We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Ranked #45 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A few days ago I took my 2 year old to Sea World. We stayed at this hotel because it was close and I have enjoyed other Holiday Inn Hotels. I began having problems the moment I tried to make reservations. We Wanted a room with a king bed but they would not do that since there would be 3 people in the room. My toddler sleeps with us most of the time and another bed would not only have been a waste but extremely uncomfortable for the one that slept with him in the smaller bed. After speaking to 4 different employees and NONE of them giving the same excuse of why they can't do that I was told to call the manager. The manager was very nice and told me that there was NO problem getting the king room. The manager himself had to make the reservations for me. This took about 45 minutes. Checking in was much easier but once we got to the room, it was NOT clean. Their was a hair ball (very large) next to the tub and it was still there when we left 2 days and one 'cleaning' later. The floor was dirty. We went to the pool so my 2 year old could swim and the pool was absolutely terrible. The dirt and bugs I could handle but the mold is disgusting. It's obvious that this pool is not properly cared for. We stayed about 10 minutes, left and didn't go back for the rest of our stay. The next day after spending the entire day at Sea World we came back to a room that was STILL. They sort of made the bed but didn't remove any trash and we had used towels thrown back on the rack with clean ones. I couldn't believe what I saw. I will NEVER stay at this hotel nor will I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Delisea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It seems we missed the mark when it comes to some issues for you and for that we are sincerely sorry. Service is very important to us and it’s regrettable if you experienced anything other than our very best. It’s never our intent for a guest to feel disappointed in any way, and we will be sure to share your comments with all of our associates, especially those in housekeeping. We hope we may welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good: Location, free SeaWorld shuttle, lobby looks nice, convenient bars at lobby and pool area, parking.

Bad: Stained bed comforter and sheets, stained window curtains, bath curtains with mold and stains, service was poor.

Hotel management should pay attention to little details, unacceptable mold and stains. These are issues easy to fix.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We are thoroughly troubled by the details you provided on some housekeeping issues in your guest room. Please know this is not our usual high standard, and your comments and photos will be shared with our housekeeping management. We urge our guests to let us know right away if something is not right, so that we may assist immediately during their visit. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. Thank you for your candid review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We took our 15 and 8 year old grandsons to San Antonio to go to Sea World and the Alamo. We decided on this hotel as it was one of the hotels included with Sea World Packages available on the Sea World WEB Site. We chose the Play and Dine Package as we had heard the food and drinks were expensive at Sea World but that is another story. The hotel is not the newest or the fanciest available but was certainly adequate for our needs. The rooms were comfortable and the pool area small but fun ---- all the kids seemed to love it. The shuttle to and from Sea World was much better than paying to park and your transportation drop-off and pick-up was right outside of the entrance. The Staff at the Hotel were very accommodating. There are only two elevators and they are slow but "relax and enjoy" your vacation. This is not a 5 Star Hotel so everything is not pristine and new but it is just fine for visiting Sea World and that is it's main draw. If your used to someone waiting on you hand and foot this is probably not the place you would enjoy but it worked for us and we had no real complaints.

Room Tip: Elevators are fairly slow ---- we were on 5th floor or 6 floors but no real problems. Could occasio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for making Holiday Inn San Antonio NW a part of your special trip with your grandsons. We’re glad you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel and amenities including our free shuttle and our pools. All of our associates will be happy to know you found them accommodating. We’re glad you were satisfied with your stay and invite you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Found a Group on for Holiday Inn. Included voucher for 2 drinks from the Sports Bar and breakfast vouchers. Usually when we stay in hotels the breakfast consists of a Texas waffle or stale bagels and dry cereal. Not the case at Holiday Inn Sea world!!! Great breakfast buffet with eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, lots of fruit options as well as oatmeal with toppings bar and biscuits with gravy!!! Hot tub was great and they had 3 pools and a cute last,y river. Service was awesome. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nana1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Breakfast is so important while traveling, and we’re glad to provide our guests with the abundant breakfast buffet you enjoyed. Sounds like your trip to Holiday Inn San Antonio NW suited you perfectly, and that makes all of us happy. It’s wonderful you could enjoy our pools and hot tub, and that you found our customer service so good. We’re thrilled you would definitely stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family while visiting SeaWorld. Hotel staff very helpful and courteous. Room was spacious and clean. Only issue was the shower seemed to leak a lot of water. Our kids loved the outdoor pool area. Hotel restaurant was good. We had free breakfast buffet included in our package and our kids ate free for dinner. Only downside was the elevators were slow. However, that can be expected when a lot of people are using them. We really enjoyed our stay. We have stayed here previously on our last trip to San Antonio and will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank julesb1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of Holiday Inn San Antonio NW. We’re thrilled you are so happy with our hotel that you have chosen to stay here again. From your spacious room to our hotel amenities, it’s delightful you and your family had such a great visit. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with our elevators. We’re glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay in San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Close to sea world with free shuttle. Shuttle staff very nice! The rooms are in rough shape. Toilet paper holder falling off the wall. Paint missing and some black stuff on the walls of the shower. Breakfast was expensive. Won't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyLoCascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. While we’re glad you enjoyed our free shuttle to Sea World, and you appreciated the kind service of our staff, it seems that we missed the mark when it comes to some details in your guest room, and for that we are truly sorry. Your comments will be shared with our maintenance associates so that they can attend to the issues you described. We hope you will reconsider a return visit so that we may give you the stay you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my young son so we could go to Sea World. Normally the hotel is out of my budget, but I found it on a discount website for only $99 a night. The room was gorgeous and the staff was kind. The refrigerator was perfect for storing water and Gatorade so that my son could rehydrate after the long day at Sea World. They have an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, an outdoor kids' pool, and an outdoor hot tub. The pools were a bit crowded which was to be expected by the number of families staying there.

My hotel deal included complimentary breakfast. Not all do, so be careful when booking. The breakfast buffet was huge and filling.

I was very impressed with the hotel's numerous recycling bins. I try to recycle and the bins near the elevators made it easier.

My favorite part was the shuttle. The shuttle dropped us off right in front of Sea World and then picked us up. I enjoyed not worrying about traffic or paying for parking. Both shuttle drivers were extremely kind and personable.

The hotel may cost a little more, but when you subtract breakfast and parking at Sea World, it makes it comparable to other hotels. I highly recommend staying there and plan to again if we go back to Sea World.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaclyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of Holiday Inn San Antonio NW. From the free shuttle we offer to Sea World, and all of our luxurious amenities, we’re delighted to have provided such a memorable visit for you and your son. We’re glad you made use of our swimming pools, and how much you appreciated your accommodations and refrigerator. All of our staff will be happy to know how kind you found them. It was our privilege to welcome you both, and we hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Comfort Inn Near SeaWorld
Comfort Inn Near SeaWorld
#184 of 358 in San Antonio
96 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area

Address: 10135 State Highway 151, San Antonio, TX 78251-4548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £77 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn's first LEED certified 'Green' hotel! This is a unique property, utilizing the latest energy efficient technology and environmentally friendly materials available today. The property features a Grill, a sports themed facility offering all major sporting events on the 14 flat panel TVs, along with a selection of 16 different beer on tap. In addition, the hotel has three pools (one indoor, two outdoor, including a kiddie pool) and a hot tub. The guest rooms all have 32' flat panel televisions, pillow top mattresses, coffee makers, irons/boards and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio Nw - Seaworld Area Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing