We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful resort set in the hill country just far enough away from it all. Everything at this resort is done perfectly. From the minute you step on the resort, everyone greets you and asks if there is anything you need.

I've stayed here a few times for business during October but never during the summer. For business this is a great conference center (good food, snacks, etc.) with a great bar and pool.

Once summer hits this is a family resort. My wife and I took our 18 month old and she had a blast. Almost everyone there is with their kids so summer might not be the best time for a romantic getaway. They do offer a 6-10PM kid camp (for a charge) so the parents can get a nice dinner. The pool is huge with a kids splash area and water slides but it does get busy so getting a spot at the pool early is suggested

We ate at the Cibolo Moon restaurant most of the time (breakfast/dinner) and they had a great buffet. If you didn't want buffet they had a menu with some delicious offerings. For lunch we usually ordered food by the pool or hit room service for a break. At night you could watch a movie by the pool (kid movies like Frozen, Monsters Univ.), making s'mores, or lounging by one of the many fireplaces listening to the live music. On Friday they even had stargazing with telescopes set out on the golf course by the pool.

Overall this is a wonderful resort for families, romance, or business. Everything is over the top and made to spoil you. We had a wonderful time and plan to come back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClintonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The grounds surrounding this hotel are gorgeous and I loved the layout of lawn game areas for the kids. Rooms are very nice and we had a full balcony to enjoy the scenery. The water park area was very fun and even with all the people at the hotel never seemed too crowded. Great selection of restaurants to pick from.
I enjoyed being just 20 minutes from the riverwalk area of San Antonio.

Room Tip: It's a long walk to the conference center so if that is a concern, request one closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0niL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just returned from this hotel. Yes, it is a very nice hotel. However, it is a manipulative, money trap. Think you can self-park, think again! There is a HUGE parking garage for valet parking, and only a few spots for self parking with tow away zones everywhere else. Yes, they do call and tow folks! That's a fun way to spend your vacation, bailing out your car!

Think activities are free, think again! The only thing free is a 10 year old child's movie in the evening.

Think you'll have a relaxing trip, think again! It's packed with people and huge lines. If you are prepared to be just another open wallet with the patience of a Saint, go for it. If you want a relaxing break, keep looking!!!

It's a real let down Marriott! We have experienced SO much better through thus chain. People know when they're being taken advantage of!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 1runner2mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

About 20min from the airport. The resort is very big and well laid out. Very attentive to travelers needs. Kids water park and a golf course. What more could you ask for. Very good for business travelers and the conference rooms are easy to find. Far from Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocdolphingrayneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Set in the beautiful hill country about 15 minutes north of the airport, this is a very upscale family resort. Features a huge water park with pipeline slides, a long lazy river and several pools. Overlooks nice golf course. Many kid-oriented activities are planned daily by resort personnel. Excellent location for business meetings too. Rooms are large with comfortable beds - although the sofa beds are poor. Not inexpensive but worth the expense. Please note that downtown San Antonio is about a 30 minute drive. Austin is an hour north.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We tend to seek out JW Marriott properties for Spring Break because they have a great atmosphere for adults and children. We took our 3 girls (8, 3, 2) for 5 nights at the end of March to this San Antonio property and were not disappointed. We upgraded our room upon arrival to one with a larger balcony so that we could sit out there while our children napped in the room. It worked out perfectly. We didn't want to shell out the extra $300 a night for a suite and that solution worked out well for us. There are several great places to eat on property including Cibolo Moon for some of the best waffles I have ever had! The all you can eat breakfast there is a bit pricey (even though kids eat free), so we ate there three mornings and just grabbed something quick the rest of the days. 18 Oaks steakhouse is amazing (separate review) for a date night! If you can get there, please do! You will come out lighter in the pockets but it was absolutely worth every penny! The property is gorgeous (they were in the process of planning all the flowers during our trip), with lots of paths to stroll around and take it all in. My kids favorite place was the game room. We were there apparently during a crazy weather spell for them and some of the days were rainy and cool and we weren't able to use the pools. The lazy river was great and the waterslides were lots of fun even for us adults. The only complaint I had is that we didn't realize that we were booked there during the Valero Texas Open PGA Tour. We booked months in advance and it didn't show up on their website until a couple weeks before our arrival. Although it was nice to see some pro golfers hanging around (we had dinner at 18 Oaks next to Ernie Els), it proved to be problematic when our sitter was trying to get onto the property. There was a whole big thing with security on a few of the days that we thought was over the top, but I suppose they have to protect the golfers from stalkers and groupies as well. Overall I would definitely stay there again.
P.S. The popcorn on the menu at the lobby bar downstairs is to die for! It is fresh popped with chopped up bacon and candied pecans. I'm sure I had one order every day..

Room Tip: If you are with kids the rooms on the pool side are great. Easy access to the pool from there since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1OffTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a beautiful Marriott property! With spectacular pools. I was here for a conference but felt the resort did just an amazing job. The rooms were very nicely presented and good in size. The hotel itself is very spacious and welcoming. All of the food was excellent and the recreation was fantastic as well. It is a little far from downtown - but that was perfectly OK by me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaLovesMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,232 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,016 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
3,562 reviews
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#37 of 357 in San Antonio
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £131 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing