web and request a specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I read a lot of online reviews and made our reservation online. Unfortunately my room did not look like one from all the pretty pictures here. It was dirty with very dirty carpets, sheets and drapes. The toilet wouldn't flush and the door wouldn't close. I was very disappointing that I shelled out 200$ for a very very bad room. Beware of online bookings, they don't do returns.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jordana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location. Staff was great. The Hotel has a piano in the lobby that my kids were thrilled to play. The suite was spacious but had an old musty smell. We liked the historic old charm of the hotel but I have to say if we were to visit San Antonio again I wouldn't stay here until they freshen up the rooms with new carpet/wall paper/paint .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripping123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#71 of 357 in San Antonio
824 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#29 of 357 in San Antonio
528 reviews
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount

Address: 401 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3201
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £141 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmount 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, European-style hotel built in 1906 and located on San Antonio's River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmount Hotel San Antonio
Fairmount San Antonio
Fairmount Hotel San Antonio
The Fairmount San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing