We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel good, parking not.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #113 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel good, parking not.”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. The room was very nice, and the location was fantastic. The problem was the $23 charge per night for parking. I realize that I had to pay for parking but didn't realize that each time my car was returned to me it would be completely covered with bird droppings because it was parked out in the open somewhere. I have a new car so this was a problem for me. I would not stay here again based on this fact. Otherwise it was a good hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaryK132456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    164
    64
    17
    24
See reviews for
146
163
14
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here just before Thanksgiving 2011. The location was excellent. It was walking distance to the Riverwalk (5 minutes) as well as to the Alamo. There's no free parking which means we had to use the valet which costs around $20 per night. The suite was really nice, clean, and spacious. We had an issue with a loose shower door handle, which was fixed immediately. The breakfast was great, they had just about everything one could want for breakfast. Free wifi access as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay close to the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saadsiddiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Couldn't ask for more in terms of location - unless you want to be right on the RIverwalk but that means more $$$! Staff was terrific - we got in late and had to stay on first floor but in the end that wasn't a problem. We had asked for a corner room which meant that the sleeping area was separated from the lounging/kitchen area by a long hallway so it was almost like having a suite. Perfect for us with two teenage boys - we could have a little privacy and they were right by the frig! Amazingly wonderful showers and bathrooms. Breakfast was free but that's about all - the orange juice was watery, there was no fruit, just your standard issue boxed cereal, some yogurt etc. Like having a kitchen which was well stocked - we didn't really cook but we could have some food for the aforementioned teenagers who can quickly run up the dining out budget with their voracious appetites. Definitely would recommend this hotel if you are looking to visit San Antonio for a few days.

Room Tip: A corner room will get you a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great location... attentive management... condial help and excellent service... work out room was clean and adequate for a quick workout... internet was simple and easy access...Was in town for business and would bring my family back to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Thank you very much! We had a great stay! - The only issues we had was that the valet parking was an unexpected expense. The Marriott web site didn't say anything about that. And in both rooms we had trouble closing the dishwashers. But one of the maids showed us how by using a knife to hold back the metal piece. (We were afraid we had broken them). But the entire staff was exceptionally helpful and nice, especially the valets. They really made our trip to San Antonio go much more smoothly. A homeless gentleman had been following me for a while and one of the valets said something to him to make him leave me alone. I felt very safe at the TownePlace Suites! Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Room was nice - but be sure to ask for a room that doesn't overlook Peacock Alley. The police had to be called one night, bar patrons walked through (loudly) on other nights, and every morning around 4:30-5am a trash truck came down the alley. Loud people in the next room - people party at the Riverwalk and then bring it back to the hotels. Bed left us both with backache. Hotel was within walking distance of many of the sights including the Riverwalk, Alamo and downtown. If you have a car - it's valet parking only unless you want to use one of the local parking garages. Not the safest neighborhood at night so probably you'll want to use the valet parking. Rooms could use some soundproofing or white-noise fans.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

First and foremost, the location of this hotel is unbelievable. 2 min in one direction to the Alamo, 1 min walk to the River walk - right where the good restaurants are, 2 minute walk to Childrens museum, and 2 min to pretty much everything else. We absolutely loved it.

The hotel itself is nice; looked like ti was very recently renovated. We really enjoyed our stay. The front staff was very helpful; room cleanings were accommodated to our needs. And the Manager’s specials were the icing on the cake (Free beer, wine on Wed and Thu from 5-7)

We will 100% recommend this our friends, and personally will always stay at this location when in San Antonio.

Room Tip: 2 doubles gives you a bigger room than one king..... good with kids :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing