We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area
Ranked #85 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feels like a motel”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

It's a Four Points, but worn, stained and musty. Workout room and bar were ok and the rooms were a good size. Some staff were super friendly and helpful, some were bratty and unprofessional. Location is on the edge of downtown in the dated touristy area, but you can walk to some interesting bars and restaurants within 5 to ten minutes.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank XnChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very proud of our team members that display a warm and inviting environment. That is our culture here at the Four Points. When you have an opportunity I would love to further discuss the "bratty and unprofessional" staff. Looks like a training opportunity to introduce them into our culture. You can reach me at 210-212-8701. This is my direct line. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    104
    44
    25
    12
See reviews for
98
92
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I had a great stay at the Four Points. Checkin was a breeze, my room was clean and surprisingly large (essentially a living room and a bedroom in one), and I had a fantastic stay. The hotel is only 2 blocks from the Riverwalk, which is a great way to enjoy the city without having to compete with cars on the street. The Alamo is an easy walk down the Riverwalk, and there was an excellent Belgian bistro -- La Fritte -- just a few blocks away as well. The staff was very friendly, and I greatly appreciate a 12pm checkout when traveling to a different timezone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Excellent staff!. I was in town from California to visit my daughter in college and then fly home together for the Thanksgiving Day holiday. While my daughter was in class, I kept myself busy with a short walk to the Riverwalk, Hemisfair Park, Tower of the Americas, and The Alamo! As a frequent business traveler, I would also recommend this property as there are plent of places to eat in the evenings!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antmoncayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Overall comfortable place and within easy walking distance to the Riverwalk. Karina was great as far as providing us all that we asked for and more. Would recommend for a reasonable rate near everything. Thanks!!!

T

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I and four other guests arrived at the Sheraton on a Wednesday night and were given a premium stay by the hotel staff. One staff member that stood out was Karina. She went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Gym is nice if your looking for a hotel with a good gym. Has a bench, free weights go up to 50lbs, and has multiple nice running machines.

Hotel is located very close to downtown, so walking to the river walk is easy! If you want a nice place to stay in San Antonio stay at Four Points by Sheraton.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Th1ng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

When things go wrong on a vacation, the most important thing is the help you get. This hotel knows how to respond. All staff at this hotel, from manager, front desk to, maintenance are great. They turn a problem into an adventure and the follow up was incredible.

All this in addition to the confortable rooms, convenient breakfast and the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were recently travelling around Texas for three weeks (we are from the UK) and arrived at the Four Points by Sheraton in San Antonio shattered and somwhat stressed. Karina, on reception was excellent. She said we could relax now and let them look after us and as she spoke I could physically feel myself relaxing! They looked after us very well. Nothing was too much trouble - the room was gorgeous - really clean, comfy with everything we could want. We asked for a high floor, and whereas some hotels can be unhelpful with requests, Karina ensured we had exactly what we requested. The room was bright, as well as spacious. We extended our stay for an extra night just because the hotel/people were so nice. The location is brill too; only a few blocks away from The River Walk, Hemisfair Park and all amenities. We were able to go out in the morning and return for a rest when we were exhausted, before going out again! It is certainly worth going up the Americas Tower in Hemis Fair Park to see the views over San Antonio. It is good value for money; included in the price is a 4D film giving an insight into Texas - really funny - esp when the snake "ran over our feet" and the bull spat at us - yuk!!! Also, the entry was good for the whole day so we were able to return once it was dark to see the view at night (they also let us do the film again). We loved San Antonio; although everything we saw on our travels was great, SA was probably the best, enhanced by 4 Points! It did us good to relax and recharge our batteries before continuing with our explorations and travels! We were sorry to leave - and I have to say this was the nicest hotel in the whole of our three weeks.Thanks Karina and Manager. We couldn't fault you! Hope one day we will be able to return.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be god - but the top floor had great views - esp at night with the lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#74 of 355 in San Antonio
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
The Fairmount
#194 of 355 in San Antonio
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area
Address: 524 S Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3418 (Formerly SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area has completed a multi-million dollar renovation and full upgrade of the hotel to become the newest Marriott product in Downtown San Antonio. Our great location puts you in the heart of San Antonio attractions and just steps away from the famous Riverwalk, the legendary Alamo, and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Enjoy our all-suites hotel, the very spacious king or double queen suites featuring a microwave and mini-refrigerator, wet bar, separate living room with sleeper sofa, two HDTVs in every suite, free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, beautiful outdoor pool and sundeck, complimentary breakfast bar, and evening cocktail lounge. Some of the best locally owned and popular restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. The SpringHill Suites promises greater comfort and enhanced productivity, leaving you in control of your experience at the hotel. Enjoy Marriott Rewards and a most rewarding stay in our beautiful new hotel, SpringHill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
4 Points By Sheraton San Antonio Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing