We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive option in downtown SA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #48 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Inexpensive option in downtown SA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is a less than 5 minute walk from the Alamo or the river walk mall, so it's in a good, safe location for the money. Staff were friendly, hotel and room were clean and breakfast offered something for everyone. The breakfast staff did a great job of keeping the area clean and refilling the food offerings. Valet parking is $21 which could get expensive for an extended stay. Odd number rooms face the freeway, so are a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4gentexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    102
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
85
79
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I wanted a hotel near the Riverwalk but I didn't really want to spend around $150/day, and this one was only a few blocks from the Riverwalk for under $100.00/day. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It's also one block from the Alamo, "the" Alamo, and two blocks from a large multi-level mall with movie theaters.

There are restaurants everywhere, on the surface streets and down on the Riverwalk so you shouldn't have a problem finding something, except for making a choice between them. They all look very nice and reasonably priced.

The hotel was easy to get to from the 10, following my GPS of course, but the only downside was that parking wasn't free. It was $21.00/day. But the pretty cool thing was that on your valet ticket is a QR code that you can scan when you want to have your car brought around. So you can do that in your room and by the time you get down stairs, it's there. Cool!

Of all the Fairfield's I've stayed in during my cross country trip, and I've stayed in many, this was by far the best, in size of the room, cleanliness, service and even the TV was really nice.

For all of this, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King_W_12375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is a gem. Staff were very helpful and courteous.
Great location for all attractions. Lovely, well appointed large room
'Complimentary' Breakfast was adequate and the small pool was clean
Would definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Since we had never been to San Antonio, I was unsure of how close this hotel would be to the Alamo, Riverwalk, etc. "Walking distance" means different things to different people but this hotel is definitely that - to the Alamo especially. My sister has trouble walking for long periods of time and she handled this area well. You are also close to the Rivercenter, the local indoor mall with food court and the Riverwalk area. This pros for this hotel are - the location and proximity to sites, the breakfast (be sure to try the Texas shaped waffles), the exceptionally courteous valet staff and the cleaniless of the hotel.
Parking is 21.00 a night, which seems outrageous, but since we had a brand new rental car and saw signs posted in every public lot warning of break-ins, we had no problem paying the fee. Parking is a nightmare almost anywhere in the whole Alamo area, as it is really overbuilt.
All in all - no complaints. Room was not overly sized, but having 4 people in our party does not make for much extra space anyway. The pool is nice and is surrounded by 2 other Marriot properties, offering a happy hour snack around 5:00 each evening. If you want "close" and at a decent price, you can consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend there. The staff was courteous. Some things they did well and others not so well. The price was good for location and the rooms were very nice. Breakfast was just ok, would have liked fresh pancakes instead of ones that sat there a while.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kandm6698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Checked in late evening. Staff was exellent, courteous and caring. I would highly recommmend this location to vacationer who which to be close proximity to Riverwalk, Aamo, and Alamo Plaza all in 5 min walking distance. Full hot/cold breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank eduwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a great stay. They upgraded us to a Suite being a Gold (soon to be Platinum) member with Marriott.
Room was very comfortable. Nice outside pool. Location is great. Alamo a block or so.
Riverwalk a few blocks. It seemed safe and had tourist traffic even later at night so we felt safe walking from the Riverwalk.
We will stay here again when we come back to San Antonio.
Downtown San Antonio is awesome, we really enjoyed out trip. It gets hot though so if your not used to the Texas heat, bring extra clothes and stay hydrated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCBinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2063
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#87 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing