We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Emily Morgan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mokara Hotel and Spa(San Antonio)
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
US$218
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,701)
Filter reviews
1,701 results
Traveller rating
962
458
155
75
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
962
458
155
75
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationgarden tubalamo viewhaunted hotelthe river walkwarm cookiesdouble treedirectly across the streetvalet parkingbeautiful hotelwithin walking distancehistoric buildingcorner roomvalet servicegreat roomconvention centerdowntown area
Filter
Updating list...
1,274 - 1,279 of 1,701 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

In San Antonio for business and had the opportunity to stay at the Emily Morgan which is directly adjacent to The Alamo. So glad I did. The Alamo has always been of interest to me and I'm glad I had the chance to visit. There are no real surprises or must see's but being a fan of the sacrifice and history that unfolded on the site, it's very hard not to be impressed. I would highly encourage anyone who had the opportunity to take advantage and spend some time touring the site.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mhargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was in the best location. We literally were across the street from the historic Alamo museum, and were down the street from the Riverwalk. For parking, we did not do the valet ..because $28 is too much, so instead just park on Alamo st, behind the hotel in the Alamo Parking lot for $15 for 24 hrs! It is safe there and you have in and out privileges. My husband and I received a warm welcome on our arrival and were given two warm chocolate chip cookies which were delicious.

Cons: Room was very small. No microwave. No fridge. No ice machine on our floor, had to go to floor above or below ours.

Pros: Great location, great decor, clean, great and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Park in the Alamo Parking to save money.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IJP21APRIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First off this hotel is beautiful. The views of the Alamo are definitely worth the stay and the price. However, the reason for the average rating is that the employees lacked the customer service that we have experienced at other hotels.

The valet just stood there as I emptied the car with my kids. And we had to hold the door open ourselves while pulling a load of luggage when we were trying to leave. I know this is a simple thing, but when a doorman/valet is just standing there, it seems odd that they would not open and then hold the door while three ladies walked in and out.

The exception to the above, was Carlito Alexander who was amazing and very attentive. He knew how to take care of guests.

As far as the room was concerned, it could be amazing, but the TV is too small and too far away from the beds. It would be nice to have a fridge/microwave for leftover food. But the worst issue is there is a large, loud sliding see-through door that separates the bathtub/shower from the rest of the room. When traveling with modest teens, a see-through door with the beds right next to the door is awful.

We were extremely happy that the hotel was dog friendly, yet clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvHaribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear LuvHaribo,

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your visit. I appreciate you found the hotel to be beautiful and had a great service encounter with Carlito. I will be sure to share this feedback with him. I want to apologize for the lack of attentiveness from our Valet team. I will be reviewing this also with the team. Concerning our doors, for future stays, we can provide double bedded rooms that do not have the large double doors. If you would like to contact us, we would be happy to update your preferences in our system.
We would love to have you and family return for a visit soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

To appreciate The Emily Morgan, make it longer than one night! Boutique and Hilton or DoubleTree are not words I'd expect to use in the same sentence, but because you can with The EM' it makes for a wonderful stay. I was in and out for an overnight stay for a conference. I added an eStandby upgrade to my original reservation of 2 nights and received it. But before that was the welcome I received from the valet/bell staff. This team of gentlemen became my new best friends! Unloading the car, going back to the car 15 minutes later when I realized I left something in it, loaning me an umbrella, directions to the conference hotel, recommendation on where to purchase a souvenir - all this in a 22-hour stay!! Thanks, Rudy!

Check-in was seamless. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful on all encounters. I don't think I ever waited for help when I needed to visit with desk staff. That's when you appreciate 'boutique' and fewer rooms/guests.

The king suite was very well appointed. Large seating area, generous closet and drawer space, large flat screen TV, small sink, personal coffee maker, comfy king bed, and then there's the bathroom! This suite occupies the corner section of the building and I applaud the architects for maximizing such an odd space. As you walk into the bathroom, there's a small alcove that serves as a vanity area. Nice mirror and shelf space. If I were to 'complain' it would be because I didn't find an outlet in this space (could have been me) and the seating (a wheeled ottoman) didn't move around the tile very well; a throw rug or different tiling (1 large piece instead of multiple 12-inchers) might solve that. Next is the large air jet tub/shower combo opposite the spacious sink/vanity area. It reminded me of a galley kitchen, but wasn't uncomfortable at all. Just beyond that was a separate, large water closet. With the exception of the WC and the sitting area, all the windows overlooked The Alamo, an added treat. If you see exterior pics of the building, the corner windows are over the tub (bring candles if it's a romantic visit!)

When I was running late on check out, the housekeeping manager knocked and I had a chance to share my experience and let him know about a lightbulb that was out. This was my second Hilton San Antonio stay. Two years ago I was at the Palacios del Rio (also reviewed here) and I liked that property. The EM' is now my NEW favorite place in The Alamo City.

Wish I could share more about the bar, restaurant, gym, pool.... NEXT time, when I stay longer!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank DonnaR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear DonnoR,

What a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your one night visit and we look forward to the next visit. We are honored to be your hotel of choice in San Antonio.

We hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stay here every time we can, hands down. Not a better historic hotel in San Antonio. Modern amenities and updated rooms, with a great historic feel of a beautiful building. The bar and breakfasts are excellent, and the staff always friendly and helpful. I'm not a die hard Double Tree guest anywhere else in the world, but will not stay any other place when we're in San Antonio.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank HollynCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews