We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Eveining”

Old San Francisco Steak House
Ranked #1,469 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Northeast San Antonio
Kyle, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Eveining”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We visited this restaurant and a very great eeveing. The hot bread and swiss cheese served at the start of the eveing was great.The salads had a great presentation and were cold and crisp. The salad dressing was full of chunks of blue cheese. My wife had the whole trout which she claimed was amazing. I had the Premium 8 oz filet and it was one great steak, excellent taste and cooked to perfection. Our waitress Anastacia was very professional and friendly. The music was very nice and the girl in th swing was very good. The chef Edward came to our table to check on our food and was very firendly and caring. He suggested that we try a desert. We told him we didn't really need any. He suggested the cheesecake which he makes fresh in the resstaurant. He brought us a small sample of two kinds that were absolutely wonderful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy426669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“OMG the best in town...”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We went to this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews. This was by far the best dinner of our whole trip. The girl on the swing was tasteful and they let our kids get on the swing as well. The place was sllow, but the food was amazing. The bread and swiss cheese before dinner was great. I had the filet Oscar my husband the sirloin. The kids had pasta dishes off the adult menu even though they have a kids menu to pick from. All dinners were great and desert was excellent. We had cherries jubilee made table side. Drinks included the malbac martini. We will come back over and over. Give this place a try and don't think twice about this option. Some of the reviews say this place is dated, but I would call it classic. Perfect as can be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Very Unique Restaurant!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Old San Francisco Steak House is a unique restaurant. The decor has that "comfortable, well used" feeling, and is a bit "loud" is some areas, but it really works well, and I wouldn't change any part of it. The food is truly amazing. Each meal begins with a huge block of Swiss cheese, which is just perfect to snack on while waiting for your food. The steak I ordered was absolutely PERFECT, as was every dish I was served, and the dessert was the best creme brulee I've ever tasted. The entertainment was also unique. A jazz trio played during the meal, and a beautiful young woman, dressed as a 1900's San Francisco bar maid, got on a swing. The Old San Francisco Steak House is a remarkable experience and one that I recommend if you are ever in San Antonio.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronhansard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Although a dated decor, food was enjoyed by all”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The decor and the swinging waitress in fish-net stockings are quite dated but to my surprise the food was actually quite good and surpasses the kitschy ambience. It seems that sticking to the things they do best, namely steaks in straightforward preparations, is the best bet. My filet mignon was of good quality and cooked perfectly. The baked potato and green bean sides were good and the steakhouse wedge salad was excellent. Portions were generous and no room was left for dessert.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChinggisKhaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Food was outstanding- as great as we remembered from years ago. At our table, we had steaks and Chicken Piccata. All were wonderful and reasonably priced for all the food you get.. All entrees came with a salad and choice of 2 sides- of course all followed the wonderful cheese block first brought to the table. Can't find this deal at "big name steakhouses". The talented pianist was too loud for table conversation, but after requesting he play a little more quietly, we could talk and enjoy his music at the same time. More people need to rediscover this gem!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old San Francisco Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Old San Francisco Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing