We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & brand new accomodation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #57 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Every year I attend to a convention during March/April in San Antonio and my base hotel has been La Quinta Inn San Antonio Convention Center due to its location and price. During March 2011, I saw this new hotel was under construction and having it open already I decided to give it a try.

What I liked the most is the feeling and smell of a brand new hotel. Everything looks perfect and fresh. It's really nice to get to your hotel room and find trendy and modern ammenities, from I-dock for your I-phone to LED light for night reading and USB ports.

Location is perfect, really!. Eventhough you might think is quite far from atracctions (Alamo & Riverwalk) is just 5-8 min walk to the Alamo. As soon as you get off from the hotel, turn to your right and at the corner you will see tha back part of the Alamo, that close is this hotel to the top attraction in SAT!. Then, head to Riverwalk crossing the street and walk down thorugh a nice stairs corridor throughout the Hyatt and then you'll be there at the Riverwalk, a really nice short walk!.

Only downside is that hotel's sole option for parking is by valet, and cost $21.00 USD. I believe is a little pricey (at La Quinta there is an option of selfparking at $18.00 USD). We arrived by late afternoon and we parked our car just in front of the hotel (you just have to be lucky to find a spot!). from 6pm to 8am is free, after you just have to pay $0.25 per hour!!!. We stayed two nights paying roughly $3.00 USD per day!!! just put enough for 10 hours (from 8am to 6pm), nevertheless you wont need your car for sightseeing downtown, everything is walking distance. If you don't find a place to park in front of the hotel, go to the park just meters away and there will be for sure space.

Breakfast is good, with scrambbled eggs and bacon as hot dishes. Lobby and breakfast areas are very nice and relaxing. Check in and Check out was very smooth. Price was also good ($116.00 USD per night plus tax). Room was fair enough in space. I thought it will be bigger, but is comfortable. Mini-living room, work desk and tiny-kitchen are nice. Space where bed is located is limited. Bathroom is big enough. I liked that vanity area is separated from shower, that gives you more flexibility.

In general we were happy tro try this new option in Downtown SA, and we will consider to stay here again next year for sure!.

Bon voyage!

Room Tip: Get a park spot in front of the hotel. Avoid paying valet!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davicho77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

I had to make a flash trip to San Antonio for business purposes and now chose the Springhill Suites for my stay. I previously stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites and had a great experience on a Studio Room there. These two hotels, the Springhill and Fairfield Inn named Downtown/Alamo Plaza are very well located, just two blocks from the Rivercenter and very well connected by the 281 highway to move around San Antonio. They both offer clean rooms and great service. Valet is 21 dollars for the whole day, probably a little bit expensive if you only use it for overnight parking but I thinks it compensates with the rate. The springhill has better breakfast and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here one night because it was close to the Culinary School we were taking my son to visit. The hotel is approximately a block and a half from the Alamo and about a 5-10 minute walk to the Riverwalk, and took us only 5 minutes to get to the school. The hotel was very clean, bright and welcoming. Our room was very large by most hotel standards, with a wet bar and mini fridge as well. The beds were very comfortable, and I tend to be a touch picky on that. We didn't have a lot of staff interaction, but the little we did have was very pleasant. The complimentary breakfast was by far better than most. We will definately stay here if my son decides to attend this particular school. We were very impressed overall. My ONLY complaint was there was no hair dryer in the room, but really not much to complain about. :0) Oh, and we ate at Rita's on the Riverwalk, very tasty with amazing margarita's, but it is a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CassieRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Family of 5 had a great stay. Rooms were very nice, comfy and clean. Wonderful free Breakfast with a Lot of variety. Great staff all Around the hotel. Pool and hottub are ismall but nice and warm. Nice location 5 min walk to Alamo but very loud at night with the street and car/train noise. Valet parking is nice. In and out privileges but a little pricey. $21 per night. Should be $15 max per night. Would probably stay there again when visiting San Antonio.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a conference and it was great. It felt like it was brand new. The room was large, clean and very comfortable.

The breakfast which is included was great.

It is in walking distance of everything downtown, but is not on the Riverwalk.

This is a very good business hotel, I will stay here everytime i visit San Antonio.

When in San Antonio find a Rudy's BBQ, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank devers0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

While not on the riverwalk, this new hotel is only about 5 minutes walking distance, and you pass the Alamo on the way. Modern and comfortable room. Office area, sitting area, small kitchen area. Breakfast was good with healthy options. Helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed our stay. Internet and breakfast included.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britondabayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

New hotel with lots of color. Rooms are nice and have some personality. Beds not bad. HD TV in every room. Breakfast area decent with eggs, bacon and waffles. Walking distance to Alamo, convention center. Biggest drawback is $21 for parking per night. Ftness cener connected to the Fairfield. Very adequate. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nailcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
2,061 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 411 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2040
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#33 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £64 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springhill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza hotel is right next to the historic Alamo and is within walking distance to the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. It is a 6-story building, offering 118 new designed suites that delivers space, style and inspiring spaces that will enrich every guests travel. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott offers complimentary new hot breakfast daily, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, business center, 24/7 Market, on-site fitness center and outdoor heated pool. Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing