We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #29 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small room, great location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

First the negatives. This is an older hotel so the room we had was quite small and there wasn't a fridge in the room. Also the price for parking is very high, but you are going to pay a lot regardless of your choice down on the riverwalk.

The staff was very pleasant and my daughter loved the cookie. You get an outstanding location close to anything you want down on the riverwalk. I think if you are on business or are a couple this hotel is perfect and less expensive than other choices with similar upscale property.

Room Tip: A view of the Alamo is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-State_Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    399
    133
    60
    36
See reviews for
364
433
40
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visit San Antonio at least once a year and have stayed at many different hotels through out our 20 years of marriage, but THIS hotel has become our favorite in downtown San Antonio! Our daughter attends a dance competition (for the past 5 years) at the Scottish Rite Auditorium and this hotel is literally steps away from the dance venue. Everyone we came in contact with - from the valet, the bellmen, the front desk, the restaurant & bar staff, and the housekeeping staff - made us feel welcome and comfortable. Everyone was very attentive and cheerful. The hotel has had renovations done and the last 4 times we visited we were extremely pleased with the updates and improvements. During this stay we worked out in the gym (2 treadmills, one stationary bike, 2 eliptical machines and free weights) and swam in the pool. The pool is stainless steel and has one great lap lane. The pool is on the small side, but we had it to ourselves after we worked out and we were very happy. We had a large king room on the 14th floor with a sofa sleeper and it was comfortable for our family of 3. There aren't any balconies for the rooms at this hotel and you are NOT on the Riverwalk, you are across the street from the Alamo. We prefer this location because the Riverwalk can get noisy with people who like to stay up late and drink too much. The Riverwalk is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and a 5 minute walk to the RiverCenter Mall. We feel safe & secure at this hotel and the beds have always been to our liking. We are looking forward to our next visit to The Emily Morgan Hotel :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLovesCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel was amazing. I had a corner room, which had an awesome view of the city. The room itself was the best hotel room I've had in the last couple of years. Although it was cozy, it was the perfect size room for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Latoya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Craft beer and wings were a treat. Not a very large supper, but enough to satisfy my craving. My husband was equally impressed with his meal and of course chatting up the bartender asking questions about the city.

Helpful?
Thank 686MYTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I consider myself a savvy traveler, and make every effort to plan a trip from the hotel, activities, events for my husband and I to partake in, and what any destination city has to offer. A recent trip to San Antonio in May was an absolute favorite! The location of the Emily Morgan across the street from The Alamo, a few blocks from the Riverwalk, and of course the many venues for tourists such as Tower of the Americas, and Seaworld. Across from the Alamo was Ripley's Believe it or Not, Guiness World Records Museum, and a few different touristy venues - all only within blocks.
The hotel was attentive to our needs, clean rooms and hotel, the staff friendly, and the restaurant/lounge was a good way to meet other business and family travelers and provide tips on places to see and do within the city. I was very impressed - and hope to take my adult daughters there soon. Again - the Emily Morgan is the ideal hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: 4th floor very comfortable, and the rooms very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 686MYTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Latoya W,

Many thanks for sharing feedback about your stay. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to your next visit. Our room sized vary so please let us know your preference for a larger room and we would be happy to accomodate this request.

See you soon!

Best,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to San Antonio with friends for a long weekend and stayed at The Emily Morgan Doubletree Hotel. As everyone says, it is across from the Alamo, and just a couple of blocks from the River Walk. It is also just 1 mile from the Market Square. Our corner room on the back side of the hotel was beautiful, and we had an interesting layout to the bathroom. The lobby was beautiful and we sat there late one night while visiting with each other. They also have a very nice Library Room. The Bar was very attractive, and we enjoyed drinks and appetizers there one afternoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful..... We would definitely stay here again! Be sure to check out the Historic Map shop next to the hotel! If you pay $5 to see the Phil Collins narrated show illustrated by the diorama before you go to the Alamo, it will help you understand what you see on the Alamo grounds. It is well worth the $5.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vintagepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Amazing view over the Alamo, it is straight accross the street. During my stay the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them to arrange. I travel a lot and stay in many hotels and I will stay at this hotel on my next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#30 of 354 in San Antonio
2,184 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,764 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
2,827 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree By Hilton San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing