We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #18 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recommend this Hotel. Room was very nice. Service was good. Hotel was right on the River Walk. A little pricey on the room. The Valet was good but also pricey. The TV service was not the best, kept getting interrupted/interference with the service. But all considered I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were all pleasantly surprised with the interior of this Embassy Suites. The area is a little rough - watched a couple people being arrested as we drove up.

The hotel itself is very nice; updated & upgraded decor compared with other ES we've stayed at. Loved the layout of the room and the beds were VERY comfortable. The buffet breakfast included with the stay is good, typical ES buffet...everything was fresh and the staff was the most attentive I've seen before.

Would definitely recommend as far as a hotel in San Antonio close to the River Walk. Down side is parking. You have to park across the street from the hotel (fee) and the walk to the River Walk was not real appealing, considering people getting arrested close by and TONS of construction all around.

Room Tip: Request High Floor, River Side for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CJANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I are from Dallas and we stayed here for 4th of July weekend. Couldn't have picked a better place and we were beyond happy with our stay. We arrived at 4:00 and our room was not ready yet but the front desk made up for it with coupons and free items for the riverwalk. 15 mins later we got to our room and it was nice and clean. We would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience at the hotel. I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations during your time in San Antonio. We look forward to having you stay with us when your travel brings you back to South Texas.

Joe Melton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Every year we take our grandchildren on a summer vacation; they chose San Antonio. In checking the Internet, Embassy Suites Riverwalk looked like a great location and good place to stay. From the moment of check-in to check-out, the entire staff from front desk, valet, housekeeping, breakfast, afternoon cocktails and snacks, were spot on. The suite, located on the 9th floor, allowed for privacy and convenience along with super comfortable beds and special touches throughout. The added security of card only entry to each floor, was an unexpected pleasure. Breakfasts were consistently delicious with a WIDE variety to suit any foodie. We highly recommend Embassy Suites San Antonio!

Room Tip: Very quiet hotel; GREAT security!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dkbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience. I am very happy that we could be part of your annual tradition with your grandchildren and that we delivered a great experience for you. We are proud of the product and the service that we provide our guests and it sounds like we were able to be part of great memories of time spent in San Antonio. We look forward to having you stay with us again when your travel brings you back to Texas.

Joe Melton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I went to San Antonio for a romantic weekend on the Riverwalk. The Embassy Suites was a great hotel with very comfortable rooms and beds. ALso, the staff was very attentive and cheerful which made our weekend that much better. One day, we were in our room most of the day so the cleaning service wasn't able to make up our room. I called the front desk to let them know we were leaving for dinner and asked if they would service our room. They were very accommodating and sent the crew up directly. When we came back from dinner, the Eric (from the front desk) had called to make sure our room was cleaned and we had everything we needed! That is great service.
The breakfast and Managers Reception were great with good food and drinks for a relaxing start to the day and evening.
The only slight issue was the valet parking was very slow when we checking in. It took us about 45 min to get to the valet. They apologized for the inconvenience, but it was not the way I wanted the weekend to start.
Otherwise, it was a fantastic weekend and I would highly recommend Embassy Suites for a great stay on the Riverwalk!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience at the hotel. Allow me to apologize for the delay at your arrival as we certainly recognize the importance that plays in your stay starting on the right trajectory. We are proud of the product and the service we provide and I am glad that so many of my teammates contributed to a great experience for you. We look forward to having you back when your travels bring you to San Antonio.

Joe Melton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent two nights here and loved the proximity to the River Walk without the crowds (a 3 minute walk max). The hotel was very nice, rooms were very large, and everything was clean. There were signs explaining the crowds at breakfast (before 8 - quick service, after 9 expect a wait) but we ate both days at 915 or so on weekdays and had no more than 1 person in front of us in the omelet line. The omelets and fresh fruit were a great free start to the day. They had the other fare - yogurt, oatmeal, bread, cereal and a hot line with eggs, sausage, potatoes, and bacon, but we only needed the omelet and fruit. They keep fruit infused water in the lobby - try the watermelon/strawberry - it's delicious, but does have some sugar in it. Still, it's worth sampling a glass. The manager's reception both nights was an open bar with a variety of options, chips/salsa/cheese/sour cream, snack mix, cheese cubes, and some really good fresh vegetables with ranch. Not a meal, but enough to tide one over until dinner. Nice pool with beautiful views of the area is on the 3rd floor. All of the staff save the front desk guy were very friendly and helpful.

The front desk was the reason for losing a star. We had to wait over an hour for our room When my husband (a very frequent guest at this family of hotels) mentioned we had a 3 pm check in he was quickly told by the guy at the desk that it was "3 pm registration" not 3 pm check in. This despite the fact that our reservation email clearly said "3 pm check in". A simple apology for the delay would have sufficed and we would have understood, but his snarky response was uncalled for. A call to the manager ended up getting us in a room after that. We would have left our bags and headed to the River Walk if we'd known we'd spend an hour in the lobby. Other than that, it was a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LetsMaketheMostofIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience at the hotel. While I am very happy that you had a great experience at the property and enjoyed both our made to order breakfast as well as our evening reception. I am disappointed that we failed to provide you the service experience that we typically provide our guests and I have shared your feedback with my Front Office team so we may learn from where we failed you. I hope that should your travel bring you back to San Antonio you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Joe Melton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was impressed with the large size of the suite; the quietness of the hotel; and the blackout curtains. I slept like a baby. The room was clean and very comfortable. The reception and breakfast provided many choices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience. The keys to a great stay are a clean, quiet hotel room where you can escape from the day-to-day and amenities that you can enjoy. I am happy we were able to create that experience for you and we look forward to having you as a guest when your travel brings you back to San Antonio.

Joe Melton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,185 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,268 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £122 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing