We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid Friendly, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #14 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Apart from charging for internet access (something that is an ongoing irritant in this day and age - why not charge for TV?), this is a very good hotel in a very good location, at the end of the touristy part of the Riverwalk. Extremely kid friendly - free breakfast buffet (plus made to order omelettes), free drinks from 5:30 - 7:00 in the evening along with snacks enough for a kids meal, nice outdoor pool, etc. Had a two bedroom suite - quite acceptable. Pick the valet parking if you need in and out privileges ($27/night) - otherwise park across the street for $15. Things get pretty seedy if you head south and west from the hotel - so stay in the tourist area for safety reasons, although there are lots of police around on bikes. The Riverwalk is a delight - head away from the centre on it for a good morning walk. Lukes is the restaurant in the hotel, although it is not affiliated with it, so you can't put your meals on the hotel bill. Food was good, although a bit pricey. All in all worth checking out if you are heading to San Antonio, especially with kids.

Room Tip: Unless you are getting a room with a balcony, it isn't worth it to pay extra for the Riverwalk v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,809 - 1,815 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We love this hotel for a weekend in San Antonio. It is on the Riverwalk,so you have great access to all the wonderful restaurants on the Riverwalk. You are also only about 20 minutes from Sea World. The rooms are very spacious and beautiful. This was our second stay at this hotel, and both visits were wonderful. The wonderful breakfast buffet is included. I hope you love this hotel as much as my family does. We plan to return in August and then again in November.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaNicoleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My family and I stayed here just this past week...a few days BEFORE everyone else set out for Spring Break vacations. We absolutely loved it the few days we had the hotel basically to ourselves. Then the flood gates busted open and we stayed away until we wanted to head to the room.
Beautifully decorated, very open and airy. Our room was on the top floor (17) and we were lucky enough to get a corner suite. Views from every room! We stayed in a 2 room Queen suite, Riverview. 2 Queen beds, living area with pull out couch, kitchen/dining area, large bathroom. Balcony off the living area. Our balcony over looked the Valencia Hotel and straight down a beautiful part of Houston street. Very historic and quaint.
We usually stay at the Marriott Riverwalk and I have to say, I mentioned to my husband multiple times that we would be staying at this hotel instead.
Good value, free breakfast, nice little reception in the evening with adult beverages and snack like foods. The kids enjoyed the sweets and Shirley Temples/Roy Rogers while my husband had a Shiner.
You can't beat that for a Riverwalk hotel. The breakfast was your usual hotel fare...but they brought it up a notch with an omlet bar. And the salsa at the omlet bar....amazing. I do wish they had coffee down in the lobby throughout the day, it would have been a nice touch.
They have valet only parking...and it runs $27 but if you combine that with the free breakfast/evening reception it really makes sense. We also received free wi-fi because we are Hilton Honors members. Do not forget to let them know this....if not it's $10 a night!
This hotel is in walking distance of tons of attractions and things to do. One day, we left the car in valet all day and walked to the Alamo, Children's Museum, Buckhorn Saloon/Texas Ranger's Museum and more. Easy walk. Maybe 10 minutes to the Alamo....and we have a 6 year old who likes to look at everything along the way.
Housekeeping was on point.
The pool is heated for any spring/winter travelers. We hit the pool up in the evenings after dinner. There was always plenty of clean towels waiting there as well.
There were plenty of elevators to accomadate a large amount of people without causing a wait.
We will be back to this hotel. We loved the location and how it was a much cooler part of the Riverwalk. Very calm. But in walking distance to find anything you would need to. Beware of the food choices at night for family friendly places that are affordable though. Nothing really within walking distance that I would recommend.
We drove to a few places we really wanted to try.
All in all....great hotel for a family. Reserve your room early and pay in advance to get the best deal.

Room Tip: Corner suites for (almost) wrap around views Riverview is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlogMomTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I recently visited the Emabassy in San Antonio. We enjoyed our stay there. The free breakfast and snacks in the evening were great. The location was nice when walking to attractions. (Alamo, Mall) It is a little farther from the main restaurants of the River Walk but a nice walk. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. We had a balcony and that was nice to be able to enjoy the nice weather after coming from the cold Midwest. You can't go wrong staying at this Emabassy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Very nice hotel, we had a suite near the top, and a great view of the river (of course, some rooms face away from the river). Very clean, very well appointed. Cooked-to-order omelet along with a breakfast buffet, very nicely done. My wife and I generally skip the “free breakfast” for a real restaurant, but we were here several nights, and after trying the free breakfast one morning, that was our “go to” place.

It is not a cheap hotel (our room $230 or so per night, valet-only parking runs $27/night; internet is $10/night), but it is very nice place to stay.

We had room service for dinner two nights, and both nights it was well above average as room service tends to go: timely, hot, accurate, and the food was really quite good.

Only one complaint: the housekeeping is not up to the price of the place. I had to call to get coffee one day, the wastebaskets were not emptied, wash cloths left on the floor of the shower, used paper cups not discarded, etc. I suspect it was just the person doing our room, as everything else about the hotel was very well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, on a higher level (say, 10th floor or higher).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeldiKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We really like this hotel's location. It is almost, but not quite, right in the thick of things on the Riverwalk. That means you can easily walk along the Riverwalk to the area with lots of restaurants (and their crowds and noise) and then return to the relative quiet of the hotel. It is also very easy to drive in/out of downtown from here. The valet parking is $26/day, which was cheaper for us than the $15/day parking lot across the street because we needed to be in and out. It's a newer property and everything is still fresh. The bed was comfortable, except that the coverlet is a big, lumpy thing. I could probably have asked for a less heavy cover, but I didn't realize I wanted one until I was already in bed. I can't give the breakfast food a high rating, but it was there for the eating, and the dining area is pleasant.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies on the Riverwalk, but we did not reserve in time to get one. Like in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onecentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We travel to San Antonio 3-4 times a year and Embassy Suites Riverwalk is our favorite place to stay. Service, cleanliness and amenities at this hotel are all top notch. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Proximity to Riverwalk and downtown is a plus, parking is easy. Rooms (suites) are clean, roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Corner suites with floor-to-ceiling views are well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjsdad1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,163 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
4,026 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £116 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing