We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big hotel with a friendly feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
850 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“A big hotel with a friendly feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

You're going to get lost here, until you find the shortcuts to your room. But you have to like experience. As big as it is, it's as friendly and welcoming as a small boutique hotel. Rooms were spotless and big and well appointed. This place has everything you will need for your stay. I'm here on business, but with the golf course and pools, will return for a family visit some day. Plenty of food choices and bars, and most of what I ate was very good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CliveWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    559
    177
    65
    54
See reviews for
914
372
29
730
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

WOW! We almost NEVER stay in luxury family resorts because we enjoy "off the beaten path" local travel so much, but after a truly hellish experience at a so-called "Dude Ranch" (Rancho Cortez) in Bandera, Texas, I took my child to JW for a few days based on another Rancho Cortez guest recommendation.
EVERY single employee of this particular Marriot treated us like we were the 2 most important people in the world. And, despite the fact that the resort is huge (over 1,000 guest rooms) my child and I were remembered in every restaurant, play area, lobby, etc...BY NAME!
Though we had been at Rancho Cortez for 4 days and the place is tiny, the owner, Larry Cortez, couldn't remember our names.
The water slides and lazy river were so much fun. The family pool was clean and warm. The adults only pool and hot tub was right next to the kids area so parents could keep an eye on their brood, but if adults want peace and quiet, the pool and hot tub at the resort's spa was truly AMAZING. I spent 8 hrs there one day when I hired a sitter to watch my child at the water park area. BEST 8 hrs ever. I just swam and swam and swam and enjoyed the quiet and the relaxation.
Food at Cibalo Moon, outstanding. Grilled red fish. YUM. Buffet breakfast delicious and abundant. I had smoked salmon every morning.
Our "standard" room -- not very expensive at all -- big. king bed, sofa, chair and ottoman (really our own living room) bathroom also large and so well appointed. My 8 yr old was so happy to take a soaking tub after 4 days of sponge baths only (our tub/shower combo at Rancho Cortez didn't drain.)
I could really go on forever about the joys of this resort so I won't bore you, but if you are looking for fun filled days with your children with great rooms, food and staff --- this JW is for you.
I can't believe I'm saying this after our disaster at Rancho Cortez, but just this resort makes me want to plan another trip to Texas!! (San Antonio, by the way) is an EXCELLENT city. So much to see and do....FIESTA (a special week long celebration throughout the entire city) is incredible.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Depends on what you enjoy. We had a room overlooking the bicycle/walking trails. Very pretty. Other...
See more room tips
Green Features: BEST I HAVE EVER SEEN! ASK AT CONCIERGE!!!!!! Recycling, hybrid car discounts, wind power, much much more.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family and I stayed 3 nights at JW Marriott in San Antonio, and we enjoyed every second. The food was wonderful, the staff was very pleasant, the activities were just a blast. I even made an effort to let the top managers know how much we appreciated their hospitality. My son and daughter really enjoyed the water park, and my wife and I enjoyed the view of the golf course from the adult pool. I will truly recommend this resort to all my friend and any one that reads this review. We will be back soon. This may be a two times a year mini vacation. Thank you to all at JW Marriott San Antonio resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stingray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

when you approach the Hotel, it is big big, 1002 rooms, i thought this was not going to be all right for the service, but i was wrong, everything was perfect, the service, the hotel, the rooms, the restaurants, it is ideal for families, or for resting after having a rough day shopping, all the staff is ready to help you in everything, even the hotel is so big you have everything close, if you like to take a walk, it has a path where you can enjoy it.
the restaurants are very good in food and service, Velocity sport bar has a very fun atmosphere and very good food, and breakfast at cibole moon is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfl0res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great place to stay and play. Golf at the TPC courses was some of the best available. Both courses immaculate. Friendly and professional staff.Would recommend for anyone who wants to play golf at premier courses.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was a little concerned when I first approached the hotel by it,s size, around a 1000 Rooms so I thought the service might not be very good. I was proved wrong, staff were only too helpful to assist both upon arrival and in the Restaurants.
Rooms were good, but I wonder why have a Fridge but nothing inside! There were no glasses, wine or water glasses until I specially requested them which is a bit unusual for a 5 star hotel.
There was only one Bathrobe until I again requested that they send up another one.
Breakfast was a Buffet arrangement and I would say adequate but nothing special.
The Bar was noisy and service increadibly slow and as part of the special Hotel Package 2 Free drinks were offered, I ordered 2 Gin and Tonics one a Beefeater the other a Bombay Saphire and when I came to pay the bill, or should I say pass over the two vouchers they informed me that the Bombay Saphire was not included in the Free Drinks promotion! I pointed out that no mention of this was made on the Voucher....not very efficient of the Management.
We ate in two restaurants CIB Moon Restaurant which was good, I can highly recommend the Sirloin Steaks and for Children the Hamburgers seemed to suffice. The waiter a chap called Hose was excellent (previously with the Penninsula New York) and really looked after our party of eight brilliantly.
Turning to the Golf Courses they were superb and staff excellent and Greens in perfect condition.
In the evening we sampled dinner in the Oaks Restaurant where the service and Cuisine was outstanding, I can highly recommend the Venison!
The Swimming Pool was fine for Children, but trying to find a chair was virtually impossible and the Pool Food disappointing unless you are a Child and like Hamburgers!
A good Hotel, but if I had to be critical it lacked a personal service and really catered for Families who don't mind a few thousand people around you !

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Golf Course preferably on the 8th Floor. If you have Children one of the Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is HUUUGE and beautiful. We stayed on Easter weekend. There was plenty of acitivities for the kiddos. The waterpark is pretty great. There is an area for 2-7 yr olds with water slides, and water from very shallow to thigh high on an adult. They have 2 big slides for the older kids, and a lazy river pool. There is also an adults only pool that is heated when it is chilly out. Since it was Easter weekend, it was VERY busy, and kinda loud. What we would expect from a kids waterpark experience. We would NOT have liked this if we were a couple traveling alone looking for a romantic experience. My kids loved it. They are 3 and 5.

The room was nice, the bathroom area was very accomodating, bath and shower were separate. I was able to shower while watching my kiddos soak in the tub. Very convenient. The king bed was fabulous. The sheets are super soft and the bed is soft with a bit of firmness. My husband didn't like it because he likes a very firm bed, but I loved it. My kiddos slept on the roll out sofa bed. I laid on it, and it was awful, but I didn't think the kids would mind. My 5 yr old son got in and was like, "this is an awful bed, I'm sleeping with you!", my 3 year old daughter didn't mind it. Maybe next time we'll do the 2 full beds.

The room was VERY pricey. On checkout, they thanked us for our stay and gave us a coupon for a discounted stay for the next time we stayed......it was what we had paid through Priceline! Go through Priceline to get a better deal. Even though we got a $269 rate, after resort fees, county fees, wifi fees, so and so on it still ended up $330/night. A bit much. Especially if it's a resort, why charge so much for wifi?

Still the resort is gorgeous, our view of the hill country was very relaxing. We ate out both nights, Alcoholic drinks are $15 and up, children's breakfasts, and lunches are $20 minimum.

Overall, glad we stayed there, but don't think we will be going back. If you like more of a boutique hotel experience, this is not the place.

Room Tip: Try to get view of the hill country, very relaxing. A view of the pool can get loud, since there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcindy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing