We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights, attending a conference in April 2014.
Was pleasantly surprised by the smiling and accomodating staff at front desk, who kindly offered me a room with a balcony without any extra payment. The resort in itself is huge, with a great water park perfect for kids, a beautiful recreation area and basically any service you would be looking for.
My room was perfectly clean, large, well furbished with a great view over the pools.
So, why not 5*? Price first, quite high; price second, as everything immediately translates into an additional cost, whether it be the 'resort fee', the access to the spa area (excluding treatments), or simply the constant 'tip-awaiting' mindset (without tip forget about sitting by the window for breakfast even though all seats are empty!); eventually, the food, rather mediocre.
Finally, the location is quite remote from anything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank todebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    565
    180
    69
    54
See reviews for
926
377
31
743
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had a high school girlfriend invite me to stay with her as she attended here for a conference. She flew in from Chicago and I drove in from Houston. I really enjoyed my stay. Their customer service is fantastic. The pool, AMAZING! I would highly recommend this place if you can afford the prices. I was treated so I am very grateful I had an opportunity to stay here.

Room Tip: Get a top floor with a view. I would try breakfast somewhere else. A bit high and the food was okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wanted to get away for a long weekend of relaxation. Wonderful hotel. great views. great pool and lazy river for tubing. Friendly, helpful staff and very good service. Meals a little expensive but they put on a lot of grub.

Recommend for kids also.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalemal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place can still work on the service given at the High Velocity Restaurant.This is the only spot where we have experienced horrible service. With as pricey as this place is, I would expect St Regis service though out. The resort is absolutely beautiful, what you would expect from a resort that is developed in our beautiful Texas Hill Country. and that's why I give it a 4 star rating.Unique.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeisBeautiful1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went with my family, and it was such a great environment. The staff was very accommodating, and pleasant. The rooms were very clean. Nothing too fancy, but very nice. My only thing would be to add an adult latch on the patio doors for such a family friendly place. Also, I think that breakfast should be served menu style later on Sundays. I think we went at 12, and could only get it Buffet style. Other than that, I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel/resort with great accommodation... gorgeous setting in the green and lashes hills but the establishment has a very poor employees attitude. The employees have a notion and expectation that the guest have to please them and adore their existence. no sense of responsibility whatsoever. I have been in many Marriott and had a lot better service and kindness from a very inexpensive hotel than this J W Marriott location.
few years back spent time at the Marriott down town San Antonio and had much better service and much better accommodation than this place.

Room Tip: Try other Marriott's in the San Antonio Area much better service and better access to many thing...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not at all! you get good golf course setting and a good place to jog in the morning but that's it.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, Manager at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good evening Robert D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am terribly disappointed and I apologize that we did not meet your service expectations. It is our goal to provide a best in class service experience and we clearly did not do that in your case. We will certainly use this information in our training efforts.

We take service delivery very serious and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you in the future and leave you with a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

They have so much to do here! We stayed here for one night around Thanksgiving and there was sooo much to do. This resort is really geared towards being able to do things with your kids. They had a light show in the evening and tons of different activities during the day: Santa's workshop where you could write a letter to Santa, pony rides, rubber ducky race in the lazy river and more. Will definitely make it back this summer and probably again next winter as well for the kiddos.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing