We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel......But!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel......But!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

There is something that we experienced that I have not seen mentioned in any reviews and I am sure this is not a rare event. Maybe people do not look around as we did when we were walking. San Antonio apparently has a big homeless substance abuse issue. The Embassy is actually on a branch of the Riverwalk that is not populated with a lot of businesses. It is a very nice park like setting except for all the homeless on the benches. We were there for 5 nights and not a day went by that we did not experience this. There were people sleeping on the benches. There were people actually along the Riverwalk using drugs and consuming alcohol and they were apparently already intoxicated and it was apparent they had not bathed in a long time. On one occasion a drunkard blocked our path and we had difficulty getting around him and he was very verbal and insulting on our way back we requested that a police officer escort us which he did and lo and behold another man with his beer in hand started saying craziness to us with the officer present. He threatened him with arrest and he left the Riverwalk. There are police officers on bicycles that patrol the area and they run these lack luster citizens off but as soon as the officers leave they congregate back like cockroaches. The homeless also wait around the outdoor restaurants and when people leave their tables they sit down and eat the leftovers until the restaurant employees run them off.The only difficulty we had with the actual hotel was not enough coffee supplies for our room and check out was difficult bill not accurate and they only had one person doing valet and bell service and he was very busy retrieving cars. Poor management not the employees fault.

Room Tip: The 2 room 2 bath suite is very roomy. Gave us all the room we needed for 3 travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    526
    154
    66
    37
See reviews for
787
466
24
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The breakfast was worth the stay here. Variety of everything, and for everyone. Walked right out side door and downstairs to the riverwalk. Restaurant, environmental services, and Valet staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It was a beautiful hotel. I loved the way the rooms were arranged, unlike most Embassy Suites we've stayed at, both rooms had outside windows. The staff was so warm and helpful - especially when we were asking for directions. We were able to check in early - before Noon, and to stay a little longer at checkout. The space where the Manager's Reception and Breakfast was served was more than adequate. Though the hotel seemed very full, there were always tables, and the efficiency of the bartenders led to very short waits for drinks. There was a trolley right outside the hotel which, for a very reasonable price, took you to most of the places you would want to see. Ask for a transfer, which I think was 15 cents and your return trip is free. Though it is on the Riverwalk, it is not where most of the bars and restaurants are. But that is just a few blocks away. There was a pool on the roof which seemed small for the size of the hotel. There were only about 10 lounge chairs, though there were some regular chairs, a bar and music. t was a great value for a wonderful hotel, and the best thing about it was the attentive service. . .

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a room facing the Riverwalk. A lot of the rooms had balconies - that would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauraIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

4/22/14 no washcloths/coffee on check in. It took 4 calls to get them. 4/23 rooms were not cleaned until we called after 5pm. Housekeeping did not leave coffee or glasses. Had to call again and ask for the. This time ERIC at the front desk took responsibility and made a followup call to make sure we were taken care of. We did appreciate that.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a balcony. You will only get one chair (fire code I am told) and they are too smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Embassy Suites is located on the tail end of the touristy part of the river walk and only a short walk to the madness. It makes for a perfect balance for us. We stayed here for a night after a long hot day at Sea World. The facility is very comfortable and we have no complaints about our room and service. The managers reception is always a nice touch. Breakfast in the morning was better than most free breakfasts. We did have an issue with the batteries on our key lock and the staff handled the issue promptly. Credit to the manager for taking care of the issue himself. The pool is small, but we enjoyed ourselves and the view was nice. This was our first stay at this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FTX44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was a lovely property, with an extensive lobby area and a smart suite. My 1 bed suite had a decent size sitting room/kitchen with separate bedroom. I found the location to be very good, on historic E. Houston Street. It is located on a branch of the riverwalk, from which you can connect to the main riverwalk. Alternatively, you can simply walk at street level to the main riverwalk area, and then descend below street level. After seeing how busy & noisy the riverwalk area can get, I was quite glad the hotel was just off the main area. My only gripes were:
- valet only parking at high cost. Had I noticed (or been advised of) the street level parking lot across the street I would have used it.
- internet (even basic low speed service) was an extra cost item. This was the only property on my trip that charged for internet usage.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbs, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was BEAUTIFUL, luxurious and one of the most comfortable I have ever experienced. My family very much enjoyed the breakfast and evening Managers Reception!!! Slight down sides: mandatory valet parking (there is a free parking lot across the street from the entrance of the hotel that they will not tell you about); in terms of walking distance, it's quite far from the main interests on the river-walk such as the mall and restaurants compared to other hotels; and the internet service was inadequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,559 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing