We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last Family Vacation before School Starts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Last Family Vacation before School Starts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Had a great experience at Embassy suite. We had a late arrival but we were excited to get there. The next morning had a tasty breakfast. Our car was brought to us by the always professional valet in a timely manner. When we came back we were greeted and then we went to enjoy manager special. Our kids enjoyed the mini M & M's and we enjoyed the free drinks. At check out we were able to check out with no problems. Had a very memorable vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank adrianatx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    515
    147
    64
    35
See reviews for
764
444
24
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The good:
Location is excellent. You are right on the Riverwalk which is lovely, but not in the crowded, loud, and rowdy section of the riverwalk.
The rooms are a nice size. We had a 1 BR suite with two queen beds and a small soft bed in the living area. I liked the way the bathroom was in the hall so you didn't have to walk through the BR to enter the bathroom. There were actual doors between the rooms (not those weird half-walls that some suite hotels have).
The common areas are lovely and well taken care of.
They had 24 hour guest access to two coin operated washers and dryers ($1.50 per load per appliance, buy detergent at the front desk). There are no chairs in the laundry room, so you have to wait in a lobby sitting area or go back to your room.
There is a little deli directly across the street where you can get sundries, beer, and ice cream for the kids without breaking the bank. They have good chicken salad, too.
I found the beds to be very comfortable, and they had good blackout curtains.
OK, the bad:
Parking does seem very expensive.
The front desk person was harried and rudely asked me for my credit card and ID when I walked up, and didn't even say hello. He heard me complain about it to my husband and offered my kids a couple of free drinks from the small convienence shop behind the counter, so that made me feel better, but still... dude, you are in the people business, so smile a little, ok?
I asked for extra towels online before check-in, and there weren't extras in the room. We needed more towels for 4 people.
There are no cups, plates, slilverware, etc. in the small kitchen. BYO everything except the appliances, which were clean and functional.
We are hilton honors members and had to specifically ask for a room upgrade. The desk person said "we can't do that for free" so we said "ok, how much?" It was a $8.00 difference for a view, so we took it, but for $8.00, I thought he should've suggested it to us instead of acting like it was a big deal to look into it. The view was worth it.

Yes, we'd stay here again. The positives outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: They had loud ice machines, so ask for one away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raleighgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boscawen, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel provides superior quality starting with its location, high end appearance, comfortable suites with an outstanding manager's reception and cooked to order breakfast. I wanted for nothing during my business stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I loved to stay at Embassy Suites San Antonio River walk. the service is excellent, the suites are super confortables, the lobby is beautiful. Also you have free drinks and snacks from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

For a lot of those posting; you get what you pay for. The prices are not a surprise if you do your research...it is expensive in San Antonio; especially for parking. And it is expensive. And for location - being on or close to the Riverwalk will cost you more than being a few miles out. This hotel is a safe and clean property and we found it to be an excellent base for the area. We spent five nights and enjoyed our time and found the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was very busy; but was incredibly well stocked and kept hot. The evening reception was a nice touch and again - was well done. Our room was kept clean by housekeeping and we had no complaints. We were happy with our stay and would be quick to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ykbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have waited to post my review in the hopes that our situation would have been remedied by now, but unfortunately, it hasn't been resolved. We are a family of 5 and enjoy choosing Embassy Suites as our hotel when traveling. We recently stayed at The Embassy Suites Riverwalk on a mini family vacation. The location is great, the hotel staff is friendly and you can't beat the breakfast that is included each morning during your stay. In our recent stay, however, we used the valet parking (which is very expensive at approx. $30 including tax/night). On the third day of our stay, when we got in our car, we noticed that the car had been driven more than just parking. The seats were moved significantly as well as the mirrors. The mileage until empty showed 28 miles when we dropped it off the night before, but showed 14 miles when we picked it up the next morning. The most troubling is there is a scratch that extends the length of the driver's side of our car that was not there when we dropped it off the previous night. We did call the hotel manager who passed us to the valet supervisor. (Disappointingly, the hotel manager didn't follow through to see if our issue was addressed properly.) The valet supervisor was very attentive while we were there but since our departure, has been very difficult to reach. It's been almost 3 weeks since our visit and no resolution. The latest word is that the claim was denied. We have asked to speak to the company that approves the claims but have yet been given that contact information. As professionals who also work in management positions, we are disappointed in the level of customer service we have received.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience. I am happy that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the complimentary cooked to order breakfast. Your feedback, both positive and constructive, means a great deal to us and has inspired conversation among my leadership team so that we may learn from this experience and enhance the service we provide our guests. I hope that should your travels bring you back to San Antonio that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service I know we can provide.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Awesome place. Big rooms, great breakfast & evening reception. Pool was small but worked & business was only real negative. Computers were horrible & super slow. Valet was $27 per day & parking across the street was about $10 for 12 hours. Stayed here then Hyatt Regency Riverwalk. Embassy was lots better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim4917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing