We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Clean Place for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
Ranked #137 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My son and I stayed at the Knights Inn while we were showing cattle at the San Antonio Stock Show. It was very clean, beds were comfortable, and was close to the show. It doesn't have a lot of rooms and lacks an elevator if that makes a difference. Breakfast was very limited, pasty and muffins. Hands down, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephany5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

La Hacienda has everything you might require and expect (clean, quiet, and comfortable with free wi-fi and attentive staff), along with some nice surprises you might not expect--especially in this price range. We enjoyed the ceramic tile shower (as opposed to those flimsy plastic things) and the extra tall shower. The covered parking with video surveillance is a nice touch. The new rooms feature crown moulding, designer ceiling fan/light, granite vanity, and plenty of electric outlets.

Other reviewers have mentioned the location. My wife and I had no problem with the location. In fact, we were delighted with the community revitalization going on (in what the locals call "Eastside") anchored by the train station and Ruth's Chris Steak House (charming Victorian street facade). There are several nice motels within a few blocks.

If you require a full breakfast, go somewhere else and pay $200 (the Landmark Coffee Shop provides a delightful breakfast and is just a couple of blocks away). If you want a great place to stay right next to downtown for a reasonable price, however, try La Hacienda. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Good for sleep near from river walk mall and well located. Not a fancy hotel but worth your money specially if you are looking a cheap place to stay only for sleep
Breakfast is just a bread and coffee

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emanuellima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The hotel is nice and clean and decorated nicely. The location seems great because it is near the downtown area BUT the neighborhoods before you reach the hotel are NOT safe and walking after dark is a big mistake! The breakfast offered is very inadequate. Only donuts,coffee etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderlust458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This small hotel located near the downtown area was inexpensive, quiet, comfortable, with covered parking. It was within walking distance of a little burger joint. I loved the colorful tile and helpful staff.
I would definitely recommend this for someone who appreciates quiet stays.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeItLoatheIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel is good. The location is good due to being close to downtown without the price. Close to the river walk. I would recommend the stay here for maybe the next year. After the newness wears off I could see the hotel not being that great. Every time we walked in, the lobby is tiny and there was never any one there to greet us. We always had to ring the bell and wait. There was an odd smell in the lobby but it's ok once you get out of the lobby. There is no elevator so they direct you to take the stairs to the second floor. They tell you the front door will be locked at ten, but when you come in after that to use the back door. The rooms are decorated very nicely, very cute. Best part of the hotel. The ac worked great. Beds were comfy. We drove a block down and parked in a parking garage and walked right on to the river walk. We did the tour which you have to walk about ten minutes to buy tickets to. $8 for a thirty minute tour. It was worth it. Headed to sea world tomorrow. Over all I would recommend this hotel if your looking for a good price for a hotel right by the river walk. We paid $67 per night. Very worth it. Again, after the newness wears off, not sure how it will be then. They keep the hotel very warm too. Hardly any breakfast. There's water and chips for sale for .75 by the desk.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltexasgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNIGHTSSANANTONIO, Owner at La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your business. we have this hotel there due to the location and we tend to keep it new for all the time, by replacing things constantly as they wear out, thats one good thing about a small property . we donot have to have a lot & lot of money to keep it updated. please keep in mind we are a economy hotel with 2 star not a 5 star or bigger hotel. so we serve a only 2 types of pastries , 2 types of fruits and coffee a very basic continental breakfast. we can manage to give our customers better value not having a huge lobby but just about right to check inn and checkout pople and have 2 sittings and breakfast table and a continental breakfast. Also keep in mind being a small economy hotel we cannot afford a front desk person at all times just sitting there as not much to do. The payroll will eat me for lunch. But we do have a person there to help as soon as you ring the bell. we promise that we will give a nice, clean, updated room all the time to our guests at a better price in the downtown area. Overall we are a economy hotel , Aspect the price of a economy hotel with a 5 star hotel room and clean room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The room was thoughtfully and tastefully furnished and decorated. Super clean. Small hotel makes for comfort and easily accessible surroundings. LOVED the covered parking under my room!!! Super comfortable bed. In Downtown. Excellent bargain.

The only 2 negative things I could say is that the Indian lady who ran and lives at the place was absent and barely seen. She puts out a "check out box" and a "bell" to summon her because she doesn't like to be around customers. She constantly looks depressed or angry and her customer service is a direct reflection of this.

2nd thing: breakfast? Seriously a joke. Nothing but a small carafe of coffee and a handful of cheap premade muffins and honey buns. It barely took up one section of a counter.

I suggest you plan on eating out or bringing your own instead. Room has microwave and frig so doing breakfast on your own is easy and a great idea.

I would DEF stay again.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room right near the entrance (too many guests and slamming entrance doors) or at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank futurelawyer2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNIGHTSSANANTONIO, Owner at La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

HI , Thank you staying with us. we really respect and appreciate your business. she is not usually like that but will make sure she is fine. we corrected the issue of not putting the express checkout key box whenever she is not gone to check room or do some other work in the rooms. we serve continental breakfast only but we realise that it can be atleast better selection of those items so we going to tweak it a little bit. and thanks for letting me know about the door. we will fix that in couple of days. once again thank you for letting us know. ope to see you again.
Thank you Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#104 of 358 in San Antonio
68 reviews
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Best Western Alamo Suites
#86 of 358 in San Antonio
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk

Address: 1524 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3324
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £52 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, Mexican style newly constructed hotel near Alamodome/Henry B.Gonzalez Center/Riverwalk hotel is perfect for a vacation in the Lone Star State. 100% smoke free interior hotel includes free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi,free parking,flat-screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, in room hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn/La Hacienda Hotel San Antonio
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing