We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with free food and drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak
Ranked #3 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We loved this hotel! It's very clean and well maintained, beds were comfy, Showers had good pressure and temperature, bath gel, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in shower were handy, and the room had good storage. Very friendly staff. We adored the 5:30-7 pm "kickback" with a food buffet (salad, baked potatoes, nachos, hot dogs, chili, soup, pasta, meatballs, and more)- the menu rotates and is available online) plus three free alcoholic drinks (beer, wine, or select mixed drinks) for the adults. Free soda and coffee are available 24 hours, and popcorn was often out for the kiddos. There was ample seating in the lobby for enjoying our food and drinks. The hot breakfast buffet was also exceptional- waffles, pancakes, eggs, sausage, cereals, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, doughnuts and juices available. We saved at least $60 a day because they fed us, and we didn't have to eat out. My son and husband are very picky and the food was plentiful and delicious enough for them not to want to go out to eat. We also enjoyed the rooftop pool and hot tubs (5th floor on top of the parking garage, which is also free). I think this hotel was an exceptional value, and it was in an area of town that appeared safe and clean, with lots of shopping and dining nearby. It was about 15-20 minutes to Sea World.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin - we were kept awake by the toddler in the next room's hour and a ha...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MalibuJen247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Now, I have to set the stage a bit first. Every year, for the last 25 years, I travel with one or more friends to the second and third (used to be the first and second) rounds of the Men's NCAA Basketball Tournament - so its really a guys trip. All we do is watch live college basketball, parts of broadcast games, play lots of golf, eat, and sleep. Pretty much that's all there's time to do. So, we typically look for relatively inexpensive digs that are clean, comfortable, have some perks (free WIFI, free hot breakfast, etc), and are in close proximity to our activities (this usually means near the golf courses we intend to play). We also typically book well in advance (three months or so) to get both the best rates and hotel availability.

I selected this hotel primarily because of the great TA reviews, its value/pricing, and its location - north of town. We booked a two room suite for what would eventually be the three of us. For a bit more than a c-note per night, we got a very spacious place with a large bathroom, living area, and a bedroom. It was spotlessly clean, modern, and in excellent physical condition.

The bathroom had all the usual suspects including a combination bathtub / shower and a large vanity area (plenty of room to house our stuff - razors, toothbrush, paste, etc). The living room had chairs, coffee / end tables, a sleeper sofa (with a clock), a desk, a dresser, and a little bar area that included a small sink, microwave, and refrigerator (not stocked, but for your personal use). The living room also included a flat screen television. The bedroom had two queen sized beds, a closet, a dresser, nightstands (with a clock), and another television. There were also plenty of accessible electrical outlets (important in this day and age). The beds were quite comfortable and I heard no complaints about the sofa bed either.

The amenities are too numerous to mention, but the few that stood out for us were the strong and ubiquitous WIFI, the hot buffet breakfast, and the evening happy hour - which includes both food and alcoholic beverages. All of these (and many more like a parking garage) were included in the the ridiculously low room rates.

And, while all this would be enough to sing the praises of this Drury Inn, we were absolutely blown away by the friendly, attentive, and professional staff here. Everyone we encountered, from the people behind the desk, to those working the food, to the managers clearing our plates away were extremely courteous, friendly, and downright welcoming. So much so, that we just shook our heads, chuckled, and said "these folks are working way too hard". I expect this level of consistency and service from a 5 star resort. To get this from a supposed "3 star" establishment is mind boggling. So, "Bravo" to you, Drury Plaza Hotel.

Finally, I have stayed in many great hotels around the world. And, have enjoyed those experiences immensely. We shouldn't confuse the Drury with places like those. The food at the Drury is on par with Country Buffet at best, the location is wedged between a major highway and some retail centers, there is no fancy restaurant or bar area, and while the spaces are clean, well lit, and modern, they are not stunningly beautiful or luxurious. It is a huge hotel that can be crowded and a bit noisy if you care (but really only around the dining area). And, it does cater to families with children and large groups for obvious reasons.

But, I can say without hesitation, that this "3 star" hotel is at the top of its class and it delivers the best "5 star" impersonation I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kidnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I love this hotel! We will stay here again!

It actually looks like the pictures posted online. Sometimes hotel pictures look amazing & when you arrive you're disappointed because the rooms look nothing like the pictures. Not here! Very nice rooms!

The breakfast & 5:30 kickback are awesome added values! It saved us $100+ because we ate here instead of a restaurant. The food was good. Although most Drury's have food from 5:30-7:00, this one is currently offering a scaled down menu from 7:00-9:00. They even have an action station with a chef. (Full menu is offered 5:30-7:00) They are pretty relaxed about the time though. They still serve people at closing time.

I really like that it's family friendly but doesn't look or feel like an economy family hotel. It's feels upscale without being pretentious. The dining area & pool areas are nice spaces that feel both welcoming & relaxing.

We paid $91.99 plus tax which put us at about $107.50 per night total. I booked well in advance. Excellent price & a great value!

"The pool & fitness center are the best" - My 8 year old daughter (yes we worked out here)

"I liked everything about this hotel! I really liked the meal." - my husband
(The key to a mans heart is his stomach ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location is very good for shopping and not as limited as airport location. Have stayed here for 6 flags and shopping and games and flights. Great all around hotel when coming to SA. Not best for river walk access, but it is for the visit after you have done river walk and alamo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Love love love this hotel. They have changed the 5:30 kick start dinner menu and I really like the changes. This hotel is very clean and the staff is amazing. I will stay here again when I am in San Antonio

Room Tip: I like the upper floors that are very quiet. If you want by the pool the. Ask for the 5th floor this...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a two-room suite. The bedroom was comfortable and spacious. The living room was very tight on space once the sleeper sofa was opened up but it gets the job done. Comfortable room at a very reasonable rate not far from the airport in San Antonio. Easy and secure access to the room from the parking garage. A hot breakfast the next morning offered a lot of variety and there were plenty of people there to make sure we had everything we needed. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AAHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you are reading this, you are planning a trip to SA. Stop searching, reserve your room @ Drury Plaza north, you will not be disappointed. Everything posted here is true. Best value, great location, superior service. Hotel manager Mike Bazar ever present. Driving in SA can be a bit of a challenge. Our GPS was not updated with some road construction. Be advised, the driving directions on the website from airport to hotel are WRONG! Call hotel directly for correct GPS address. Although the property address is on 1604 loop, if you take the 1604 loop exit, you will be going in the wrong direction. Once you arrive, you will be happy you chose Drury!

Room Tip: We stayed on 7th floor, very quiet. Three fast elevators.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
1,961 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,131 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak

Address: 823 North Loop 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78232-1343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £84 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak in north central San Antonio is a relaxing getaway close to the San Antonio International Airport and The Shops at La Cantera. The rooftop pool and hot tub overlooks the city skyline. The energy-efficient hotel offers free hot breakfast every morning and free hot food and cold beverages every evening at the 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing