We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location with breakfast!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is at the edge of the hustle and bustle of the downtown Riverwalk, which we found great because you could choose whether you wanted to walk into the action or take a leisurely stroll away from the action. The breakfast was amazing, a very large area with numerous stations - a real step above what some other hotels might pass off as breakfast. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    546
    160
    68
    39
See reviews for
819
478
24
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was a wonderful place to stay with the family. The staff was very accommodating and quite friendly. It was walking distance to much of downtown and a stones throw to some of the best dining in town. We would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DouglasBHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a beautiful corner suite overlooking the Riverwalk with two little balconies to walk out on in the evening. I loved having a separate bedroom and large, comfortable living area for socializing. Every evening they serve wine and snacks in the lobby...nothing fancy, but decent considering it's free. Loved the bath items, too. Crabtree and Evelyn--nice quality stuff.

San Antonio itself was pretty disappointing. The plants were dead, there were a lot of vacant spots along the water taxi tour, the water taxi driver was crazy surly, and the riverwalk was kind of sad in general, despite our visit being timed at what the books claimed was the best of the year. Huh. And there was no way we were going to patronize Sea World and its orca hostages. Seriously, you can't keep an animal who swims for miles in a day, dives deeper than the sunlight can penetrate on a regular basis, and leads a highly social life, in a swimming pool. And you can't possibly think you are safe waving a little fish in the air in front of an apex predator whose normal diet looks a lot more like a human than a fish...but I'm drifting off topic.

So, we spent a lot of time visiting some of the hotel bars in ours and other hotels nearby, which are totally beautiful and ended up being pretty fun after all. The Embassy Suites is really nice for what you pay and offered a lot of amenities. If I was going back to San Antonio, I'd stay there again.

The only thing that was disappointing--about the hotel, I mean--was that the website indicated that there would be a Keurig coffeemaker in the room, something I've always wanted to play with (yeah, I know, I'm like from the past, I'm so behind on this technology.) The coffee maker they had instead was certainly passable, but nothing quite as fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room with a balcony. So pretty in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratgirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful property on the Riverwalk. Check in staff desperately needs re-training, very rude. Room very nice and clean. Breakfast excellent and the staff was friendly and efficient. Valet refused car request over phone, stating they were too busy. I will not return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank roadtraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience at the hotel. While I am very happy that you enjoyed both your suite and the experience you had at breakfast I apologize that you were not satisfied with your arrival at the property. A member of my management team will be reaching out to you to discuss your experience at the hotel.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here on a business trip at the end of July. Very few business travelers but many, many families (all in a nice sense!). Very comfortable and no nonsense hotel with a spacious lobby, water feature outside, bang on the river walk, close to the Alamo....Breakfast was the usual Embassy suites style serving which is something between a Hampton inn mad dash and an expensive gourmet buffet at a high end luxury hotel. Perfectly adequate for families...

Check in was delayed due to a mix up with my room but the lady at the desk gave me a corner suite for the delay and also complementary snacks from the vending machine. Nothing fancy but its the thought that counts. I would certainly stay here again.

PS: My three star rating is meant to be a carefully considered overall perspective of the facility and reflects the fact that its an averagely good place which I would use again. I don't believe in using superlatives (positive or negative) unless absolutely required.

Room Tip: Ask for premium floor (6th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mungerilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a riverview suite that overlooked the San Antonio riverwalk. The rooms were spacious and it fit our family needs. Customer service was above and beyond because our family had left some items in the room, and we had to return to get them, the Hotel Supervisor was very helpful in tracking down our items and securing it before we got there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were a bit apprehensive on arrival due to some bad reviews about front desk staff. Our concerns were unfounded, we were greeted by a pleasant and helpful staff member. In fact all staff we came into contact with could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

The room was spacious, modern, clean and above all else comfortable. The king size bed was a pleasure to sleep in. There was a noise coming from the roof space above the bathroom the first night that my wife described as a braying donkey. When staff were notified about this it was looked into and rectified for a quiet and restful second nights sleep.

Breakfast was terrific and the evening free happy hour a pleasant surprise extra.

We would definitely return to this property in the future and highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rlitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing