We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location, but some small annoyances” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM
Ranked #113 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but some small annoyances”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

In town for a short wknd visit with some family and friends, we decided to stay near the Rim. We've seen the whole downtown river walk, Alamo experience a million times before, so stayed further out this time around.

Great shopping in the area, including the rim, with lots of restaurants and stores (target, nordstrom & saks outlets, etc). A little down the way are th shops at La Canterra, another shopping area/mall with higher end stores,and the mall usuals (macys, Dillard's, etc).

So the location is great, the breakfast was very good (m-f 6-9a & sat-sun 7-10a. Pastries, eggs, sausage, waffles, pancakes, all hot and delicious.

Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Very nice and chic lobby, pool area, and grounds in general.

The room was where the annoyances came in. Nice size, very roomy. We stayed in a king room. King bed, sofa bed, small 2 seater dining table, recliner chair, desk and chair, vanity area, closet, and separate toilet room. Even included a small kitchenette with dishes, full size fridge, cook top, sink and microwave.

Our microwave, however, didn't work. A guy came to check it out, with no luck. The staff ended up opening the vacant room next to us, so we could use its microwave, and travel back and forth. A little inconvenient, but we made it work.

Our sheets felt like cardboard. I don't know why, but our king bed flat sheet was very dry and scratchy, so we took it off.

We needed a crib for our baby, so someone came and dropped one off, in pieces in a bag. I assumed they would assemble it for us, as other hotels have, but not here. It took us a few minutes to figure it out, but got it done.

The AC is very loud. Like a vehicle is running, in the room. We tried to set it to where it wouldn't turn on/off over and over, but didn't ever get it right. We just had to listen to it chug off and on all night.

Pretty thin walls. When the guests above us flushed the toilet, we could hear a flood rushing down in our bathroom walls.

Minor things, but still pretty comfortable. I'd stay here again for the location and breakfast alone.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank no1likeval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
no1likeval,
Thank you for writing a review from your experience with us at Residence Inn San Antonio. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town visiting friends and family. It's great to hear that our location, clean accommodations, and value added amenities met your satisfaction. We sincerely apologize for any annoyances you encountered during your visit. These types of details definitely do make a trip, and we regret we missed the mark in those areas during your stay. Your feedback is important to us because it allows us to hear directly from our guests and make improvements to provide a more satisfying experience. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Troy Chontas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
62
18
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed one night here in August 2013. Have always enjoyed Residence Inn in years past but it has been a long time since we stayed in one. We love the fresh new style in our one bedroom king suite. Hotel staff were so helpful in giving us driving directions to the shopping center where we were taking cooking classes at Sur La Table.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Desertbluff,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your experience at Residence Inn San Antonio. We hope you had a wonderful time at your Sur La Table cooking classes, and we appreciate you choosing our hotel for your travels. Please plan to stay with us again the next time you visit the area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Troy Chontas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Very happy to say Residence Inn @ Rim is our favorite San Antonio hotel. We had plenty of room in our 1 bedroom king suite. Everyone enjoyed the delicious hot breakfast every morning. Our children enjoyed the basketball courts and heated swimming pool. We took short drives to Fiesta Texas, Riverwalk, Missions, shopping, and restaurants. With Super Target behind the hotel, we purchased midnight snacks easily prepared in our room.
Great stay!
Couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txlineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Txlineman,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your stay at our Residence Inn San Antonio at the RIM. We are so glad that you and your family was able to enjoy all that our hotel and local area has to offer. We look forward to having you as our guests again if you are in the area.

Thank you,
Troy Chontas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We went back to San Antonio in August for 8 days and brought our teen age daughter who wanted some space. With the one-bedroom suite she had the living area to herself with a sofabed, her own TV and near the fridge. Hot breakfast was included each day and the location is walking distance to The Rim, a retail power center, a two minute drive to Six Flags, five minutes to La Cantera Mall and 20 minutes to the Riverwalk and downtown. Less pricey than downtown hotels but still good amenities, friendly staff, and convenient to get in and out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Derek L,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Residence Inn San Antonio. It’s great to hear that our convenient location and spacious accommodations perfectly suited your family travel needs. We hope you and your family will have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Troy Chontas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great staff, very accommodating, close to the RIM Center, hotel shares a pool with the Courtyard next door. Nice clean rooms, hotel appears to be fairly new. My only compliant would be for them to monitor the pool activities. There was some kids swimming whose parants did not care to be bothered with watching them and they ran a bit wild.

Would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The 2nd and 6th floor has a washer and dryer if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drakethib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
drakethib,
We appreciate you taking a moment to write a review about your Residence Inn San Antonio experience. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our clean accommodations and friendly staff to meet your satisfaction. Your feedback is important to us so we’re happy to hear from you. Thank you once again for writing. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Troy Chontas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

There were so many ticked off people in the guest lobby when we arrived - that was our first clue to what was in store for us during this uneven stay. In short, the location is ideal near Six Flags, Santikos Palladium movie theatre, and shopping and restaurants. The lobby, fitness center, and our suite were clean and attractive. The downsides included a helpful but harried front desk staff*, delayed check-in at 5:30, a liquid spill near the lobby bathrooms from a rude housekeeping attendant, a clogged toilet, a slow-draining/no water pressure shower, and a crowded and chaotic breakfast area.

*Rooms weren't ready at 5 so we left to get dinner; a front desk clerk called and told us our room was available and I said we'd be there as soon as we were finished. She said she'd try to keep the room for us. (?) I told her we had no other reservations at any other hotels, so please keep it available so that we may check in 50 minutes later. It was ready when we got back - but the extra hassle and confusion wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
M H,
Thank you for writing. Your feedback is important to us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences imposed during your stay. These details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your visit. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and we hope you will consider staying with us again. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Troy Chontas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed one night here on the way back home from the Texas coast. What a great spot! One of my new favorites in San Antonio. Check in was a breeze. The Asst. Mgr was extremely nice, courteous, helpful. In fact all staff that I came in contact with were very friendly. It is always a nice touch when they say thanks for choosing their property and recognizing you as a rewards member. The hotel is directly adjacent to a Courtyard Marriott. In the fact the properties share a pool and you can access each lobby, bar, Starbucks 24/7. The pool, though small, is great for families and children with a walk in "beach style" entry. The entire hotel was extremely clean with contemporary décor. The manager's reception was a nice touch too. The one bedroom suite was very spacious with a nice layout---separate lavatory area and bedroom offset by a small hallway/door. The location was perfect. Right off I-10 near the shops at the Rim. Easy access to the freeway, shopping and restaurants. The location is a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of the city which was nice. Great property for business travel or families. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellogoodbye_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
hellogoodbye_7,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn San Antonio. We’re happy to have had you as our guest on your travels back home from the Texas Coast. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff, great location, as well as our clean and spacious accommodations. We value you as our guest and look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to San Antonio. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Troy Chontas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM
Northwest Side
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio At The Rim
Northwest Side
SpringHill Suites San Antonio North West at The Rim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Near La Cantera Parkway
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW near Six Flags Fiesta Texas
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM
Address: 5707 Rim Pass Road, San Antonio, TX 78257
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#90 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended hotel stays are a breeze when you have all the comforts of home at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio Six Flags® at The Rim! Enjoy custom bedding, a fully equipped kitchen featuring a full-size refrigerator, microwave and stovetop, plus a living area with flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. This San Antonio Six Flags Marriott hotel is ideally located by The Rim Shopping Center and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Other nearby attractions includes the San Antonio Riverwalk, San Antonio Zoo, SeaWorld San Antonio and the University of Texas San Antonio. Unwind in our fitness center, outdoor pool and Sport Court. Enjoy a great start to the day at our free hot breakfast buffet offering a variety of healthy and indulgent options and end your day at our evening hospitality hour Mon-Wed. Our San Antonio hotel is pet-friendly so you can keep the family together (non-refundable pet fee applies). Residence Inn San Antonio Six Flags at The Rim hotel is perfect whether you are staying one night or thirty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR at The RIM reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio 6 Flags At The Rim
Residence Inn San Antonio Six Flags At The Rim Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn San Antonio Six FlagsR At The RIM Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing