We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year eve getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a fancy and beautiful hotel; upon arrival, valet and hotel staff awaits to welcome you. Front desk staff greets you, checks you in, hands out map of the huge resort and offers you a cookie. The room was absolutely splendid, comfortable, spacious and with a receiving living area with balcony. Thebathroom offers shower and bath tub. This resort has a spectacular sport bars and croocked branch bar is a nice place to ha g out for drinks and snacks. The Cibolo moon rest offers a great breakfast buffet. In the Lobby, you can find a Starbucks and a fabulous hotel shop that offers you everything, i mean it, everything. This hotel is definitely kid friendly and lots of activities to do. We absolutely loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,575 - 1,581 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I wanted to spend a fun New Years Eve and not worry about driving. He booked us for the JW Marriott Hill Country. We went to the spa during the day and it was very nice and relaxing. There was not much choice for dinner, but booked the Buffett. At $75 per person was a little disappointed at the food. Was a 3 out of 5. Then wanted to go and do some dancing!!! No can do!!!! There was a band with a dance floor in the lobby and it was extremely crowded and over half the individuals who were on the dance floor were 6 to 8 years old. We were there for an "adult" evening. Not to have to dodge 6 year olds while dancing. The Sports Bar was going to be adult only starting at 10:00 pm. Unfortunately, the A&M game was on and families were camped out watching the game. That was understandable, but it was around 10:30 to 11:00 pm before the DJ really got going. Again, extremely crowded but it was expected. So, what did I learn? Ask more questions about what is going on and make sure what is going on fits what you are looking for. I have attended no less than 10 to 12 New Years Eve celebrations at various hotels and have never seen one that focused so much on families with very small children. Spent about $1,000, ate a so so dinner, danced for about an hour and a half; returned home the next day wishing we had not gone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NoelMarieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed many times in San Antonio throughout the years, and always in the downtown area near the riverwalk. We opted to stay to stay at JW Marriott this time, and did enjoy. The rooms are very quiet, and for the most part we never heard our neighbors. The rooms were spacious enough, and the beds very comfortable.

We stayed 2 nights, where one of the nights was new years eve. We had made dinner reservations in advance at one of the restaurants (that had a band), but were disappointed to learn that we needed to leave our table to make room for more diners. When we made the reservation, we were told this was not the case.

We did have a balcony room on the 5th floor that looked towards downtown, and were treated to a spectacular fireworks show. We had some fireworks starting at dusk, but come midnight, I think we saw all the fireworks that were being set off. It was an incredible show that we will never forget.

We are planning a return trip, but next time in warmer weather. We want to try out the mini-Schliterbaun water park that they have there. Though it was in use while we were there, only kids were brave enough to use in the cold weather.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lzfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My family went to Texas for Xmas holidays. We stayed at a dude ranch for 4 days and the JW Marriott for 5 days. My son travels frequently and is a Marriott Gold Club member. He said it is one of the finest properties he has stayed at in the Marriott group. My only complaint wax the beds in my room had some plastic type of cover on the mattresses. Is that a state health requirement or were they being zealous about keeping the mattresses from spills? Forgot to ask about it. My son and his wife had a beautiful suite with king size bed and they said it was very comfortable. The Cielo Moon restaurant was reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. I could feed the family of five for about the same price as at a Darden chain restaurant. I didn't eat anywhere else on site. The gym is top notch. The spa was excellent. My doctor had recommended if possible to try the spa "breathing room" that some of the Marriott resorts have. I forgot the name they actually give it. She said she could tell a difference in breathing after sauna and 1/2 in that room when she was at a Marriott Resort in Arizona. The room is quiet, infused with light aroma of eucalyptus and maybe something else. I did some research after the trip and decided to buy a diffuser and eucalyptus essential oil for my bedroom. They sell similar items at the hotel, but I didn't want to try packing in my suitcase. The hotel has a naturally heated pool area that was great when air temp was 70ish, but only suitable for polar bears when outdoor temp is below 70. My grandson loved it. Would I stay again? Absolutely yes. It is a 25 minute drive to downtown, but after seeing the large number of panhandlers, the tourist trap junk shops, downtown, I was very happy to be out north.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My family, along with 4 other neighborhood families, were just at this property for New Years Eve, and I just want to take a minute to say what a wonderful time we all had. From the moment we arrived on Monday until the moment we checked out on New Year's Day with the complimentary cookies, the professionalism and graciousness was non-stop. We had kids with us whose ages ranged from 6-19, and they all had a great time. That's a difficult feat to accomplish; one we could not have accomplished at home! In addition, all of the adults were totally entertained, whether it was from watching the Aggie game in the sports bar or from dancing with the band in the lobby. Some of the kids enjoyed the pool slides while others of us took in the beautiful sights of the golf course or the tranquility of the spa.

On a separate note, my husband and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet, every bit worth the $22, and were impressed by the room service when they agreed to serve us even though it was 8 minutes until they closed on New Year's Eve. They said it would take 75 minutes, but it was more like 45. Whew!

We are never let down when we stay at this beautiful property, so I thought it was time I make the effort to say what an outstanding staff and facility this property has. Thank you, JW Marriott, for helping us end 2013 and begin 2014 on a spectacular note!

Room Tip: If you can get one of the rooms that opens to the pool on the bottom floor, it is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelspoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went back to the JW for New Years because past experiences have been wonderful, but new years was poorly planned the resort. Way too many people for the staff, restaurants/bars to accommodate appropriately. The wait for any dinner/ table in High Velocity was 3 hours minimum, which should have been avoided with some New Years party planning. We booked our room a month ago & called, emailed, called & called & called to try to get info & reservations for any new years events, to which we were told there are no events. So our entire 7 person party ended up waiting & waiting & waiting for a table at High Velocity- eventually spending most of New Years in the room. Disappointed- wish we would have chosen a different resort for New Years celebration.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephloveswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

WE stayed from December 30-January 1st to ring in the New Year. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and clean and we enjoyed the nicely manicured grounds of the facility. The only negatives are that the hostess for one of our dinner meals in Cibolo Moon was less than welcoming, she almost ruined it for us, but our waiter made things better for us. During one of our breakfast meals, Cameron was awesome! Also, the mattresses seem to be very cheap for such a nice hotel; the JW Marriott Ihilani in Hawaii has the best mattresses! Another drawback is the last of adequate handicap parking spots, very limited...............this NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED! Overall, nice stay and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownsteadRealEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,238 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
4,026 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
3,572 reviews
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#38 of 357 in San Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £129 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing