We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #44 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stinkarama”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Ok...I've never encountered this before but we tried 8 different rooms and they all had a horrible smell like a skunk!
The manager Eric was extremely helpful and moved us to Fairfield Inn right next door!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epenasales, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ms. Julie M,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate both positive and negative feeback to provide and improve the best quality of service.

We have researched your concern regarding the smell you encountered. In speaking to the agent who assisted you, he indicated you mentioned you had a highly sense of smell. We have found that we use a housekeeping deodorizer that is loved by many of our guests. We applogize that you did not find that to be the case but we are pleased that our Front Desk agent satisfied you at our sister hotel. We do apologize for any inconveniences that this may have caused you. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to San Antonio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    127
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
99
64
8
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at two different hotels for our time in San Antonio, and even though this was (much) cheaper it was definitely the better of the two! The design of the room was fresh and had a great couch/office area separate from the bed, loved that the mirror was outside of the bathroom (made getting ready much easier for two!), and it had a mini fridge and microwave. And free breakfast! It is centrally located with a 5 minute walk to the Alamo / Riverwalk. Valet parking was expensive, but their friendly staff went out of the way to make sure that we were accommodated at all times. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Springhill Suites was convenient and affordable. More importantly, the room was spacious, clean and had a beautiful design. The front desk staff were so helpful, and the free breakfast was plentiful and maintained well thoughout the morning. Thumbs up!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pocholoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Benito, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I stayed here while visiting San Antonio. The hotel is clean and in great condition. Walking distance to the Alamo, which is what we wanted. Beds were comfortable, and the free breakfast was really good-eggs, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, and bagels. Very friendly staff! My only complaint is that the walls are so thin. I could hear people in the hallway talking, and they weren't even loud. Other than that, our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casauceda730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would like to preface this by saying that I used the Express Deals service on Priceline.com to book this room. Normally I am happily surprised by what I am happily surprised with the accommodations I am given. Unfortunately, this was not the case with Springhill Suites. PROS: The room was large and clean for the most part. There weren't any glaring cleanliness issues to speak of (aside from a well worn and stained carpet.) The room had all of the amenities you would expect, Paul Mitchell grooming products, iPhone dock...they even provided paper plates and flatware. The location is great and close to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. The complimentary breakfast was good.

CONS: Let's start with the price point. I'm no miser when it comes to travel; however for $345.00 for two nights I have had much better lodging. Not to mention the fact that there is no self parking and valet is another $22 per night. The second issue we had was a strange smell in the room. My husband cited it as a mildew smell......whatever it was I was almost unable to sleep the first night. All in all the hotel was not in disrepair but was obviously well used. My husband descibed it as mediocre and I would have to agree.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epenasales, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Charlene,

Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We welcome both positive and negative reviews to improve our quality of service to all of our guests.

Our hotel rates are very competitive and may be lower than the market. Our hotel is fairly new and has experienced high demand over the summer months causing much traffic and use of our hotel rooms. We offer valet parking only on property, however, there are several alternatives that we suggest for your convenience. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and hope that you will come back and see us!

Sincerely,
Esmeralda Pena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel has everything a visitor might need...clean rooms, very comfy beds, fresh breakfast and good coffee but then this is what you would expect from the Marriott chain of hotels. BUT...did you know that this hotel is also so conveniently located n the city that you can reach almost any of the downtown area attractions on foot? The Alamo can be seen from your room (if you are on the right side of the hotel), La Vallita is an easy walk from your room. Mexican Marketplace is easy to get to. The Riverwalk is just a hop, skip & a jump. Most of the delicious eateries are easy to get to and then you can walk it off strolling around the downtown area afterwards. I could go on an on but suffice it to say this Springhill Suites has it all going on for a great visit to downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurselinda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family was taking a small vacation to San Antonio. This was our first trip there so I was looking for a Marriott that was nice, close to the sights, and had a great price. I found this one online and booked it. What a wonderful choice!

We arrived in the late afternoon and pulled into the turn around (which is quite small.) The gentleman working the valet parking was kind and helpful. The parking was one of the down points. It's $21 per night, but they were very complementary when I needed to get things out later on several occasions (the lot is on your way to Alamo Plaza.)

Checking in was a breeze, and we helped ourselves to Chupa Chups (repeatedly) located on the front desk. Afterward, we went up to our room, and I was impressed by its layout. Very roomy. The sofa turned into a bed which my oldest insisted on sleeping in. The only down point for the room was the lack of storage. My wife wished it had more since we were staying three nights.

When we were settled, we decided to walk on down to the River Walk. This was a surprisingly short walk. The hotel is a few blocks from Alamo Plaza. We had made reservations at Rainforest Café and enjoyed this before turning in for the night.

The following day we had breakfast which was excellent. However, be mindful of when you go. We went shortly before it closes up and it was PACKED! The employees taking care of the food and such were constantly working and very pleasant. This was true each time we went.

After breakfast, we walked to the Alamo and took the trolley to Market Square. Later on, we went for a swim at the hotel. The pool is small and has a Jacuzzi. It is in between Springhill Suites and Fairfield Inn. It was fine for relaxing. That afternoon we went back to the Downtown Area and enjoyed the mall.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay at a nice place Downtown, but don't want to pay a lot. The service was great. Free breakfast was consistently replenished and our room (which included a sink, microwave and refrigerator in the "kitchen area" was fully cleaned each day. The hotel is not a newer property (there were sticky spots on our carpet), there is not a lot of storage for longer stays and parking is expensive. However, its proximity to the Downtown area makes this an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackalopeSighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 411 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2040
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#33 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springhill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza hotel is right next to the historic Alamo and is within walking distance to the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. It is a 6-story building, offering 118 new designed suites that delivers space, style and inspiring spaces that will enrich every guests travel. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott offers complimentary new hot breakfast daily, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, business center, 24/7 Market, on-site fitness center and outdoor heated pool. Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing