We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still on my mind....!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #117 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Still on my mind....!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Even though I was a hotel guest here for 3 nights two years ago, it's still on my mind! The suite was much appreciated --- spacious, clean, equipped kitchen, modern décor, etc. I have a conference in San Antonio next year and look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GumboRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your response about your stay at the Towneplace Downtown San Antonio. I am so glad to hear that although it has been a while you still remember us. Whenever travel permits I do hope you come back to stay with us. Thanks Again.

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    160
    62
    17
    23
See reviews for
144
159
13
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Every single person that worked at Towneplace Suites was amazingly helpful, from the moment we pulled up to the valet to packing up and repacking the car. We asked for blankets at 2 am and someone was at our room dropping them off in less than 5 minutes. We even got a noise complaint and even then the person that came to our door was respectful and understanding. It is surely worth the extra money to stay here. It's a block away from the Alamo and the complimentary breakfast was great! I will surely be staying there again when I travel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TenaciousShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Towneplace Suites Downtown San Antonio. It was so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back to see us real soon.

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, IA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We enjoyed our 6 day stay at TownePlace Suites. The staff was friendly, the room nicely finished, and the "continental breakfast" generous. The Manager's reception (only Wed and Thurs) had good food and free glass of wine, which we were not expecting. The staff cleaned thoroughly (we will forgive the failure to replenish the toilet paper one day). The location was great, only a couple blocks to the busiest part of the River Walk and the Alamo. The room had a small, full kitchen with dishes and silverware, and the staff ran the dishwasher daily. There are laundry facilities available. The outdoor pool is small but heated. The Children's Museum is close for those traveling with young ones. The rooms were quiet, and the bed comfortable. Our room had a nice walk in shower, no tub. We would stay again if we ever get back to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, buses pass by regularly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFromIA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
The Towneplace Suites appreciates the time spent in writing a review about your recent stay. I do hope if travel permits you come back to stay with us.

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed the first few nights at the Menger Hotel, went down to Padre Island for a few days and decided to come back to watch the Battle of the Bands on the River walk. We ended up staying at the TownePlace Suites and it was the best hotel by far. The updated amenities and the atmosphere of the hotel is a place we really enjoyed. This is by far the best price if you are planning to stay a few days. It offers a big room with a kitchenette and sleeper sofa. It feels like a studio apartment. The modern fixtures and walk in glass shower makes you feel like you are at home. The staff is professional and friendly and is ready to help you. We will definitely be staying here next time we are in San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Towneplace Suites San Antonio. We are glad you enjoyed your stay .
When traveling to San Antonio ,come back to stay with us. Thanks Again

Sincerely,

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This was my second time in a TownePlace. Very beautiful hotel. Draw back. The elevator smelled like dogs. The whole second flooring hallways smelled like a pet store. My room carpet was still wet from being shampooed. So I was given a handicapped room in the fifth floor. We where so tired from our road trip and didn't want to have to move again cuz there is no bathtub in handicap room. So we just put it aside. Front desk clerk is to busy to personable which in turn can come off rude because he's too busy for you. Takes care of business that's it. I'd rather not ask him for anything.we also got a terrible view of a back alley with ours screen off our window.. Also if you want a non pet room, you have to bounce around the hotel rooms because they are not designated to a certain floor or rooms per front desk clerk. Yuk. I dont want my room smelling like dogs or dog pee.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tampa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. I have address all of the issues you mentioned and do hope if travel permits you give us another opportunity to show you the true hospitality I know we can.

Sincerely,

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson, NE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

13 of our family members came to San Antonio for a BMT graduation for the AF, and were fortunate to stay at this hotel. It was fantastic, so accommodating, from valet to managers, the staff couldn't have been better! The next trip to San Antonio will include a stay at this hotel!!

Room Tip: Recommend the suites w/sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for staying at the Towneplace Suites Downtown San Antonio. We do appreciate your positive comments. Come back to see us real soon. !
Sincerely,
Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Have stayed here twice, good experience both times. Good value, basic hotel with excellent cleanliness and attention to detail. Nice small kitchenettes. Bare bones breakfast with horrible coffee. Clean and efficient, parking is valet only.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfoiad_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for staying at Towneplace Suites Downtown San Antonio. We appreciate the comments. I have address the breakfast and hope that you come back to see us real soon.
Sincerely
Dee Rullo Siers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing