We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front desk and valets are great, cleaning service is questionable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #47 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Front desk and valets are great, cleaning service is questionable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location of this hotel is great. Across the street from the Alamo and a short walk to the Riverwalk. The front desk and the valet service were some of the best. They both were very helpful and polite. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. All was good till we got home and found an email from the hotel with an additional charge of $78 dollars. I immediately called the number posted in the email and inquired about the additional charge. They could not answer why and said that the mgr. would call me the next day. The next day went by with no call, so I called back at the end of the day and I was informed that I was charged for a set of sheets because there was "poop" on the sheets. I about lost it and informed the clerk that he was full of sh%# and there was no way that there was "poop" on the sheets. After a week of phone calls back and forth to the mgr. I came up with the realization that I had been charged a new set of sheets for a sweat ring left on the sheets from a hat that was put there while we were packing up. The mgr finally refunded our charge after I had to threaten him with a letter from my lawyer. We loved the hotel and the help, but do not trust the management because of the drummed up charges. Be careful not to sweat in Texas and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the ground floor. Noise was not an issue at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danls2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epenasales, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Danls2004,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to respond to our hotel regarding your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are surprised to hear about the incident at our hotel. Rest assure that we will investigate your experience to ensure it does not happen again. We escalate all travelers comments to our management both positive and negative to ensure the best quality of service to all of our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    105
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
86
81
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The staff was great and helpful. Clean rooms. No noise or stomping from the floors above us! Good free breakfast. 5 min walk to the Riverwalk. Valet crew were prompt and had our car ready every time! This is where I'll be staying every time we visit San Antonio!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dvillalobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epenasales, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Dvillalobos,

Thank you so much for your positive review! We greatly appreciate both positive and negative reviews to improve our service to all of our guests.

Thank you for taking time out and letting us know about stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Pena
DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so nice! Updated and clean. We stayed here after a bad stay at a Travel lodge and it felt like the Taj Mahal! Staff is very nice and helpful. Pool is nice and breakfast was really good. Lots of options. It has a great location, only one block from the Alamo. Walking distance to the Riverwalk. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boilermaker98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epenasales, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Boilermaker98,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza! We appreciate the time it takes for every guest to comment on our hotel both positive and negative.

We are glad to hear your positive review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon during your next visit to San Antonio, Texas.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and were impressed. The hotel itself is literally about one block from behind the Alamo with Ripleys and wax museum just close ahead. The hotel rooms were clean ,beds comfortable,breakfast was good and staff was very friendly. The pool was kept sparkling clean each day which we appreciated greatly . The only small down side is parking is not free it is valet service,but its 21.00 a day which is less than others and all we needed to do is drive up and be taken care of which is a plus since finding a parking spot on a weekend can be tough on our own . will definitely consider coming back to this hotel when visiting San Antonio and river walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Easy and interesting walking to the Riverwalk, Alamo Mission, and Market Square nearby. Close to major roads, for easy exit from the core, to go to other family attractions further away such as the wonderful zoo and Missions. Some confusion on the hotel's part regarding valet service - we used it the first night but then parked nearby after that (nearby: $3 per day) - but they added valet parking for our entire stay of 3 nights at approx. $25/day to our checkout bill. They corrected the error when we caught it - but I wonder how often guests have paid without noticing. The breakfast was very good, and the staff came around to clear the table before we could. Although we've come to expect a certain breakfast with this chain - there is some variety in the food choices between individual hotels. In this case, there was a range of fresh fruit, yogurts, juices, hot and cold cereals and waffles shaped like Texas. Only one kind of coffee but kept fresh. The pool is situated in a triangular space between other hotels, so fairly shielded from views by outsiders and not too much impervious surface. The lobby was quite comfortable. One night we didn't get back from walking around 'til very late and so ordered local pizza and it was really good and reasonably priced. Another time we drove to a nearby restaurant 'Rosarios' - extremely good food! The bathroom is big - which helps when traveling as a family of four. Nicer quality complimentary body lotion than at some hotels. We always bring our own but the travel size provided was handy for our day trips.

Room Tip: We stayed twice with a break between - 3 nights in Room 205, another time in 313. Some noise the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family stayed here yesterday for a quick weekend trip to San Antonio. The service was wonderful. The check in was fast. They put us up on the top floor in a quiet room. The room was very clean and spacious for our family of four. The bathroom was also spacious. There were plenty of towels for us. The kids loved the pool (even though it rained and the temperature of the water was chilly). The breakfast was hardy; eggs, potato hash browns, "Texas" shaped waffles, and the usual oatmeal, cereal, bagels, muffins....etc. I would have given Fairfield 5 stars, but the parking was a little trick. To over night valet was a total of $22.73. We ended up paying $4 a day in the church parking lot catty-corner from the hotel for all day parking. What we loved best about the hotel was that you could walk to the Alamo, Alamo square, and the Riverwalk (River Center Mall). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRobinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location if you are visiting the Alamo and other San Antonio attractions. New hotel, very clean, welcoming staff & great breakfast. Had to pay for hotel valet parking, but it was good value, only 2 mins to get car back. Can't understand how Fairfield manage to get such thin towels!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2063
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#87 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing