We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can see the Alamo from my window!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #25 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely old building just steps away from the Alamo. The valets and desk staff were very helpful and attentive. Liked our room. Bathroom was spacious which I really like better than feeling like I'm in a closet.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Christine W,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you're interested in visiting the Alamo, this is the place. Right across the street from there, and many of the rooms have a view of the grounds of the Alamo. The Riverwalk area is about a 5 minute walk away.
The room we had was very comfortable, clean with good bedding. Shower was good with strong pressure despite a high floor room, and the commode is in a separate little room, which makes things more practical when several are staying in one room.
The check-in was a little slow on a Sunday evening, but once I got to the desk, things went very quickly, and the staff was very friendly. Parking is valet ($28), but it is worth it as on a busy summer weekend, the parking lots/garages in the area are full to capacity and thus this is really convenient and efficient. We had breakfast buffet the following morning, and staff there was very efficient and friendly, too. Checking out was simple, and the valet had already brought the car up to the area in front of the hotel, so that was really well done.
Plus, it's a Doubletree, so the cookies were given out, as always, and free wi-fi, which is much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi FranknDebbie,
Thank you for your Super review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you used the valet parking; you are right, it can get tricky downtown on the weekends. We try to make check out as seamless as possible and I will share your review with our staff as they achieved that for you and your family. We hope to have y'all back soon, the warm Doubletree cookie will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

this is a wonderful old hotel located 150 feet from the Alamo in San Antonio. The rooms were great as were the beds. Very nice hotel staff at every turn. Their food was fine with a reasonable price and great service. We love that old historic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Emily Morgan is in a great place for someone visiting San Antonio. It is right across from the Alamo and the Riverwalk is a short walk away. The rooms were nicely appointed. Mine was a little small but it was great for me. It even had a lounge-type chair fir reading/watching TV. The check-in was smooth and trouble free. The staff was very helpful. The in-hotel restaurant was a bit expensive for the quality. Parking is a bit of an issue. There is valet parking (about $28/day) and no free self-parking. I was on the 14th floor which had a great view. The only issue I had was that my room was near the elevators so you could hear the motors for the lifts all night. I'm a heavy sleeper so it really didn't bother me however, others might be sensitive to the noise. Overall, I'd stay there again (even on the 14th floor) and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed a week in this hotel. First located on the 14th floor, but elevators make quite a loud "hum" when they run and I had a problem sleeping. Next day they offered us another great room on 10th, and all was well. Staff are wonderful and professional at all times. Location is right next to the Alamo and the River Walk, so everything is very easy to walk to. We look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was very clean and the location was awesome for my business visit. It was great that it was near the Alamo and the River Walk two nice places to visit. The people were very friendly and helpful. The only down side was there were elevator issues for two of the days of I was there and my room was on the 14th floor. The wait time was too long. The repair took too long as well. I had a problem with me leaving my tax exempt form at home. That was taken care of for me after the fact. I really appreciated it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Evelyn J,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our location and the helpfulness of our staff. I apologize for the inconvience that you experienced due to one of the elevators being repaired. We have addressed the concern with our repair company as well. I am glad that we were able to get your tax situation fixed. We will work with our front desk staff to make this a smoother process next time. We hope that you will return to our hotel next time you are in town.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wonderfully decorated, comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and an excellent restaurant. We were met by the staff and our luggage was taken right to our room, we were called and asked if everything was ok in our room and did we need anything else. Very Nice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank colleymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
2,583 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,035 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £107 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the Best Boutique Hotel, Most Romantic Hotel and Best Pet Friendly Hotel, official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Historic Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and superb experiences. Our location is steps away from the Alamo and minutes away from the Riverwalk, the Convention Center, the Tobin Center and an easy walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions. Our hotel offers spectacular views of the Alamo and Downtown and all guestrooms and suites offer luxurious accomodations with Premium bedding and luxury robes to help you relax. We offer complimentary high speed internet, HD Televisions and daily newspapers. Our award winning ORO Restaurant offers modern Texas Cuisine and be sure to join us for Happy Hour every night at the Oro Bar. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit in our fitness center. Best of all, every guest is greeted with a warm hello and a complimentary DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree By Hilton San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing