We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We had a fabulous and relaxing weekend. The service was impeccable. The food was scrumptious and the grounds impressive. We really enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely return in the future.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

My family of four had a great time on a return visit here. The resort has plenty of activities to keep everyone satisfied. We had a relaxing time by the pool, lazy river and water slides. We also visited the driving range. Lots of restaurant options. The portions are huge and the food is tasty. The staff is friendly. We plan to return.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the spa and golf club were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReadyForVacationNow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were at this resort for a conference and although it is isolated and restricting if you don't have a car.We thoroughly enjoyed our six day stay.The room was furnished, with a Texas theme and presented well with amenities in the bathroom and coffee/tea making area.We could not fault our King Room on the 7th floor. The lobby area has an abundance of seating and the Victory sports bar has the most unbelievable size TV screen to appease any sports mad fan.We didn't use the lazy river water slide area ,however the families using the facilities were having a great time.The staff were friendly and customer service was exceptional.Perhaps the Spa was a bit pricey, however for $30 per day you could use the steam room ,sauna , hot tub and private pool for some indulgence especially if your spouse wants to play a round of golf and that's not your passion.We had a special room rate for our stay which made it affordable , but for a special occasion the JWMarriott makes a wonderful destination for an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors for views of the golf course or water slides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel, with beautiful views and an outstanding water park. My kids (5 & 11) had so much fun, the kids area was great for the little one with two great slides and lots of splashing. The big slides were a big hit with the older one and soon my youngest joined him. The park does not provide that many lifeguards and the safety was a little loose as many kids that didn't quite meet the height requirement were allowed to ride the slides. Some slides had only one attendant and that was concerning. Other than that the "park" was kept super clean, the bathrooms were always well kept and the food service was quick, not crazy expensive and very good.

Our room was on the firts floor and that provided extra room and a fabulous view. The bathroom was big enough for the four of us, with plenty of towels and the beds were comfortable.

We really enjoyed dinning at all the restaurants in the hotel. The food was really good, outstanding, a first for us at any hotel! The kids menu at the Cibolo Moon was a mother's dream, plenty of choices paired with organic sides, like veggies and fruits. Every entree was really enjoyed by our kids and the staff was very nice and accommodating. I had the enchiladas stack and it was soo good, fresh and authentic that I had it again for dinner!

The breakfast menu had THE BEST huevos rancheros I had have in my entire life. Amazing!!! My husband had the chilaquiles and they were really flavorful too. Many of the items on the breakfast buffet, were organic & natural, that was spectacular! For us a big part of an enjoyable vacation has to be good food and everything we had at the restaurants and at the pool was really good.

We went for s'mores two nights in a row and my kids loved it, then we sat and enjoyed the great views of the golf course, you really feel like you are in the middle of nowhere! In a very good way!

A few other things, there is a Starbucks in the hotel lobby you don't feel like sitting down for breakfast. Also, if you forget something there is a Target about 5 minutes away!

Every single person of the hotel staff was very nice and made our stay very enjoyable. We will make this a yearly thing. Absolutely loved every minute of it!!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Antonella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This resort is the perfect family getaway, you never have to leave if you don't want to. Arriving to the hotel there were plenty of helpful bellmen (arriving at a very busy time) to help us with our bags. We opted for the self parking because we have 2 kids so you never know when you'll need to run to the car. The self parking is only 1 of my 2 semi complaints, its always packed and was hard to find a spot. Only by luck we found a spot at the very last lane and walked back up the hill to the hotel. It's the kind of thing if you left for dinner and came back late you probably won't find a spot when you come back and have to valet.
The entrance of the hotel is very grand, walking in your over looking the bar lounge area with floor to ceiling windows viewing a large patio with a waterfall and golf course.
Our room had a nice entryway with a console table that led into our room which was a good average sized room. The bathroom was a nice surprised, it was large and had a tub and standing shower. These room was clean and decorated like most Marriott's. We reserved double beds and they were Full sized not Queen, they felt so tiny but comfortable. Our standard room did come with a balcony which only allowed you to stand in, no chairs. Our room was located at the beginning of the hallway which we thought was great having to lug 2 kids and there things around everywhere. That was not the case because apparently most people don't have bed times for kids when they are on vacation. There was screaming and hollering up and down the halls past 10 o'clock which we completely heard and stirred our kids. A room at the end of the hallway might be best at this hotel where you can hear everything going on in the hallways.
If you need a crib be careful they run out even if you request it on your reservation, we had to use a pack n play the first night and it's just not as comfortable as a crib, our baby didn't sleep as well that night.
We ate at 2 of the restaurants, we found the grill to be the best. The pool and lazy river were fun but can get extremely packed on the weekends and hard to find a lounge chair. For some reason there were bees every where and found myself dodging them more often then not and found a few dead in the pool. There was lots of activities for kids 4 and up which is an additional fee.
Saturday night they had a band and a bar b que truck on the lawn which was a lot of fun. Kids were playing and running around and they were making smores and the grounds couldn't be more beautiful.
They have a pretty large store and starbucks in the hotel so you really never have to leave but we did and went to Sea World for the day which is about 30 minutes away.
We had a great experience at the hotel everyone was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hallway because kids are loud and you can hear everything that goes on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BrickerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here recently for a few night during a conference. The resort is very nice and secluded. Hard to believe you are in the outskirts of a large city while staying there.

The grounds are immaculate, from the waterfalls to the water park to the 2 18 TPC golf courses next door. Resort guests get a $79 summer rate at the TPC next door for afternoon play. A great value, clubs, cart and 18 holes. It was hot but that's what you expect in San Antonio in August. Played the Oaks course ( the one where the PGA event is played) which was the more challenging of the 2 courses. Course was great although I found the back 9 layout more to my taste and aesthetically more appealing.

Conference facilities were good, food and drink were tasty. A bit pricy on the food but that is expected at resorts. My room was large and comfortable. Bed and pillows were nice. I will definitely stay again when in San Antonio.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jerman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My son, my sister and I wanted a nice getaway not too far from home. We weren't disappointed. This resort is amazing. The staff was very friendly and all of our needs were met quickly with a smile. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The rooms were nice and clean, however the full size beds in a double are a bit too small for 2 people. We spent a majority of our time at the water park. There were hardly any lines for the water slides until Friday, when we noticed the resort feeling more crowded.

My sister and I visited the spa while my son was at kids night out. Kids night out is very costly and my son was the only one there that night. He enjoyed himself but wished other kids would have been there. The spa was lovely and we felt very relaxed and pampered.

Overall, our experience was great. The resort is very pricey so be prepared to spend a lot. I feel it was worth it because we achieved our ultimate goal of rest and fun. My only real compliant is people swimming and splashing around in the lazy river, that's what the pool is for.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ErickaPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,238 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
4,025 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
3,572 reviews
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#38 of 357 in San Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £129 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing