We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend, will return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #28 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Would recommend, will return.”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding weekend. Everything else we initially tried was booked, but the price was reasonable and the trip advisor reviews were good so we gave it a try. We're glad we did -- we thought it was awesome. We loved the "modern hill country" style, cleanliness of everything, the whirlpool bath thing and the view of the alamo area. I also appreciated the free wifi. The room service / late night food prices were ridiculous and the quality sucked, and the clean up service was a little slow... but everything else was so nice and fun that we'd still return and have recommended it to other people looking for a place to stay in San Antonio. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    414
    136
    63
    39
See reviews for
381
451
42
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed on Saturday night. We had reserved a King bed room. The room itself was small and the bathroom was very tight indeed. There was very little counter space in the bathroom, one short towel rack and one hook on the back of the door, which made things challenging. We could have used more hooks since we had gone swimming (nice but very small pool) and needed them to hang our suits to dry. The room and bathroom were nicely decorated in the more modern trend of browns/beiges/dark oranges. The bathroom had a shower/tub combination: the pro to this was the shower head was very high, which I love, but the bathtub is of what seems to be the newer sort in hotels, that isn't curved at the back so you can't relax in it. Toiletries are fine. As for the room itself, the bed was comfortable. They have WiFI but it is not included and I could not determine from the room materials what the fee was, so I just skipped it and relied on my phone. The TV was fine. There are robes, always a nice touch.

We did not eat at ORO but we did have drinks at the bar, and it was pleasant. Valet parking was prompt and while it is possible to self-park, my personal preference is to let the valet handle it when in a downtown area. The hotel is right next to the Alamo and is close walking distance to the Rivercenter Mall and the Riverwalk attractions. I had stayed here before it was a Doubletree property and I do feel it has lost a bit of its individuality but it is still a very nice, comfortable, well-located hotel. I do not recall the name of the desk clerk who checked us in but he was very friendly. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poteau
Level Contributor
211 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just spent three nights at the Emily Morgan with two young grand kids and we had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful when I needed local information. The hotel is adjacent to the Alamo so there are a ton of things to do and see within walking distance. We did not have a car and this hotel does not have a garage. We did purchase all day trolley and bus passes directly across the street from the Alamo at the visitors center. The rooms are big, clean, have a great view on the Alamo side, beds are comfortable, did not really like the pillows, the elevators were fast, the lobby area was nice, also had a library and of course the cookies are good. We ate breakfast at the Oro but nothing else and it was fine. Its a 2 or 3 block walk to be on the riverwalk. The horse carriage rides start at the hotel which is nice if you care to take one.

Room Tip: Alamo side is a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Staying here was a good experience. It is a bit pricey, but you are prepared for that going in. This hotel is in close proximity to many of the points of interest in San Antonio. It is absolutely beautiful to see from the outside. My room was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were also very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaClydeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Small but nice. Clean, friendly, but the cost of the "valet only" parking was ridiculous. $28.00 + nearly $14 more in taxes. Happy hour every day was nice. Good service at the bar but restaurant was a bit slow. We went over Memorial Day but it was not busy. Good location for walking to most attractions and shopping. Love the whole historical district it is in.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank dougieswife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Wonderful old historic hotel immediately adjacent to the Alamo, that has been well kept up over the years. You really get the sense of San Antonio history when you stay here. My room was wonderfully quiet, and was well-maintained. I could have lived here forever!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent a night there in February. Valets were right on top of us, unloaded the car, took our bags to the room, while we walked a few short blocks to the River Walk for dinner. Beautiful decor. Wonderful location right on the square, across from the Alamo. Concierges were great! Would stay again in a heart beat! Do a carriage ride at night-sooo worth it. Love the history.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binkaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#27 of 355 in San Antonio
2,335 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,862 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,803 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree By Hilton San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing