We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in an Excellent Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #104 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Munford, Alabama
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in an Excellent Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week while on business in San Antonio. They offered free breakfast and ordervies at night. It is in a really great location. Staying here, I was just a short walk to the Riverwalk, the Alamo Plaza, good restaurants and attractions. The staff was great and the rooms were nice and clean. The one thing I didn't like about this place is the parking but being downtown, parking is always diffictult.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Towneplace Suites San Antonio. We do appreciate the time spent on your review. If travel permits I do hope your come back to see us.

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    160
    62
    16
    19
See reviews for
141
158
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a Marriott located one block from the Alamo. It close enough to all the attractions with out the price of the river walk. I will not go over the hotel, since it was great, and all the other poster have gone over this ground. I will tell you the money savings tips:

1. Parking at the hotel is 25 bucks. If you park around the corner at the open lots, it is 10 dollars. It says no in/out, although a machine gives you a ticket to display and they have no idea if you left and came back, but we literally did not need our car, which brings me to my second point....

2. Across the street from the Alamo is the information center, you can buy the city's "trolley" pass for $4/day. It is a great deal and it will gets you around to all the major sights. Those "tour" trolleys are $25/day and in my opinion, not worth it.

3. THE BEST DEAL is the happy hour in the restaurant/bar on top of the Tower of Americas. If you go, just tell them you are going for happy hour, you can bring the kids, and it is free to go up! The appetizers and drinks are good....the view is spectacular! The tower is so high, you get to see San Antonio like you are in a plane....plus it spins 360 every hour so just sit and enjoy! This is a must do once or twice while you are there! Only caveat....if you are afraid of heights....skip this;)

http://www.toweroftheamericas.com/documents/HappyHourMenu.pdf

4. Marriott website will give you lower prices if you include a non-peak day. Play around with it if you are staying for more than 2 days. Sometimes, I end up with a 2 day rez and a 1 day rez. Also, look for corporate codes...or join AAA or use your government rate to get great rates.

5. If you at all travel and stay in Marriott....join and sign up for their rewards promotions. I get several free days every year due to this.

I hope this helps......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank momdadsefi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Towneplace Suites San Antonio. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found all of the great places in our Downtown Area!!

Sincerely,
Dee Rullo Siers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It is very handy to the Alamo (3 minutes walk) and to the riverwalk. Finding it was a bit of a challenge and you have to pull up on a sidestreet. Check in was efficient and the reception staff gave me the option of valet parking or parking myself and he explained the options. When I opted for valet parking and returned to the car it had been unloaded and I was ready to go. Breakfast was very good and staff friendly and helpful.
Checkout was seamless and the car delivered on time. I will certainly stay here again if I get back to this lovely city. The maps at the front desk were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymondocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Townplace Suites San Antonio. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
If travel permits,come back to see us.

Sincerely,
Dee Rullo Siers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly valet guy lied to us u can park accroas the street for 10bucks not $25...making out that I had no good alternatives although friendly but selling it to me. Staff could be a bit more talkative and friendly but did there jobs to an ok standard.
It's now 5am I can't sleep due to a hotel that can't provide a guest with water. This is my first experience and having to wake myself up clothe and walk downstairs is unacceptable. I was planning on rating it as a 5 shame but excellent value otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meadowbank123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and I do apologize for the problem you occurred with parking. I have addressed the issue and do hope if travel permits, you will come back.

Sincerely,

Dee Rullo Siers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here only for the one night but was very happy to choose this hotel. Staff were extremely nice and very helpful. The room I had was massive and very clean. The buffet breakfast which was included in the room price was fantastic! The location was just a short walk to the Alamo and River Walk. Wish I had of stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with Towneplace Downtown San Antonio. We do appreciate the time spent. If travel permits I do hope you come back to see us. Thanks Again

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I attended my son-in-law's graduation at Lackland AFB and decided to extend our stay to five days so we could explore San Antonio. The hotel location is just a couple minutes walk to the Riverwalk or the Alamo, the rooms were beautiful, the free breakfast was delicious and plentiful ... but it was the top notch staff who made our San Antonio trip perfect! Everyone was always patient and willing to assist with directions, recommendations and guidance. We chose to utilize valet parking (optional) and the valet staff proved an amazing resource. My compliments to Drew, Ray, Alex, Rodney, Hector, Rudy and the rest of the TownePlace staff for helping make our San Antonio adventure so memorable. The suites at this location are slightly smaller than other TownePlace locations, but space is at a premium in a downtown area like San Antonio so we fully expected that before arrival. Rooms were beautifully designed, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Two comments to share. (1) There is a pool in the center atrium. If you want a room with a view, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divebuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Towneplace Suites Downtown San Antonio. We are glad we staff provided great Service! If travel permits come back to see us.

Sincerely

Dee Rullo Siers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A great location with awesome service! From the front desk, to the breakfast staff to the great valet service, we couldn't have asked for a better experience! Everyone we encountered was friendly and ready to offer assistance. We especially appreciated the valet as we had car issues that required an extra level of attention. Drew was great and an asset to the hotel staff! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner room was surprisingly spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for staying At the Towneplace Suites Downtown San Antonio . We do appreciate your time and comments. I do hope whenever in San Antonio again. You come back to to see us.
Thank you again.

Dee Rullo Siers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing