We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great JW resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great JW resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

About 20min from the airport. The resort is very big and well laid out. Very attentive to travelers needs. Kids water park and a golf course. What more could you ask for. Very good for business travelers and the conference rooms are easy to find. Far from Riverwalk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocdolphingrayneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    559
    177
    65
    54
See reviews for
914
372
29
730
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spokane
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Set in the beautiful hill country about 15 minutes north of the airport, this is a very upscale family resort. Features a huge water park with pipeline slides, a long lazy river and several pools. Overlooks nice golf course. Many kid-oriented activities are planned daily by resort personnel. Excellent location for business meetings too. Rooms are large with comfortable beds - although the sofa beds are poor. Not inexpensive but worth the expense. Please note that downtown San Antonio is about a 30 minute drive. Austin is an hour north.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We tend to seek out JW Marriott properties for Spring Break because they have a great atmosphere for adults and children. We took our 3 girls (8, 3, 2) for 5 nights at the end of March to this San Antonio property and were not disappointed. We upgraded our room upon arrival to one with a larger balcony so that we could sit out there while our children napped in the room. It worked out perfectly. We didn't want to shell out the extra $300 a night for a suite and that solution worked out well for us. There are several great places to eat on property including Cibolo Moon for some of the best waffles I have ever had! The all you can eat breakfast there is a bit pricey (even though kids eat free), so we ate there three mornings and just grabbed something quick the rest of the days. 18 Oaks steakhouse is amazing (separate review) for a date night! If you can get there, please do! You will come out lighter in the pockets but it was absolutely worth every penny! The property is gorgeous (they were in the process of planning all the flowers during our trip), with lots of paths to stroll around and take it all in. My kids favorite place was the game room. We were there apparently during a crazy weather spell for them and some of the days were rainy and cool and we weren't able to use the pools. The lazy river was great and the waterslides were lots of fun even for us adults. The only complaint I had is that we didn't realize that we were booked there during the Valero Texas Open PGA Tour. We booked months in advance and it didn't show up on their website until a couple weeks before our arrival. Although it was nice to see some pro golfers hanging around (we had dinner at 18 Oaks next to Ernie Els), it proved to be problematic when our sitter was trying to get onto the property. There was a whole big thing with security on a few of the days that we thought was over the top, but I suppose they have to protect the golfers from stalkers and groupies as well. Overall I would definitely stay there again.
P.S. The popcorn on the menu at the lobby bar downstairs is to die for! It is fresh popped with chopped up bacon and candied pecans. I'm sure I had one order every day..

Room Tip: If you are with kids the rooms on the pool side are great. Easy access to the pool from there since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1OffTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a beautiful Marriott property! With spectacular pools. I was here for a conference but felt the resort did just an amazing job. The rooms were very nicely presented and good in size. The hotel itself is very spacious and welcoming. All of the food was excellent and the recreation was fantastic as well. It is a little far from downtown - but that was perfectly OK by me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLovesMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May of 2014 when she ran in a women's sprint triathlon being hosted at the resort. We had a very nice time and were impressed with the resort. The hotel and grounds are very well done and maintained. Our room was comfortable. Plenty of food options, and the food was very good, but be prepared to wait on busy weekends. The weekend we visited the hotel was at max capacity and you could tell - there were people (and kids) everywhere. Fortunately they have an adults-only pool where we spent most of our time.
We were a bit disappointed by the sound-proofing in the rooms. At night it was very easy to hear activity out in the hallway, slamming doors, even voices (and crying babies) faintly through the air vents. This issue could be mitigated if they had louder fans in the room AC.
Overall this is a great spot for a weekend getaway. However, families will probably appreciate it more than couples who are looking to get away from kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quiet portion of the hotel, the sound-proofing in our room was sub-par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SixOneZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Even without kids, this place was the bomb! Pure luxury all the way! Rooms are pricey but it is worth it. The spa is great. We had a couples massage. The Tranquility pool by the spa is also good for some quiet time. The water park was fabulous...even for kidless adults! Just needed a swim-up bar in the lazy river...although I'm sure that would cause congestion!!

Room Tip: Definitely get the view over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed two days at the resort. It was a great experience. I arrived in a motorcycle after a three hour ride so i "looked a little rought". Inital greeter was a little hesitant to welcome, but besides that it all went great. The Cibolo Moon Restaurant food was exquisite. Wine selections awesome! Location is great! Atmosphere was superb! Pool area was lots of fun and had a great bar service. The golf course is prime! Planning to go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obakeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing