We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #113 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a newer marriott property and it is very very nice!! It is located downtown and about a block from the riverwalk and a short trolley ride to market square. The rooms are a bit small but that is very typical of downtown hotels. I loved the huge shower! The bathroom is very large! They also offer a pretty good breakfast. Valet parking is expensive but worth it and worth not the hassle of trying to look for a parking spot. The valet drivers are very nice and prompt. The man at the front desk in the morning shift, i think his name was David was very nice and gave me very good directions. I will stay here again next time I am in town!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stepgonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    164
    64
    17
    24
See reviews for
146
163
14
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Was at a convention in February of 2011 and was staying at the Grand Hyatt for that. Decided to stay a few extra days and picked the TownePlace Suites Downtown as the price was right. Got a top floor (6 floors I think) single room. When you walk in the door there is a nice little kitchen, followed by a living area that is right next to the bed. It's actually a little tight but then again a very good use of space. The washroom was nice but there is not tub, just a very wide shower - suited me just fine. I didn't take advantage of the fitness room but it looked nice. I did use the laundry facilities - no problem. I also used the pool, which was sort of located in courtyard / middle of the hotel. Small, and your surrounded by four tall walls - but it was still pretty good. This hotel is slightly...I mean slightly off the famous walkway (couple of minutes walk) - I'll gladly take that when this hotel is that much less expensive. I'd stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7tocs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for 9 days for a conference in August 2011. Conveniently located for downtown events, well-equipt kitchen, clean rooms and public areas, friendly and helpful staff. Remember that in some areas with large Spanish-speaking populations, e.g., San Antonio, the H for hot and C for cold settings on showers and faucets can be reversed. C is for caliente (hot) in Spanish, the case in my suite. A Marriott property.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,TX
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Everyone from the valet to the front desk was awesome! I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We loved having a kitchen for our family! Pool was great and my husband loved the work out room. Breakfast was your normal free hotel breakfast...but there were a lot of people during our stay so we ventured out the 2nd day for breakfast at Denny's. We were so happy that the hotel was walking distant to everything on the Riverwalk. We even walked to the Market.( a long walk..about seven or more blocks) but worth it to walk off all of the great food we ate. Yes there is a valet charge...but we only had to use it once..and the valet was super quick! We will stay again!

Room Tip: Great room...large in size. Loved the mini kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egyptfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I had a wonderful stay here at this hotel. The location was great and the service was excellent. I would definitely say here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolined2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel is wonderful! Stayed here for 6 nights for a little vacation with my family and the staff was great! Rooms just a little small, but not out of the ordinary for a downtown hotel.

The room had a nice kitchen which always comes in handy when you have kids. I was also impressed that there was FREE wi-fi!!

VERY clean hotel, great social hour and breakfast. Could not ask for a better value. I can not emphasize how CLEAN and nice this hotel is. Will stay again FOR SURE!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My family and I stayed in your hotel this
past weekend to attend a triathlon event and the accomodations your
hotel provided were excellent.

The hotel is convienently located downtown. Only ten minutes away from
the race site, walking distance to St. Mary's Catholic Church, and
plenty of restaurants close by to walk to.

None of these compliments include the best part of all, the price. My
family was pleased with the price and the complimentary breakfast
included. Before booking our hotel stay I called many hotels in the
downtown area and yours provided the best rate for what we needed.

The valet men were incredible. Fast, efficient and friendly, the valet
drivers took very good care of us.

Thank you and the wonderful staff for its hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superschrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing