We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This is a really nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed here two nights in May, just before Memorial Weekend for a business conference. My wife tagged along to visit old friends who live in SA. The hotel itself is very nice. Top notch.

Our room was really great. Clean, comfortable, spacious. Shower has really good water pressure and the hot water is instant. Upon check-in, I uttered the same script I say at check in at every nice hotel, "can you upgrade me to a better room at no extra charge?" The front desk gal obliged and moved us to a "Riverwalk View" room, which had a small balcony and overlooked the Riverwalk below. Nice.

The happy hour and breakfast buffets were "ok". nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either (except for the birds if you sit outside), especially when it's included free in the room price.

Location is unbeatable. Walk to everything you need, including the Market, Alamo, restaurants and shopping, and of course you're right on the Riverwalk for strolling.

The Internet worked as expected but even though I selected the faster speed would not play YouTube videos without stalling. Seems like if they are going offer a "faster" internet option (for $5 more), it should be at least as fast as a typical home cable connection. That said, as a "club" member, the internet is free, which I appreciate.

My main gripe was the $27 valet parking fee. Even the nicest hotels in Austin are $20. And the self-park option, which Im normally happy to do, is in an uncovered lot in the hot sun across the street.

What would have made my rating a 5?
1) Don't gouge on the valet parking.
2) "Make the "faster" internet truly fast.
3) Do something about those birds at the outside patio. Made dining out there unpleasant and we quickly abandoned the spot as we weren't look for an Alfred Hitchcock experience.

Those are minor things, I know, so my 4 is a strong 4.

Finally, if you are not a member of Hilton Honors, join before making your reservation. That gets you the free internet, morning paper, and some other perks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silverado62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    522
    149
    66
    36
See reviews for
775
456
24
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed over the Memorial Day w/end for 3 nights with my family of 4. The whole family enjoyed staying at the hotel. I only had a few minor issues with staying there though. I marked SERVICE a 4 only because the employees bussing the tables during breakfast every morning seemed to be taking too long to clear tables so others could sit & eat. Two out of the three mornings, I cleared my own table. It was either that or wait an unacceptable time for a table to clear. Despite that, the breakfast was excellent. There was plenty & a wide variety of items to choose from. Free drinks & snacks for Happy Hour every night was a bonus. Even though the hotel was off the beaten path & away from the main Riverwalk attractions & restaurants, it didn't take long to walk there. It was nice & quiet on the Riverwalk side of the hotel. The pool was a bit on the small side along with the hot tub, but seemed to accomodate everyone just fine. However, while the kids & I were swimming during the evening, there didn't seem to be enough chairs for everyone to use. Overall, I was very happy with this hotel. I would definitely recommend staying there if visiting the area. Look for the deals! 2 Thumbs up...

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony on the side faceing the pool. Very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcdonough3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
285 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I'm tough to impress already having logged in more than a month's worth of nights in hotels but this is sure a welcome surprise. Am a devoted Hilton guest and this may be one of their better places Relatively new-17 months- its a great location, huge 2room suites (living in Manhattan I could put half my co-op in here). Breakfast was great -make sure to try their homemade spicy hot sauce. It will wake you up. For those of you who run hot, the AC here will not disappoint -you can control it but it cools great. And for light sleepers great white noise.

To the management - don't blow it. The discolored and ripped towels are a negative, and there were only 6 hangers and no safe. And only one towel bar in the bath over the electric plug wasn't optimal. So take care of your staff so the take care of the property and the guests. However, on balance the beautiful comfy rooms make me conclude -- I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was the nicest Embassy Suites we have ever stayed in. I have stayed in several other hotels on the Riverwalk and loved this one the best. Loved the location, quiet area of the Riverwalk but still within walking distance of all the sites. The breakfest and Managers Reception area is spacious. The food at the managers reception is the best I have seen at any Embassy Suites, fruit, veggies, chips, salsa, cheese, cheese cubes, refried beans and cool snacks for the kids (4 diff snacks mixes, gummy bears, skittles and mini m&ms, too bad the kids weren't with us!) The room was big, with a wonderful shower. Only thing is we wished we had asked for a room with a balcony. We did however have a rivewark view. Pool area is small but sufficient, needed more loungers though. Plenty of other seating.

Room Tip: Book a room on the high level with a riverwalk view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank witravelmom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle ,WA.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with a good location. Staff excellent rooms wonderful breakfast as good as it get. Nice job. We will be back

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank n5130xSeattle_WA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We just came back from a 5 night stay at Embassy Suites Riverwalk and truly enjoyed our experience at this hotel. It is new(1 yr), clean, well maintained, and luxurious. On the quiet area of the riverwalk, take the elevator down by Luke's restaurant to get right on the Riverwalk and avoid the streets-heavy amount of people requesting money and food. On the Riverwalk there is none of this and feels safe with heavy police presence.

Great variety at the free breakfast every morning- arrive around 8-8:30 am on the weekends to avoid the crowds so you can get a choice table. Manager's reception every evening with free drinks (the margarita's and rum punch hit the spot after a long day at Sea World) and appetizers was nice. Light snacks- cheeses, fruits, candy, chips/dips/salsa, and pasta salad, etc. There is a parking lot directly across the street for $20 a night if you do not want to pay the $27 valet parking. If you want free wi-fi service go on the Embassy Suites website and join Hilton Honors club for free- this will allow you free wi-fi ($10 a day) when you check in.

All 2 queen bed riverwalk view rooms have a balcony with a peaceful pool/riverwalk view. This is the only room guaranteed a balcony and it was so nice to be able to sit out there in the morning with coffee or at night with wine. The 3rd floor rooftop pool and hot tub where very relaxing and had great pool furniture with plush cushions and a cabana. Was surprised at the touches of luxury from the granite counters in the oversized bathroom and wet bar area with mini-fridge and microwave, to the luxury bedding and plush beds, and the beautiful oversized art work depicting watercolor scenes of the Riverwalk. The lobby has a giant water feature and is very elegant and serene. Maid service was discreet and efficient and all staff were very courteous and accomodating. Excellent stay will definitely return!

Room Tip: 2 queen riverwalk view rooms are the only rooms who definitely have a balcony. The view is wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Embassy Suites. We were particularly impressed by the quality and selection of free meals/drinks for the breakfast and evening snacks. We were traveling with teenagers so having extra food available helped offset the costs of eating out. The suite was clean and nicely furnished, the location was great (on the riverwalk), and the staff was friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing