We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
seven valleys, pa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will return for sure”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I've stayed in San Antonio several times, but never in the Hill Country. We usually travel with the children and stay closer to the River Walk area. I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this resort. Though it was HUGE (other reviewers are not exaggerating when they say it rivals the size of a Vegas casino hotel). In fact, one of the only negatives comments I would have is that it is a bit difficult to find your way around the first few times.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony with chairs. I would have liked a coffee maker in the room, but there is a Starbucks close to the lobby.

We played the golf course twice. It was in amazing shape (one week after the Vallero Texas Open). Definitely a VERY challenging course unless you are a seriously good golfer.

All of the staff we encountered were very helpful and polite.

While there we dined at the Cibolo Moon, Crooked Branch, 18 Oaks and High Velocity (and of course Starbucks). The service was excellent at all. We enjoyed Cibolo Moon the most as it had a much better selection. 18 Oaks (in the same building at the golf club house) was more upscale. The food was outstanding, but the selection is pretty limited if your are not a huge steak eater. High Velocity is your typical bar fare, but it is worth going there just to see the sports bar. I would love to be there during football season! Crooked Branch is better for just VERY limited (I think maybe even pre-made?) snacks. The drink selection and service is pretty good though and the atmosphere is nice.

Sadly, it was too cold for the pool, but I would love to come back another time with the children. They would love the lazy river and slides for sure.

The gym was very hot, but had a great selection of equipment. The exterior walls are all windows facing to a part of the garden area so it's nice to see out while you are working out. Their machines all have their own TVs and they offer complimentary headphones if you forget yours.

I absolutely loved the outdoor fireplaces and seating. It was so relaxing to have a drink by the fire in the evening. I also loved that the hotel was not so uptight as to make you put your drink in a plastic cup outside. (it's the little things in life - but who wants to drink wine out of a plastic cup)

The gift shops on site offer a really good selection. There is even a small golf apparel shop if you didn't have time to hit the pro shop.

Honestly, if you are looking for a place where you never have to leave the property - this is a place to consider. However, if you do, there is plenty near by to do and the city is very easy to get around.

Room Tip: Depends on what you like. Hill country views, pool views. We had a view of the front garden area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    588
    191
    71
    54
See reviews for
967
385
32
756
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

So we decided to go on a little mini weekend vacation getaway, it was all that and more. Beginning with with Justice on initial phone call to Valets Michael and Diego, and everyone in between. The service was superb. Joan at concierge desk made our stay really sweet with valet parking. Definitely worth it! We watched NBA playoff game at the High Velocity bar and enjoyed a delicious dinner Saturday night. The Hotel was clean and grand! Our second day we enjoyed the outdoor water activities and also managed a really fun workout as well. Early check in/out (thanks Randy Sinclair!) made our stay seem longer than a weekend getaway! We will definitely be back!!
Todd W. also took time to ask if I needed anything as I was viewing digital map in the lobby. Flawless stay with genuinely friendly people!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I went with another couple for a weekend golf/spa getaway. Golf was excellent and so was the spa and food. We are all in our upper 20's and don't have kids, but still enjoyed going on the lazy river and going down the slides. We all planning on coming back in the future w/ or without children. They also have an adults pool overlooking the golf course w/ excellent service. The bartender def. never left my cup empty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natbrat185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our second stay here. The first did not good well so we tried it again. You need to go during the off season or the lines are too long everywhere. The problem with this resort is that it seems that they do not read the comments for the type of room you want when you make the reservations. I like children but do not want to hear their screams at the pool. The sports bar is great fun and food as are the infused drinks at the other bar. Dinner gets busy so go early or late. And the evenings are quiet outside looking at the stars. The JW needs to have more things for teens to do and free bikes would be nice as the price of a room is costly. Overall a nice resort in a quiet area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the convention side are quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmentally friendly practices are nice and need in San Antonio.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennismom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel has something for every one. Prompt and efficient service begins on your arrival and ends only when you leave. The staff is friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The hotel has a wide variety of places to eat from a Starbucks offering snacks to bar food to mid range restaurant (Cibolo Moon) to a high end restaurant at the clubhouse (18 Oaks). One of the specialty drinks is a strawberry habanero margarita. It is a bit pricey ($12) but worth buying one and passing it around. The food is tasty, plentiful, and well prepared using local sources where possible. The steaks at the club house are expensive (generally over $40.00) and although they are good, not worth the premium price. The rooms are comfortable, well maintained and well provisioned. It has a TPC championship golf course for those interested as well as tennis, and 8 acre water park. While the resort is away from San Antonio proper, it only takes 30-40 minutes to drive to the River walk and other areas of down town

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the elevators and ice machines. There are a lot of conventions and...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel strives to adhere to environmentally friendly practices through out the facility
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My daughter and I were able to stay at the resort while my husband attended a conference there. The staff was so helpful, and I do not feel like they were looking for a tip at every moment like others have expressed. The only bad service we had was in the Sports Bar, so we didn't go back there to eat. Cibolo Moon was a great restaurant for lunch and dinner (we didn't have breakfast there). Our server Joshua was amazing at lunch, and even sent a wonderful treat to our room for us!! The pools was great we had lunch by the pool and even though you pay a little bit more, the service and attention we received were well worth the cost. The spa was amazing, one of the best I've been to. We spent the whole day at the spa, enjoyed wonderful treatments, lunch, and service by the pool. This resort is great for families and couples, we had friends who played golf and loved it. I would recommend this resort for a wonderful relaxing vacation!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I took my daughter and granddaughters for the weekend, to celebrate my daughter's 40th birthday. We had considered different ideas on where to go. We definitely wanted to be in the water. With us girls ranging in age from 60 to 6, the J.W. Marriott resort was perfect. We spent most of the time in the pool, riding the lazy river, having fun spending quality time together. There are water slides (yes, even one for grandma) and one a little more adventurous that I could have handled 10 years ago, yet was perfect for the daughter and granddaughters. Of course, the food at the pool is expensive, $14 for a cheeseburger, but it's about a pound of hamburger meat (2 patties), which filled me up for the rest of the day, and into the night. They have a smaller burger for the children, which I wish I would have ordered. The dinner buffet is okay, but the chicken fried steak is the best! Sunday breakfast buffet was good, lots of food, but nothing spectacular. Would like to see a true Sunday buffet that would include a carving station, lunch and breakfast items.

I would highly recommend, if you have any health issues that limit your mobility, you request a room close to the lobby elevators, as it's a good distance from one end to the other.

It's truly beautiful, luxurious, and fun. There are activities for children that are free, and some that are extra cost. They'll give you a list of all activities when you check in to the resort.

If you like to snack, make sure to stop at a store before you get out there (it's pretty far out of town to make a quick run in for chips and dips) There is a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Any health issues that would limit your mobility, request a room close to the lobby elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,173 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing