We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Embassy Suites I've Been To”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #14 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Worst Embassy Suites I've Been To”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've just got done filling out a survey about how I'm unsatisfied with this hotel. My complaint is too long to fill this review. Trust me, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Long complain short the manager was rude and never apologize for their mistake of overcharging which I've found out from calling the bank the same day, as a costumer I shouldn't have to tell them what they are doing wrong when a computer is in front of them as they should have seen one night was already prepaid which I was double charged and they are thieves as staff members. Don't they have cameras in the conference room. The manager didn't want to deal with the issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience at the hotel. I certainly apologize for the challenges that you encountered during your stay as this is not the experience we wish to create for our guests. A member of our management team will be reaching out to you to further discuss your stay at the property.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    546
    160
    68
    39
See reviews for
819
478
24
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort hood, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Its not to bad. Just that its not what you will think for the price you will pay. The rooms are wonderful which if you need a rest is a prefect place. Pool is small. Dinner in the meeting or party room is not worth of what a plate will cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience. While I am happy you found that many of the aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations I am sorry that you were disappointed with the value that the stay offered. With our two-room suites, full made to order breakfast and evening reception most feel that we present a great value for both the business and leisure guest. I hope that should your travels bring you back to San Antonio that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pros:
-spacious room, good size suite
-nice location
-affordable coin laundry
-clean and well maintained pool

Cons:
-breakfast is an assembly line--taste like powdered eggs--same food for five straight days
-housekeeping just couldn't get it right--we would go out for whole morning and call downstairs to let them know we'd be out, and still would come back to an unmade room
-staff have a little bite to them, not as friendly as other reviewers
-room price was high for the above not to be sorted out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbird4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coconut creek, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel was beautiful. Staff was friendly and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was amazing. The variety of food sure to satisfy each member of my family. Location was perfect, the RiverWalk just outside. Would definitely stay here again if returning to San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My best friend and I chose San Antonio for a girls weekend. I did a lot of research before booking and was not disappointed! We arrived on a Wednesday night and Sue (? Suzie? Sorry!) checked us in and gave us some great tips on where to eat and what to see. She was phenomenal and made great recommendations throughout our trip! The hotel was really nice. The room was clean and spacious, a mini-suite with a small kitchen-ish area (sink, mini-fridge), a desk, couch, and chairs. The furniture was a little older/warn, but overall in good enough condition, with a very classic look. The bathroom was lovely (marble sink area, big enough for two ladies and their stuff!) and the bedroom had two double beds (again with enough room for our stuff). The best part of our stay was the complementary, nightly happy hour!! I cannot say enough about how much fun it was to be able to have a few drinks and snacks before heading out on the town. The bartenders were friendly, the drinks were great, and the snacks were plentiful. That and the breakfast buffet made this hotel the best bet on the block! We were able to minimize our cost by getting up for breakfast, then heading out around town or to the pool, getting showered/dressed, hitting the happy hour and heading out for the evening without spending any money (other than tips). It was great. I can't say enough about how enjoyable our stay was! The pool area is a bit small (pool is only a few feet deep and not very large) and the sun was only on the pool for the early part of the day, but it was sufficient for our purposes and had a bar if/when we got thirsty :) The location was in walking distance of most things you'd want to see/do and the trolley was easy enough to navigate for attractions in the vicinity. You won't regret staying here!! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hotel was very nice, everything was perfect! Did not have one thing to complain about. Breakfast was awesome, staff is very friendly and helping. I was making myself a cup of coffee in the dining area and A staff member named Catherine came up to me and was very friendly and I just overall enjoyed the experience! We will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recommend this Hotel. Room was very nice. Service was good. Hotel was right on the River Walk. A little pricey on the room. The Valet was good but also pricey. The TV service was not the best, kept getting interrupted/interference with the service. But all considered I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing