We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel has that grand feel from the minute you see it off in the distance. It is well laid out for meetings as the conference center is located all in one area. The food is excellent and made from products either produced at the resort or within close proximity. Rooms are spacious and well equiped. The spa is wonderful and includes a small dinning area. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. The infused tequilas are not to be missed.

Room Tip: If you are attending a meeting, asking for a room closer to the meeting space will be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    565
    181
    69
    54
See reviews for
927
377
31
743
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had a strawberry margarita on a Sunday evening. They used their special jalapeno infused tequila. Wow. Their chicken and waffles are a must. Huge tasty appetizer are awesome. We tried the brisket burnt ends. So good we called our friends to come over. This gorgeous location feels miles away from San Antonio. A great spot to enjoy great food.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at JW Marriott San Antonio from 10/24 through 10/27. Traveled with 2 other couples. The property and facilities were fantastic. The staff and service was excellent. Good food and drinks at the restaurant, sports bar and lobby bar. Room was adequate size and very well appointed.

The Champions tour was there playing the Canyons Course and we were able to play the Oaks. With the crowds and security the staff did a great job of getting us around and trough the tour players so we could play our round.

The "water park" and pool is amazing. Great pool side service at the infinity edge adult pool. We were able to drink poolside while overlooking the first fairway of the tournament. The ladies hung out at the pool and spa when they were not stalking Freddy Couples.

Truly a great place where they really make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room that backed up to the pool. This is one level below the lobby and requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went to attend an industry conference. Located about 30 minutes from SAT. Staff was very accommodating and willing to help with any needs we had. While I don't golf, there was plenty to do in the hotel (by the pool) as well as in the city nearby. Free laundry with a TV to watch is included.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Was here for business in September and had a great room on the main floor. Only issue was the roaches and centipedes that would greet me each morning in bathroom/hallway. I chalked it up to the location and ground floor, but I know if I had my wife with me it would not be as smoothly handled. Amenities and staff were great, food solid as well. Played both golf courses, neither of which I was hugely impressed with. The pool area was a typical , solid JW type of pool setup and area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SoCALcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently visited the JW Marriott Hill Country for the first time. Our visit coincided with a massive healthcare software conference, which was too bad, I guess. Restaurants were unavailable to those not with the conference, but the hotel offered discounts on the remaining dining options. The only restaurant remaining, however, had an awkward shift from breakfast to brunch during our Sunday visit, and the staff wasn't terribly accommodating about the whole thing. But that was our only 'issue' during the stay.

The hotel staff were generally very nice and always around to answer a question.

This is a great hotel for families, given the water park. The upside of the conference was that very few hotel guests were there to use the water park, so we kind of had it to ourselves. The waterslides were fun, the lazy river is great, and there's tons of room around the pool to spread out, etc. This is definitely the highlight of the property, though I understand that the spa is quite nice, too.

The location is a bit far out, if you're planning to spend much time in downtown San Antonio. And the drive to Seaworld is quite long, too (45 minutes). But it seemed like San Antonio is itself very spread out, so I think this comes with the territory.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slcas332
Level Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel, spa, restaurants and pool each had people that offered great service -- helpful, smiling, genuine. The food was surprisingly delish at the Cibolo Grill; the meal at 18 Oaks surpassed our expectations (and they were high). There were three of us that went in for a spa treatment -- again, not disappointed. We took some time beforehand to hang out at the spa pool and hot tub, which was nice, peaceful, uncrowded. All told a great and positive experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slcas332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing