We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Emily Morgan Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #29 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Emily Morgan Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed there over Mother's Day and had a great time. We stayed in the King Junior suite with the garden tub. It was a beautiful room and we loved the tub. The room service was superb but we were a little disappointed in the bar. We also had their Mother's Day Brunch and it was very good. The location is great....right downtown, close to the river walk and right across the street from the Alamo. Over all we had a great time and have booked again for July. This is a haunted hotel, but we had not sightings...which made my husband very happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CScottRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    399
    133
    60
    36
See reviews for
364
433
40
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Very Convenient Location To Alamo (Literally Right Across The Street) And Less Than 5 Minutes To Riverwalk. Location Was Best Aspect Of This Hotel. Rooms Were On The Small Side. Staff Very Helpful And Friendly. Would Stay Again Based On location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmahaNETraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My wife and I are currently checked into this hotel (6/15) celebrating our first anniversary. The room is great and has a nice view. our first nights stay was great, but this morning we decided to sleep in but was woke up by the sound of barking. It appears one of the guest next to us has pets and it has been barking for over an hour now. I called down to the front desk and was told by a manager that they could not get in touch with the owners of the pet (and they cannot enter the room to remove the pet) so the only thing they could do was move them or us. There was one important catch...... they could not move us until after 3pm. It is currently 12pm so we have to put up with a barking dog (that the owner doesn't even have to deal with) for at least 4 hours. I know the hotel cannot control how their guest behave, but I thought that they would have at the very minimum have removed us from that situation immediately.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We got the room on priceline but were extremely satisfied. We needed to check in early (noon), and they gladly allowed this. Very convenient to everything. Across from the Alamo and a couple blocks from the Riverwalk, but that can be a plus, because it allows you to see more of downtown above ground and is a quieter at night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank ccbgracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My family and I recently stayed over the weekend. Since it is a historic building I was afraid the rooms would smell. However, I was very surprised to find out that the rooms are totally renovated with a contemporary design. The furniture is very nice, new, and the bathrooms are also nicely designed. The price was very reasonably compared to other hotels and it is conveniently located right next to the Alamo. The was very nice and friendly. I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding weekend. Everything else we initially tried was booked, but the price was reasonable and the trip advisor reviews were good so we gave it a try. We're glad we did -- we thought it was awesome. We loved the "modern hill country" style, cleanliness of everything, the whirlpool bath thing and the view of the alamo area. I also appreciated the free wifi. The room service / late night food prices were ridiculous and the quality sucked, and the clean up service was a little slow... but everything else was so nice and fun that we'd still return and have recommended it to other people looking for a place to stay in San Antonio. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed on Saturday night. We had reserved a King bed room. The room itself was small and the bathroom was very tight indeed. There was very little counter space in the bathroom, one short towel rack and one hook on the back of the door, which made things challenging. We could have used more hooks since we had gone swimming (nice but very small pool) and needed them to hang our suits to dry. The room and bathroom were nicely decorated in the more modern trend of browns/beiges/dark oranges. The bathroom had a shower/tub combination: the pro to this was the shower head was very high, which I love, but the bathtub is of what seems to be the newer sort in hotels, that isn't curved at the back so you can't relax in it. Toiletries are fine. As for the room itself, the bed was comfortable. They have WiFI but it is not included and I could not determine from the room materials what the fee was, so I just skipped it and relied on my phone. The TV was fine. There are robes, always a nice touch.

We did not eat at ORO but we did have drinks at the bar, and it was pleasant. Valet parking was prompt and while it is possible to self-park, my personal preference is to let the valet handle it when in a downtown area. The hotel is right next to the Alamo and is close walking distance to the Rivercenter Mall and the Riverwalk attractions. I had stayed here before it was a Doubletree property and I do feel it has lost a bit of its individuality but it is still a very nice, comfortable, well-located hotel. I do not recall the name of the desk clerk who checked us in but he was very friendly. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#30 of 354 in San Antonio
2,184 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,764 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
2,827 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree By Hilton San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing