We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Remodeled - They treat customers right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #28 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautifully Remodeled - They treat customers right”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Wow! Six years ago I booked this hotel via priceline and stayed there, it was okay for the price. This weekend I booked this hotel via priceline and stayed there, WOW! I am impressed. Little did I know they just reopened around Jan. 1 and are now a DoubleTree. Obviously that means you are going to be greeted with a warm Chocolate Chip cookie upon arrival, but it doesn't stop there. I stayed on a Thursday night, their happy hour that night included complimentary massages. Very nice touch. It also included free physic readings - I wish they would lose that part of it. The lobby was beautifully done, the bar was packed full of people. The rooms are much nicer than I remembered. Upon check in we requested, and were given, a room with an Alamo view. We watched the sun set over San Antonio, the sky was gorgeous, downtown looks great from the vantage point. . The bathrooms sort of have a "W Hotel" feel to them. The staff seemed to appreciate having me as a customer, something I rarely see anymore.
Will I be back, I sure hope so.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Alamo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Interactiveguy,

Thank you so much for recognizing the team! We do have great new rooms, awesome warm chocolate chip cookies with walnuts, all new lobby, restaurant and public space, but from all of us here, it's your feedback about our CARING culture of service that makes us smile.

Thank you so much for staying, and for taking time from your day to share your experience.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    418
    138
    64
    39
See reviews for
388
462
42
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Traveling thru San Antonio we booked one night thru Price Line and would have enjoyed staying longer. From the warm cookies at checking to the live music during happy hour at the "vintage" bar, everything exceeded expectations for the price. We stayed in 603 which was a larger corner room overlooking the Alamo Plaza. The room was tastefully updated and very clean. Even had a small library in room. Good location across the street from the river walk so quieter than being on the river. We've stayed at La Mansion, Palaico Del Rio, Westin & more but this was by far the best value. The pool isn't much but that's what you find in most downtown hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasBchbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
DallasBchbum,


We are all so glad you were able to stay with us, and quite pleased you enjoyed yourself. With our recent conversion to DoubleTree by Hilton, I must agree that one of my favorite things is a warm chocolate chip cookie with walnuts!

The L&M's are a very good happy hour band, how can you beat the Eagles, Beatles, JT, and their entire set list of great tunes.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your stay!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel is in a great location! I was so excited that it was next to the alamo and a short walk from the River Walk and mall area. We got in on a thursday and took advantage of the free psychic reading and happy hour. We also came for the haunted reputation but nothing spooky happened on our trip. The only recommendation I would have is just to suck it up and valet park your car. We thought we were smart and saving money by parking in a lot. Funny our meter expired at 5am and I had to get out of bed and put more money in...all for like a $5 savings? not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deardementia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
deardementia,

We do have an incredible location, on the grounds of the battlefield. Unfortunately, parking isn't an easy deal downtown, and most hotels do charge for overnight guests.

We are glad you were able to experience our Psychic Happy Hour, as ORO was voted the best happy hour by San Antonio Magazine last year.

We thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecru, Ms
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I LOVE SAN ANTONIO. My family spent 4 days at the Emily Morgan Hotel next to the Alamo, one block from the Riverwalk. I will recommend this hotel to everyone. My husband and I are going back this coming summer. Awesome place, friendly people everywhere. If you are planning to go to San Antonio, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask the front desk for a room with a view to the Alamo. You will enjoy that
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannetteEcru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
JeannetteEcru,

We look forward to having you back this summer, and for taking the time to share your experience!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

In downtown San Antonio, adjacent to the Alamo and the Riverwalk, you will find a number of excellent hotels: The Hyatt, HIlton Palacio de Rio and Marriott are modern, while the Menger, Emily Morgan and Crockett are historic. We chose the Emily Morgan nd we're glad we did. I have literally never seen staff as freindly as helpful. There was a little screw-up once -- our keys didn't work and the room wasn't made up when we returned from our day's sightseeing -- but the front desk manager made everything right and even gave us complimenary breakfast tickets.
Parking is by valet only, and at $30/day plus the inevitable tips it adds up. The breakfast is excellent and again the service is the highlight.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
niemand,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for the kind words about the team. I have shared your comments with all of our departments, and it really did make us all quite proud. It's not always the easiest task to exceed expectations, and when we do, we are truly grateful to hear that feedback!

Come back and see us any time!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We were in San Antonio for the Inaugural HERO-THON Half Marathon, and to celebrate my wife's birthday. Mariah was awesome at the desk, friendly smile, exceptional customer service. Kudo's to Jessica at the bar, who knew how to make some awesome drinks. All in all, I would recommend the Emily Morgan, not just because of the well kept rooms, but the fantastic customer service from all their staff members...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Mike P,

First thank you for staying with us, we truly appreciate your choosing us! Thank you for the kind words about our team, and for recognizing Jessica and Mariah.

We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, MA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I got a great rate on Priceline for this hotel. Short walk to the Riverwalk and right across the street from the Alamo. Parking was pricey at $30 per night. The only negatives where that a fire door at he end of the hall was propped open by an old rag and the hallway smelled like a wet dog.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
ParkTraveler,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience. I agree we have one of the best locations in San Antonio. We are just finishing up our construction, and have spoken to them about propping open doors with rags, that said, not sure if they were the ones smelling like the wet dog!

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#26 of 356 in San Antonio
2,393 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
1,906 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,174 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree By Hilton San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing