We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #75 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I wanted a hotel near the Riverwalk but I didn't really want to spend around $150/day, and this one was only a few blocks from the Riverwalk for under $100.00/day. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It's also one block from the Alamo, "the" Alamo, and two blocks from a large multi-level mall with movie theaters.

There are restaurants everywhere, on the surface streets and down on the Riverwalk so you shouldn't have a problem finding something, except for making a choice between them. They all look very nice and reasonably priced.

The hotel was easy to get to from the 10, following my GPS of course, but the only downside was that parking wasn't free. It was $21.00/day. But the pretty cool thing was that on your valet ticket is a QR code that you can scan when you want to have your car brought around. So you can do that in your room and by the time you get down stairs, it's there. Cool!

Of all the Fairfield's I've stayed in during my cross country trip, and I've stayed in many, this was by far the best, in size of the room, cleanliness, service and even the TV was really nice.

For all of this, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank King_W_12375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is a gem. Staff were very helpful and courteous.
Great location for all attractions. Lovely, well appointed large room
'Complimentary' Breakfast was adequate and the small pool was clean
Would definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Since we had never been to San Antonio, I was unsure of how close this hotel would be to the Alamo, Riverwalk, etc. "Walking distance" means different things to different people but this hotel is definitely that - to the Alamo especially. My sister has trouble walking for long periods of time and she handled this area well. You are also close to the Rivercenter, the local indoor mall with food court and the Riverwalk area. This pros for this hotel are - the location and proximity to sites, the breakfast (be sure to try the Texas shaped waffles), the exceptionally courteous valet staff and the cleaniless of the hotel.
Parking is 21.00 a night, which seems outrageous, but since we had a brand new rental car and saw signs posted in every public lot warning of break-ins, we had no problem paying the fee. Parking is a nightmare almost anywhere in the whole Alamo area, as it is really overbuilt.
All in all - no complaints. Room was not overly sized, but having 4 people in our party does not make for much extra space anyway. The pool is nice and is surrounded by 2 other Marriot properties, offering a happy hour snack around 5:00 each evening. If you want "close" and at a decent price, you can consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend there. The staff was courteous. Some things they did well and others not so well. The price was good for location and the rooms were very nice. Breakfast was just ok, would have liked fresh pancakes instead of ones that sat there a while.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kandm6698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Checked in late evening. Staff was exellent, courteous and caring. I would highly recommmend this location to vacationer who which to be close proximity to Riverwalk, Aamo, and Alamo Plaza all in 5 min walking distance. Full hot/cold breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank eduwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a great stay. They upgraded us to a Suite being a Gold (soon to be Platinum) member with Marriott.
Room was very comfortable. Nice outside pool. Location is great. Alamo a block or so.
Riverwalk a few blocks. It seemed safe and had tourist traffic even later at night so we felt safe walking from the Riverwalk.
We will stay here again when we come back to San Antonio.
Downtown San Antonio is awesome, we really enjoyed out trip. It gets hot though so if your not used to the Texas heat, bring extra clothes and stay hydrated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCBinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Wife and I were in San Antonio as part of a larger trip to Texas and stayed five days at this hotel. We are Marriott Gold and were offered an upgrade at check in. The place is squeaky clean, new and well decorated. The suite was comfortable and the bath excellent. Front desk staff is well trained, friendly and professional. Breakfast was fresh and tasty, with an expanded selection fitting this new hotel. Two blocks from the Alamo. Three from Riverwalk. Tourist trolley is nearby. I would happily stay here again as well as recommend it to friends traveling to San Antonio. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1_1aGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2063
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £77 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing