We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad, but excellent Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for three nights with my wife and two daughters in March 2014 during spring break. The hotel location is absolutely perfect being walking distance to the Alamo, Riverwalk, Market square and pretty much all other downtown destinations. The hotel is in excellent shape since its less than 4 years old. The rooms are standard Embassy Suites, which is a good thing. The riverview rooms also overlook the pool which means you will hear screaming kids until 11pm when the pool closes. The breakfast (which is one of the reasons I stay at ES hotels) was sub par. Mostly heat and serve items with no option to have pancakes, French toast and other items made fresh. The breakfast buffet was also the exact same all three days. The valet parking situation was a joke with the valet guys getting so backed up that there was a line of people 20 deep waiting for cars one morning and it took at least 45 min to get your vehicle. I spoke with the manager, Joe Milton, regarding my concerns and he is an absolute professional. He listened to my concerns, let me know they would be handled and was sure to make the situation right. I would be willing to stay at this hotel again solely based on its location, its modern & updated, and the fact that I know Joe is a top notch manager who cares about making his guests happy.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the pool as possible if you go to sleep early.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WebBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is perfect for a family vacation - buffet breakfast is included, complimentary reception with cocktails and snacks (fruit, veggies, nachos) from 5:30 to 7:30 pm, and the hotel is conveniently located steps to the river walk and downtown. The Luke Restaurant also has a happy hour from 3 to 5 p.m. with 1/2 price drinks and food (ie. $3 sliders, 50 cent oysters). The furniture is a little dated and the rooms can have a musty smell when you first enter but the AC clears that up quickly. We had to switch rooms because the previous guests had vomitted on the carpet (this was quickly managed by the front desk). Our teenage son had his own space in the living room with a pull out couch and his own tv. We paid the extra to access the junk food and beverage vending machines on the 6th floor. I would return. Kristen at the front desk was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask not to be situated near the ice machine
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hipmomandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is geared to and for Families with young Children. As a couple you will find the children distracting. The hotel is everything it should be. If you are looking for a couples get away another hotel will probably meet your needs a little better. If you have children this seems to be a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

ES are extremely consistent nationally. Chose to stay here with family on holiday. Placed in room on floor 3 that had poor air flow and overlooked the lobby. Admittedly was on points but had no idea they screwed loyalty program nights with crap rooms. When you book, specify that you will not stay on floor 3 unless you enjoy overlooking the lobby with no balcony and stale musty smell.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Embassy Suites Riverwalk is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. We have stayed in other Embassy Suites but this one was particularly nice and quiet. Even though our room faced the street, we did not hear any noise. The evening "snack" was almost a full meal. Complimentary drinks also. We were able to slip out the back door and we were right on the Riverwalk and enjoyed an evening stroll.
The front desk staff and valet parking staff were very friendly and helpful. We wanted to do some shopping and were allowed to continue parking in the garage for the morning even though we had checked out of the hotel.
My only complaint with this hotel (and all Embassy Suites) is that wifi is not free. Even though we are HHonors members and should get complimentary wifi, I was not able to connect and was only given a help line number to call rather than the front desk being of help.
The location of this hotel is very close to The Market shopping area an restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed March 2014, room 1614. Hotel is steps from the Riverwalk, and a grt starting point if you are a runner. Rooms are spacious and full of amenities. Would recommend a towel bar or warming rack near the shower, no place to hang towel while showering and there is plenty of room to add a table for storage/magazines, etc. Also would recommend a larger TV n the living room, for the space the set is too small from the couch. The free breakfast and happy hour were well done, not a cheap add-on. Would recommend getting to both early as they do get crowded towards the end. Staff were very friendly esp Catherine who worked the breakfast area. Pool area and gym are nice and a great view of the local area from the pool deck. Highly recommend ES and request a room w a balcony for an outside view.

Room Tip: ask for balcony
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel has a great location on the Riverwalk, with a lot of restaurant options within walking distance. The hotel has a great complementary happy hour and breakfast. I would recommend asking for a room with a balcony on a higher floor. It was a very nice hotel, and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMM2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,217 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £143 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing